We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a few minor complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Only a few minor complaints”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We picked this place mainly by reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. After booking it a bunch of bad reviews started coming in and we were getting worried about staying here but we knew that we are a pretty laid back couple and figured we would make the best of it. Overall we were very pleased with our experience and only had a few minor complaints. Here's our pros and cons.

Pros
-Spacious rooms
-Full kitchen that had almost every appliance you needed
-Nice pool area
-close to the beach
-fairly central to the main attractions
-the reception staff were awesome and helped us out at any time of the day or night
-the happy hour was fun, bartenders at Catalina were awesome.

Cons
-some hidden fees you might not realize
-cleaning people werent very thourough but did do dishes for us
-no phones in the room
-limited seating at pool area
-you can hear other people in other rooms
-may need to bring your own sharp knife/other cooking utensils because they arent provided
-no toaster

Overall we had a fantastic time and though we had some minor complaints if your trip can be ruined because of these things then dont stay here and pay more somewhere else. Also if you dont like walking then dont stay here because you will take cabs to ocean drive and lincoln ave, but it isnt too far to walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool so you know when you need to get out there to make sure you grab a lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VancityCpl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our property and satisfy our guests' needs. We will be taking your recommendations into consideration. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    581
    175
    57
    68
See reviews for
484
517
72
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lilburn, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

So I saw there was a deal for a 5 night stay at this hotel around the same time as my wedding anniversary I called the people at the front desk asked them how far the hotel is from the beach, is it quite, and what should we expect to bring for our visit in case there was hidden fees. I was told the beach is in walking distance (which it was), that it is never noisy, and that everything is covered by the 5 night stay voucher. So I pick up the voucher and surprised my wife.

Once we made it to the hotel the we were greeted by their rude staff. We first gave them the voucher for the 5 nights say they then asked for my credit card for so they can keep it on record for any damages. I hand them the card then they hand me a bill for over $300!!!!!

I asked what this is for and they said they have to charge my card for $100 dollars to cover damages which will be refunded 1 week after I get home. Also THERE IS NO FREE PARKING AT THE HOTEL AND I HAVE TO PAY $25 A DAY TO PARK THERE. So now we are $300+ over budget which resulted in my wife and I not to go out on the town but eat food from the local store.

Then they claim they provide (Bath Products) but after the second day we had the same towels and wash clothes from before and the 15oz trash can they provided was over flowing with trash. I called the front desk and asked for fresh towels and for someone to clean the room and they said they would send a person to clean it right away. The phone call took place at 8am no one came till 3pm!!!!!

Another great feature is the beds are only Full size, the hotel was under construction while we were there so we could not take naps on the bedroom we had to sofa in the entry way of the hotel room. Also there was a motion light pointed into our room that would flash constantly as we tried to sleep.
I told this to the front desk and they said that they could not swap our rooms.
By day 3 us and 4 other families where mad and we sat out by the pool talking about how nasty the place is. One guy who was staying there for 2 weeks said that by the second week he learned to watch the cleaning crew as they clean if not they will not clean the room but spray fabreeze in the air and leave!!!!! One family said they were planning on leaving and going to another hotel because how rude the people are here.

Another great thing that happened on day 3 the cleaning crew came all by themselves I didn't have to call the front desk. My wife and I wanted to head to the beach because waiting on them is not what we came to do. When we came back I went to take a hot shower before we went out to dinner. I then found out that ALL OF THE TOWELS WERE TAKEN!!!! I called the front desk and they said they are waiting for the towels to be washed and dried and as soon as it is done they will bring it back to my room. I was thinking HOW CAN A HOTEL NOT HAVE ENOUGH TOWELS FOR THER ROOMS!!! So I had to find a clean shirt and use it as a towel!!!!

Now as for the parking you have to give them the keys and they get to park your car. You have to give them at least 30 to 45 min notice that you want your car so it can be pulled around. Several times I have asked for me car and asked to be called when it is ready to not receive a call. Then I call the front desk they told me the car was ready and when I get to the front desk I found that they left my car running in the front of the hotel even at night!!!!!

On the day we checked out both my wife and I were made we just have the vacation from hell and the worst part is because of all of the hidden fees we had to cut out parts of our trip to make up the difference, Then on the drive home I noticed the driver side arm rest was broke. I can only guess that they did this too as that it was working before I came down there.

In short I will never go to this hotel ever again! They try to make it upscale but they missed the mark big time! O yah and I did get the money back after a stern phone call!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Harold,

On behalf of the Tradewinds Apartmenrs I would like to apologize for your experience at our property. We understand there was some confusion when you purchased your voucher through a third party. We are working very hard to ensure that these problems do not arise again. We are pleased to hear that our office issued a refund to your account. We hope that you can visit us again in the future and have the true Tradewinds experience.

Thank you again for staying with us,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I must say that Trip Advisor really helped me know what I was getting into this time. Reading the reviews, it was very hard to explain the disparity between the excellent and poor reviews, but everything that was said was true for me also.

We picked this based on location/cost while visiting family that lived nearby. We had a one bedroom. It also faced the canal with the less than attractive facilities across the way (Building 5). But the rear faced the lovely courtyard with nice outdoor seating. They were working on the canal wall which meant they had an industrial air compressor running most of the day right in front of the units. It looks like they have a few more weeks to cover the length of the complex. The pool area was lovely but very limited on seating but what there is is very nice with comfortable lounge chairs with pillows, cabanas and umbrellas. The unit was nicely furnished and very mondern. The bed leaves very little space to get around the bottom of the bed to get to the far side. There is no nightstand or light on that side either. But the housekeeping practices definitely proved to be interesting. There is a full kitchen but no dishtowels are provided. They would take bath towels and not replace them, take the bath mat and not leave another one for three days, one day they took all but one towel. They housekeeping staff seemed to not understand any English which seems a bit abnormal for Miami. But I google translated a note to them and they took care of the issues.

There are not any extra blankets or pillows which would have been nice to have when relaxing on the large sofa. There were three huge closets in the unit with plenty of storage. But there is not an in room safe and after reading other reviews of things missing, we were afraid to leave anything and took all our iPads, phones, jewelry,etc. every time we left. You do hear the neighbors both from above and on one side.

We did not have a car. Parking in South Beach is always difficult so we didn't want the problems. We did not try to get the hotel bikes because there is a Decobike station 3 blocks away. For a couple $ you rent a bike for 30 minutes to all day and when you get to your next destination (Licoln Road, Art Deco district, etc) you just drop it at another station and don't have to worry about locking it up , etc. I had no problem with the neighborhood and didn't find it unsafe. We often walked to and from the relatives house by Lincoln Road.

If I was to return, I probably would stay there again but I would get a lock for my suitcase so I would have a way to secure things in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to read the reviews on Trip Advisor and for posting on as well. We are glad that you had a good experience and hope that you will stay with us again in the future. We are taking your recommendations under consideration and will use them to make our property better.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

A few friends and I stayed here using a deal from LivingSocial. It was a good value for the price we paid, but I don't think I would want to stay here if we paid the regular price. First, two of our friends had a room that did not have a working lock on the door. When they were moved to another room, the only one they had had been leaking from the ceiling in the kitchen, so there was a bucket and towel on the floor to catch the water. The staff did not really clean; they just mostly tidied up the place. I felt as if we were getting less clean towels each day. Also, they did not automatically replace the toilet paper if it was low. You had to ask the front desk to send some over. The location of the hotel isn't horrible. You're a few minutes from South Beach and about 2 blocks from the ocean. Also, I do like that there is a kitchen with a fridge, microwave, and stove. However, they don't really give you much to clean your dishes with.
I'd recommend this hotel for anyone who can get a deal to stay here. If not, I'm sure there are other better places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed there for a bit less than a week in December 2011

The location is okay ish you do have to take a cab to go to Ocean Drive though and the neighborhood is not that safe.
There is absolutely no security there, that is not acceptable according to me..(If You're lucky You might bump into the 'security guard' who is absolutely useless)
The staff at the reception was nice and polite.
When we arrived, the room was clean and spacious...Very good first impression!

The cleaning ladies did not come everyday and even when they came in the room, our soaps/shower gels/toilet paper were not replaced, neither the sheets...

As I lived in London, I had around £20 in a small bag hidden in my suitcase, they disappeared...

The 'sister' hotel Catalina is a 7-minute walk from there, do not expect great food but the waiters/waitresses are very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaEx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

A friend and I stayed here for a few nights and were very glad we came here. The one-bedroom apartment was modern and clean, furnished with good taste. The receptionists were friendly and always strived to meet our needs. The location is excellent, two blocks from the beach and some of the swankiest hotels in Miami, such as the W Hotel. The free bike rental is big bonus. Ocean Drive and its Tropical Deco hotels are about a 10-minute bike ride away. A cab costs about $5-$10 and is also a reasonable alternative at night. Great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

perfect place. quiet, easy going, good location, pool and sunbathing area more than adequate and the apartments are huge!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,003 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#61 of 208 in Miami Beach
5,159 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Croydon
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,877 reviews
Collins Hotel
#100 of 208 in Miami Beach
952 reviews
Freehand Miami
#6 of 85 in Miami Beach
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Property: Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Address: 2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4610
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These amazingly, fully furnished luxury accommodations offer immaculate design and the ultimate beach location. Designed for the long term traveler in mind, Tradewinds feature 160 luxuriously appointed one-bedroom and studio suites anxiously waiting to be your next home-away-from-home. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tradewinds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing