We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Ranked #97 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Tired and dirty. the carpet in the roon was disgusting - needed a good clean.
Free Wifi meant one 90 minutes block in the lobby per day then a massive daily rate, and it was slow....
save money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKE80Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    748
    430
    173
    150
See reviews for
615
661
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
557 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Clean quiet safe beach front hotel. The staff is pleasant, not the Riu in Mexico but hey your in the US. Good valet parking at $19 a day. Beach is great and the boardwalk is just out a secured gate

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Don't expect anything fancy...It is true that you get what you pay for... rooms are not that fancy, but OK. The hotel doesn't have exactly direct access to the beach: The beach chairs have to be rented from a different company (they will give you a discount if you show them your hotel card though). The food at the pool bar is just not good. Also note: No need to tip, as they already charge you for service and they list it as "tax 2"...For the same price, go to the Gansewort hotel 5 minutes away, and have lunch on the roof (you don't need to be a guest to enjoy it!): view and food are great. Another thing to know: you are not allowed to take baths in your bathrooms! And not because of ecological awareness (otherwise they would do what other hotels do: give options of keeping your towels after one use), but just to save water I guess. The internet access is also tricky: you can only use it when in the lobby, not in your room. But the price is good for the area, and the pool is nice, although when I was there in November the water was too cold to even go in. Service is good, helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60763Traveler1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I have stayed in RIU hotels prior to this and always receive exemplary customer service. As a large hotel with locations all over you expect that they have the operational side down and it is in the hands of the staff to make the experience better...and they do. I had no complaints with my stay here. It was the final stop after having been on a cruise and needing a night prior to returning home. As with most hotels there seems to be a disconnect from when you place a reservation for an accessible room and when you check in...its never a smooth ride. This was no different, but it was taken care of almost immediately and the bell hop took care to make sure that I was taken care of not only during my arrival but when I called to checkout they sent someone immediately up to fetch my bags without my having to make the request...that attention to detail is commendable. I likely won't stay here again as their are a ton of hotels to try out in the area- but they definitely get my stamp of approval!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaryS6143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in November 2011.

After staying at the Riu palace in Aruba we knew from the reviews this wouldn't be of the same standard, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and didn't find many negative points compared to some reviews.
The valet parking at the hotel may seem expensive, but its what you pay in Miami, The staff were very helpful.
Our check in went smoothly and found the receptionist very helpful, advising us if there was anything we needed during our stay, to ask her. The bell man took our bags to our room for us promptly too.
We read reviews before travelling of the lobby being run down and dated, RIU have their own decor and this was no different to any other of the chain. I didn't think it was bad at all.
The breakfast had a good selection and being fussy always found something I liked.
It is good to have the beach so close and we made use of this every day rather than the pool.
Having the towels provided even though is just a B&B hotel is good too.
The hotel is a little out the way, it is along Miami beach which is just hotels but a 15 minute walk or 2 minute taxi ride would take you to the heart of South beach (Art Deco District) The taxis cost about $8 each way, give the them $10 and they will expect to keep the $2 change.

Overall this was a pleasant stay and great value for money for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3010_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Arrived at hotel 19 dollars a day for parking.. Had to change rooms once due to room next to elevators and where housekeeping kept there supplies which cart was so loud going in and out of closet...
Moved to 6 th floor where our view was a building being constructed... No very pretty.. But it was quiet

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaligrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband and I just returned from Miami Beach, having stayed one night at the Riu after a holiday cruise. The hotel staff speaks Spanish as well as English, and the hotel is popular with international guests, including Germans, Italians, Argentineans, Canadians, Dutch and Finns. It has an attractive portico with semi circular driveway. From the spacious lobby you can see the gardens and swimming pool. The beach is only steps beyond the pool.
Check in was quick, and the elevator brought us up to our ocean view room 630. The air conditioner kept the room nice and cool, there were two double beds (apparently the only bed choice for ocean views), the bedding was comfortable, and each bed had two pillows, the bathroom was fine, and there was a full assortment of amenities, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, several soaps, comb, sewing kit, cotton pads, shower cap).
The daily buffet breakfast is excellent, and if not included in your rate, costs $14 pp. The dinner buffet, with different cuisines each night, e.g., Italian, Mexican, etc is also very good at $23 pp. There is a tour office in the lobby where you can arrange your sightseeing.


We chose this hotel primarily because of its location, near the beach and our friends' apartment.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#38 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
AC Hotel Miami Beach
#96 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#19 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#99 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Address: 3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing