We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance in south beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #116 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 20 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,802 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed 4 days. Only once during the entire stay did we receive shampoo and soap. No shower cap even. The TV kept losing the signal every few minutes. Bathroom door was broken. The bed was turned down for the night only 1 in 4 days.

Both days we valet parked the car it took over ONE hour to get it. Night vlub music was so loud that we could not get to sleep until 2-3 am every night. When we told the management that we wanted to leave a day earlier and go elsewhere they told us that they had 72 hour cancellation policy and that we would be charged, even if we did not stay the last day. I wouldn't stay here again, if they paid me.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voelsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Voelsner,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your standards while staying in our Hotel. Due to your reservation being booked through a third party website, they are paid in advance. In order for us to be able to better assist you, please confirm with the booking agency which assisted you in your reservation. We will pass the rest of the information to our Managers so that we can look at our processes and better our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Recently stayed at Hotel Breakwater South Beach and I couldn't have been more pleased with my selection. It was a trip that started out rough cause of airline issues, but upon arriving at the Hotel everything changed. I was pleasantly greeted by the staff and had my luggage stored since I had arrived 5 hours prior to check in. I hung out by the pool then went for a walk which was great being that hotel is ideally located (no need for cabs). After checking in 2 hours before the actual check in time, my room was absolutely stunning! The restaurant provided outstanding service and exquisite food. Later that evening I hung out by the ultra chic roof top lounge appropriately called "Intimissi" it was the last touch to make my stay at Hotel Breakwater an absolute 5 Stars! Would stay here again unfortunately already completely booked for WMC 2012 :(

Room Tip: Books quickly so book ahead of time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgentMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Breakwater and would recommend it to anyone. The hotel was elegant and modern, with just the right touch of an older era but with all the amenities of a new one. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom was incredible, especially the tub.The pool was beautiful, the live music was great and we can't say enough about the courteous, friendly and knowledgeable staff, they went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. Definitely top notch service.

The location is great, offering the beach across the street, shopping and great dining all within walking distance.

We will definitely stay at the Breakwater hotel again when visiting Miami

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank GJWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear GJWebster,

Thank you for your review. As always we strive to be the best at what we do. Our Hotel has been completely remodelled and is one of the Art Deco District jewels. Our service is of our utmost importance and we are always ready to make any request a reality. Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater to be your home away from home. We thank you in advance for taking the time to choose us as your preferred destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Arrived early at 11am Saturday (straight from cruise ship)and asked if we could leave luggage. Staff were very welcoming and locked luggage away. The Manager said he would find us a quieter room as the Courtyard Room booked was noisy. We had a late continental breakfast at the hotel for lunch (fresh squeezed OJ, croissant, pastries and coffee) before taking a walk. Returned at 2pm and was told our room (315) was ready and we had a partial seaview. It was if you hang out of the window but it was still overlooking the courtyard which was actually an outdoor disco. With only single glazed windows we realised it would be noisy (music was already loud at 2pm). The lift was also next to our room (about 6’ from the bed) so we had the additional noise of people using the lift. We called reception to ask if we could move but was told the hotel was fully booked but they could provide earplugs! Having paid in advance we had no option but to stay there. The room was very nice – king size comfortable bed with lots of pillows. Bathroom was huge with double shower, plenty of towels and spotlessly clean. Went out later for an evening meal somewhere quieter but when we returned the music was even louder. The base was so loud that the walls and bed seemed to vibrate. We tried watching TV with the sound turned fully up but could still hear the thump of the base over it. The music eventually stopped at 4am. Next morning the manager asked if we had slept and when we replied not until 4am he said he would ask them to turn the sound down earlier next night. On Sunday evening it was still noisy but the music did stop about 1am. Breakwater Hotel is right in the centre of Ocean Drive, just across the road from the beach and in an excellent position for people who want nothing but sun, cheap drinks, and extremely noisy music. We booked this as a late deal through Booking.com but even at the rate we paid it is not worth the money. The rooms have been upgraded but the reception and bar area reminded us of a cheap Spanish hotel in the 1980’s. Wish we had seen the latest Trip Advisor comments on Breakwater Hotel which were posted after we booked.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Silbury,

Thank you for your review about our Hotel. The location of the Breakwater happens to be at the center of surrounding entertainment venues. Because of the weekend that you stayed, our Hotel was at full capacity thus making it challenging to move you to a more sound resistant room. As always, here at Breakwater we try and achieve your maximum comfort on your stay by providing you with the best surroundings possible. In the event that there is a high level of music from other venues we notify the local authorities in order achieve sound comfort for hotel guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel is perfect for those looking for a central, beach front location with very easy access to nightlife! The service at the hotel was largely excellent (German who looked after our bags and the lovely girl at the pool in particular) however we did experience some attitude from a member of the reception desk team when we asked to switch rooms (due to not getting much sleep!) but I would assume this was because they get that a lot at this hotel. The hotel is stylish and has a modern, art-deco edge. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and generally very clean. The first room we were allocated (330) was right opposite one of the main clubs on Ocean drive (Clevelander) and above the entertainment area of the hotel. As such, it was VERY NOISY - there is no soundproofing or double glazing, so it felt like the room was in the middle of the club until around 4am. We switched rooms for the last night of our visit to a much quieter room in the courtyard area - much better location, however the shower rail was hanging off. The hotel is essentially split across two buildings with a courtyard in between which houses the pool, a restaurant/entertainment area. The pool area is lovely with a fab view, but is very small and can fill up quite quickly. There is also a rooftop terrace with fantastic views, but again it is fairly small with limited seating. The restaurant at the hotel was fantastic - we enjoyed a lovely meal there (can highly recommend the chocolate dessert!) and the service was good - thank you to Miles! The overiding benefit of this hotel is the beachfront location, the lovely (albeit small) pool area and the accessiblity of the bars/clubs on the front. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing break - don't book this hotel. The hotel is trying to appeal as a top end, luxurious venue, but in order to pull this off, investment in some kind of soundproofing needs to happen - at the moment, the main clientelle this hotel caters adequately for are those wanting to be out all night.

Room Tip: If you want any sleep - make sure you ask for a courtyard room on the south side of the hotel - room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarsiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Sarsiom,

Thank you for the feedback provided to your Hotel. As you mentioned in your review, The Breakwater is conviniently located in the heart of South Beach and it's perfectly placed in the midst of all the nightlife and enterntainment. Our pool which was recently opened, offers all the comforts you need to make your stay an even more pleasureable one. Our service is of our highest caliber and we pride ourselves in caring for our guests and fulfilling their unexpected wishes. We thank you for choosing our Hotel as your destination and can not wait to have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel may be "convenienly located," but this does NOT make up for the incredibly snobby staff, the overpriced rooms, and the constant noise that is so loud that they try to mask it by running ambient noise in the rooms every chance they get--starting from the time you walk into your room!(and turn off your "soothing sounds of nature)...that just keeps getting turned back on every time housekeeping comes!
Pool was interesting but very, VERY small (lap pool size).

The concierge will not only book your dinner reservations but fight with you over your choices...she always knew what was "better" for us...never considering that MAYBE we were on a budget. (just bush-league!)

It took over an hour to get our car, despite the fact that we called down a half hour before we checked out!

The point of our trip was that we actually went down to this hotel to scout it out for 2 business accounts (annual company trips) and are sooo glad we did because we would be incredibly embarrassed if we subjected our employees to a week of being treated like second class citizens by staff that just looked down their noses at everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank straitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Straitup,

Thank you for the feeback provided to us. As you can see per previous comments; our staff is always gregarious and ready to help. At times because there is a lot of traffic on Ocean Drive, it can take a bit longer to have your car ready at the door. Our concierge team is always ready to give the best dining options on South Beach as we take pride in knowing where the best restaurants of South Beach are located. We apologize if your stay was not as well as expected, our Hotel is always ready to serve our customers and guests with the best service available and rest assured that we will leave no stone unturned till you experience the best customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Essex House
Essex House
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,888 reviews
0.4 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
566 reviews
0.3 km away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,076 reviews
0.2 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#32 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,196 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#85 of 212 in Miami Beach
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $191 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Breakwater South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing