We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Ranked #93 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in November 2011.

After staying at the Riu palace in Aruba we knew from the reviews this wouldn't be of the same standard, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and didn't find many negative points compared to some reviews.
The valet parking at the hotel may seem expensive, but its what you pay in Miami, The staff were very helpful.
Our check in went smoothly and found the receptionist very helpful, advising us if there was anything we needed during our stay, to ask her. The bell man took our bags to our room for us promptly too.
We read reviews before travelling of the lobby being run down and dated, RIU have their own decor and this was no different to any other of the chain. I didn't think it was bad at all.
The breakfast had a good selection and being fussy always found something I liked.
It is good to have the beach so close and we made use of this every day rather than the pool.
Having the towels provided even though is just a B&B hotel is good too.
The hotel is a little out the way, it is along Miami beach which is just hotels but a 15 minute walk or 2 minute taxi ride would take you to the heart of South beach (Art Deco District) The taxis cost about $8 each way, give the them $10 and they will expect to keep the $2 change.

Overall this was a pleasant stay and great value for money for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3010_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    765
    438
    176
    152
See reviews for
631
685
41
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Arrived at hotel 19 dollars a day for parking.. Had to change rooms once due to room next to elevators and where housekeeping kept there supplies which cart was so loud going in and out of closet...
Moved to 6 th floor where our view was a building being constructed... No very pretty.. But it was quiet

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaligrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband and I just returned from Miami Beach, having stayed one night at the Riu after a holiday cruise. The hotel staff speaks Spanish as well as English, and the hotel is popular with international guests, including Germans, Italians, Argentineans, Canadians, Dutch and Finns. It has an attractive portico with semi circular driveway. From the spacious lobby you can see the gardens and swimming pool. The beach is only steps beyond the pool.
Check in was quick, and the elevator brought us up to our ocean view room 630. The air conditioner kept the room nice and cool, there were two double beds (apparently the only bed choice for ocean views), the bedding was comfortable, and each bed had two pillows, the bathroom was fine, and there was a full assortment of amenities, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, several soaps, comb, sewing kit, cotton pads, shower cap).
The daily buffet breakfast is excellent, and if not included in your rate, costs $14 pp. The dinner buffet, with different cuisines each night, e.g., Italian, Mexican, etc is also very good at $23 pp. There is a tour office in the lobby where you can arrange your sightseeing.


We chose this hotel primarily because of its location, near the beach and our friends' apartment.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Clean:- Very clean hotel.
Staff - Hotel staff is very friendly and provides accurate information about area
Bar - Small but good bar. Bartender was very friendly and good at preparing the cocktails
Location - The hotel is not at the center of the happening Places, but close enough to walk to happening places at Southern end of South beach area.

Room Tip: While booking Ocean View room, make sure to check if it is side view or full front ocean view. Few r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ameykhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

we spent a week at Riu Florida beach in December 2011, it was good, clean, food was brill catered for everyone, the hotel staff were polite & helpful, the hotel was well situated for walking around south beach, over all a fantastic time was had. Would defiantly go again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed here for 7 nights on a girly break,17/11/11-24/11/11. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff. The foyer was nice, but the room was average. The room was a nice size,the cleanliness was debatable. We had no spectacular view from our room, and on the night the room was ever so noisy due to a very loud refrigerator.
Breakfast was buffet style,but if you're expecting american style breakfast think again. Breakfast was european style, and everyday was the same thing. There was nothing ever different. As we are from the UK,we bought a phone card as using mobiles would have cost alot. We used the hotel payphone to dial the free phone number and the credits ran out quickly, I called the card company who said that if you use a land line it is cheaper. So I thought I can use the room phone to call using a toll free number. The hotel charge you to call a free phone, so I didn't use this.
The drinks at the bar were very expensive, and not very nice.
The good thing is the hotel is in a great location, 2 minutes from the beach, and just a few blocks from the heart of Miami, would I stay at the hotel again, probably not. People are friendly but that's about it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of hotel are too noisy as they overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchkinBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Nice big hotel with cool pool area. Kind of an old school vibe which feels very Mad Men.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Croydon
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
AC Hotel Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#16 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Address: 3101 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing