We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #133 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great price and location. Friendly, helpful staff. The bathrooms are run down a bit but it's an older apt building made into a hotel. We heard the truck others talk of at like 8am and it was in and out. I wouldn't have even noticed it if it weren't for reading other people's reviews. Breakfast in the front is great, eat there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecpopika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thanks a lot for your review, which we are sure will help many travelers who might be wondering about the noises from the truck in the morning. We also want to share that most windows have been replaced in those few rooms that face the alley. Therefore, the noise has been significantly reduced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    258
    149
    49
    42
See reviews for
188
224
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The two ladies up front were extremely professional and accommodating. The welcoming vibe I received from them made me feel comfortable in confirming my stay there. The room was ideal to my standards. In addition, the cleaning staff was timely and efficient.
In conclusion, the location opened my eyes to Ocean Reef Hotel, the room enhanced my interest, and the two lovely ladies up front confirmed my decision to stay at the Ocean Reef Hotel.

Thank you,

Uril Parrish

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uril23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you! And regards from the two ladies at the front desk! We all enjoyed your visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel is on a very busy street and has very old windows without any sound buffer. They did update the rooms by putting in nicer furniture but everything looks very worn and not exactly super clean. I would assume that is due to the age of the building. We first stayed in room 410 which is directly on Collins on the second floor. DO NOT STAY IN THIS ROOM. They should turn it into storage or something. You will not get any sleep in this room. due to all the cars with base and people walking/talking. We moved to room 411 which was not even half the size of 410 but it was at least in the middle of the building and much quieter. Three things to note: make sure to bring your own toiletries, you never know what the housekeeping staff will leave you (all shampoo, conditioner and one facial soap; shampoo and lotion; bath and body soap with shampoo). It was kind of a surprise to see what you got each day. Second, both rooms we stayed in had broken bathroom windows. They would not close at all. We were told it was because they were historic and they were not allowed to replace them. I am not sure why they could not get them fixed. Lastly, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Each time we had to go to the front desk we were created professionally. If the hotel wasn't so old and dingy (you can't hide everything with a coat of paint) I would stay again just because of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you. We just want to tell you that we are slowly renovating the rooms. Carpets have been replaced and windows are slowly being changed as well. We are sorry you had to change rooms and surely appreciate your feedback. Finally, we want to extend our gratitude for recognizing our dedicated staff. Your words are the best reward to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Hi! I staid in Miami for 3 days from 4 to 7 of february of this year with my boyfriend, and we reserved a one-room apartment..it was very nice and clear...the bed was medium large, and there are a little table with plates, glasses,a microwave, a frigo and shower with bath..
The room wasn't noisy but the air-conditioner was...In Florida everywhere we staid, we found all air-conditioner noisy, so don't worry of it.
the receptionist was very friendly, and the location of the hotel was very strategy, because it was next to Marlin Hotel, near Sturbacks, near bicycle rent and the park...Miami is full of park, and our park where we kept the car was at 2 minutes by hotel. We spent 75$ in 3 days...the parks cost about 20-25 $ by day... I hope, I help you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Grazie! We are sure your review will help many travelers. Our best regards to you and your boyfriend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnac, France
Level Contributor
312 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Very well located in the Art Deco area of Miami Beach. Rooms with kitchenettes are very convenient for preparing breakfasts.Staff very friendly and helpful .In the same building but not part of the hotel one finds travel agent , money changer , cyberplace , coffee shop and a mini market.The ratio price/quality is correct.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyCarnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for highlighting the best points about our hotel. We now want to say something about you: You are VERY nice! We enjoyed your visit and hope you chose as again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I had an amazing stay at this hotel from my first step in. my husband surprised me for our anniversary and everything was so romantic.
the staff, very friendly and helpful
The hotel itself is in a great location, just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and Ocean Drive and all the restaurants and nightlife.
The room is as pictured and for a 3 star not bad at all.
He booked directly with the hotel, and check in was a breeze. We had a room with one queen bed and sofa bed on the ground floor. The access was secure, with electronic keys, beds were comfortable, and it was very quiet. We did stay on a weekday, so there wasn't much going on nearby.
Loved this place and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 308 is a very good option if you get to choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thanks and warm regards on behalf of everyone at the Ocean Reef Hotel. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel is dirty, bathroom dirty, room dirty. There was no hot water in one of the rooms and my collegue ended up taking an early morning cold shower and then needed to be moved to another room. I came back from a day of meetings and my key wouldn't work I had to go to the front desk to get another. The valet parking is a joke. They didn't tell us we had to pay the valet that dropped off the car. The charge does not go on your hotel bill like most other hotels. The staff was not helpful. The hotel may have been renovated but it must have been 15-20 years ago as my room already had things that were broken.
The heating / AC units in the room were filthy, filters had not been cleaned in it looked like years. I would never stay here again and if I wasn't staying only 2 nights and hadn't already paid I would have left.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.. carpets are stained in the hallways this place is worse than the worse mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest, we are sincerely sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay. Yet, we strongly disagree with your statements. You can see by the comments left by other travelers that having dirty rooms is not what we are known for. Our rooms are clean and the filters in our air conditioning units are cleaned weekly. Sometimes, though, things happen which escape our control – like the lack of hot water in your colleague’s room. However, those are exceptions and we made sure to relocate him to a new room right away. We understand how frustrating can be when your room key doesn’t work, but we also feel that your review wasn’t fair. We know our weaknesses and are quick to admit them, because there’s no point in lying about something that anyone can see with their own eyes. That’s why we can say with confidence that your two rooms had brand new carpets and so were the carpets in the hallways, and none are stained. Moreover, we changed our carpets the week before you arrived. We believe that maybe you wrote your comments in the heat of a moment when you were, perhaps, unhappy about the valet parking (which is a private company and has nothing to do with our hotel) We are miles away from being worse than the worse motel in town and our staff is devoted to providing an outstanding customer service. That’s what defines us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Kent Hotel
#125 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#82 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Suites on South Beach Miami
#116 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princess Ann Hotel
#138 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Hotel Shelley
#90 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Property: Ocean Reef Suites
Address: 1130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Suites Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing