We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #34 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights before we returned to the UK, and wish we were able to stay longer. We arrived early at 12.00 and were told that we could have the standard room that we'd booked straight away or if waited until 16.00 (check in time!) we would be upgraded to a balcony suite. We decided to explore Ocean Drive and wait until 16.00, on our return we were checked into a very large suite with a balcony. This hotel is not 5 star but is comfortable, clean and has very professional and friendly staff. The Savoy is ideally situated,just south of 5th on Ocean Drive, a short walk from lots of bars,restaurants and a well stocked Walgreens with a liquor store. We ate breakfast at the hotel both mornings that we were there, the food and service were excellent The pool area was had plenty of room and was as spotless as the rest of the hotel. We will be staying here when we return to Miami Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonsBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Hello!

The team here at The Savoy thanks you for the positive feedback! We love our "little gem" here in the heart of South Beach and we are glad to hear that you do too!

We look very forward to having you as our guest again.

Cheers,
Francine - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3- nights on arrival we had asked for ocean view room and got a large palm tree view !! Asked for a change and the staff kindly changed room the following day . The next room was nice and spacious had a problem with the bath . The water was Luke warm when asking staff they stated the water was the right temp for Florida .. Questioned this again the next day maintenance arrived and changed the fuse and suddenly the water temp was hot again ... Overall pleasant stay great location maybe just bad luck

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandS2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

my husband, son and i stayed here for a couple of nights in mid-april, and it was just wonderful. the room (suite) was huge, in great condition, and spotless. the pool area (2 pools) was lovely, as was the beach. we had lunch at the restaurant one day and at the pool the next, and the service on both days (different servers) was excellent. everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful. one suggestion - some dishes, wine glasses, silverware would be nice, given the large kitchen area. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmf221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoyHotelCares, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best Regards,

Gary Hyre

General Manager, The Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I just returned from a 3 night visit at The Savoy Hotel in Miami, and I absolutely LOVED it. I am very picky about hotels, and so are my spoiled teenagers, so you can trust my opinion on this one. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I expected it to be old and just "ok". I've stayed at Lowes Miami, Royal Palm, Cardozo, LaFontaine Bleu and a few others in South Beach, so I have good comparisons. Now...is The Savoy Hotel 5 star like LaFontaine Bleu? No. But you also aren't paying a 5-star price either. But The Savoy Hotel has a great location...within walking distance to all of the hotness on South Beach. My teenagers felt safe enough to walk to Walgreens without me, and they walked "the strip" at night without me. The Savoy Hotel has nice rooms...not the best...but still very nice. When I first checked-in, I wasn't "wow'd" by the room because it was one of their smallest sized rooms. But when I talked to the front desk about it, they accommodated me by bringing an extra tv to my room so that my kids could enjoy being in the living room area with the sleepsofa. Then the next day, I was able to move to a different room. Again...the room was very nice. But if you try to compare it to a room at a 5-star hotel, then it's a slightly unfair comparison. In Miami, I would much rather stay at The Savoy Hotel than to pay triple the money to stay at one of the 5-star properties. The staff at The Savoy made my stay enjoyable. The Savoy has 2 VERY NICE pools - 1 heated and 1 regular. You have direct access to the beach within about 20 steps, and you never have to fight for a beach chair or umbrella. You can relax at the beach or at the pool and be serviced by one of the nice bar servers from The Savoy without ever having to leave your lounge chair. I loved it!!! I am planning to go back ASAP. If you get a chance to meet one of the front desk staff--Emmir--you will love him. I know that I did! If I had to complain about anything at all, it would be the daily valet parking fee. Geez! It killed me BUT I can't fault the hotel for that.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I love this hotel!! I have stayed here 4 times over the last 6 or so years, whenever can get a few days to escape to South Beach--twice with my husband and twice met my college roommate for an all girls weekend. The best part about this latest visit was that the friendliness and service from the staff has much improved! The afternoon bartender on 4/24 couldn't have been nicer as we waited 30 minutes for our room to be ready. Got ice delivered to room in two minutes when I asked where the machine was. Nice bellhop, valet, housekeeping, Tony on the beach helped us move to a quieter beach spot when a rowdy crowd gathered behind us. Rocky kept bringing those mojitos!
There were a few tiny things in need of improvement--room carpeting needed a shampooing, and bed linens/mattress cover did not fit snugly over pillow top and kept coming loose. But the amazing setting and pool/beach location can't be beat! Yes, get a balcony room. Thank You Savoy!!! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Savoy was one of the most beautiful hotels that I have had the pleasure of staying for the the weekend. It seemed to be the one of the best in South beach. It was spotless. Everything in the rooms and the rest of the hotel was wonderful. But the problems that I experienced was the management of this hotel. When we called to book a room, we got five different prices and when we finally booked they took more out of our credit cards than they originally quoted.Once we arrived, we were told that there was an additional $150.00 dollar fee for accidentals, which I always thought would be placed on the credit card if any did exist. We payed for three suites but was given three different types of rooms. It just seemed no one had a clue on what was going on and did not know their jobs, but overall after getting past all of that on the first day of arrival, we had a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Corner suites because I am sure no one comes to South Beach to sleep!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaJohnson225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoyHotelCares, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Pamela,

Let me begin by apologizing for the problems you encountered during your check-in process.. These are not the standards that we work hard to achieve at The Savoy and please know that we appreciate your feedback. I was glad to see you enjoyed the remainder of your weekend. I have sent you a message asking you to contact me directly so that we can better understand what took place in order to improve our process.

Best Regards,
Gary Hyre, GM The Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel was at a great location away from all the noise of Ocean Drive, but close enough to walk to everything. The beach was beautiful, and we were provided with beach chairs and an umbrella. The staff was really friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We did not have a balcony on our room, but would request one the next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 000cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSavoyHotelCares, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I will pass on your comments about the staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best Regards,

Gary Hyre

General Manager, The Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,427 reviews
3.7 km away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,641 reviews
2.1 km away
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,307 reviews
2.4 km away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,480 reviews
0.1 km away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $263 - $743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach
The Savoy Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing