We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deafening noise from the construction next door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The hotel is beautiful and ideally located 5 min cab ride from Lincoln road south beach. Because of the construction next door there is no relaxing and quiet time at the pool or the beach. The restaurant at the hotel is nice but very expensive as is everything in south beach. And the gratuity is always added to the bill where ever you goin south beach. Wether it's a party of one or any number. That said. South beach is fun. The hotel is great. Not a place for 13-17 year olds. Almost nothing to do unless u love to eat.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room. It's quiet worth it even though there are no balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 2,670 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Pretty hotel in a nice location, but continually poor service in every area. I don't know how they maintain their standing as a "Leading Hotel". Don't waste your money. Restaurant front desk was especially rude and inattentive, and our breakfast took over 40 minutes to be served then arrived cold. During a storm our room flooded, and we couldn't get a manager or anyone to speak to us. I travel a lot and am used to hotel staff being polite and helpful. This staff could take some lessons from almost anywhere else and improve.

Additionally walls are paper thin - you can hear the showers running, toilets flushing and full conversations of all neighbors.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leesa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a beautiful historic hotel, but service was not up to par for a Preferred Hotel four star rating. My husband and I were with a group of adults for an employee rewards trip. The entire group said the service of the staff was horrible. When staying at a four star hotel guests requests should be responded within a timely manner and guests should only have to ask once. From the start at check in to check out this trip was a disaster. I am still waiting for the Hotel General Manager to call me. Our trip was March 6-12, 2012. Called Preferred Hotels and informed them this Hotel is not worthy of the brand, and this tarnishes the brand.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room facing the ocean. Avoid the rooms facing the construction of the hotel ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thebabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmsHotelandSpa, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns with us about your stay in March, and I regret to hear that your experience was not as you anticipated. It was much to my surprise to read your comments in regards to the service you received, and that our Management Team has not reached out to you. Our team strives to provide consistent customer service, and to ensure that we are not only meeting, but exceeding our guests expectations. I would love the opportunity to address your concerns with you personally if you would like to contact me directly at (Lbutler@thepalmshotel.com).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a small family wedding here and everyone involved from the events coordinator to the food and beverage staff were great. This is a lovely small resort one block square in Miami Beach with all the requisite facilities - nice pool, bar and restaurant, full service spa, spacious grounds and lounge areas. Our top floor room with ocean view is modern and spacious, comfy king size bed. Given the comings and goings at the front desk each morning, there are a lot of guests who must feel the same way. Only 7 blocks north of South Beach, it's away from the noise and crowds, but close enough to easily access all the restaurants and clubs of that famed locale.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr_odd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I were there recently on an adults-only trip. We were pleased with the service and the cleanliness/overall feel of the hotel. However, the construction next door was very loud during the day, and one day they closed the pool at 4:00 for a wedding. They had not announced this in advance, which was annoying. We didn't let it ruin our trip, though - after travelling enough, you have to realize that there are always going to be things that are not perfect on a trip - so overall I would recommend this hotel once the construction is done.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcjcStLous_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This place is a bit away from the excitement of the main South Beach area- about a 20 minute walk. It was clean and the grounds are very pretty and relaxing. The food was delicious. I loved the access to the boardwalk, although most of the hotels along Collins have the same access. I would have preferred to have a balcony, but I dont think many of the hotels in this area have them. Very disappointing since you have a beautiful view from an ocean front room, but you cant enjoy the smells and sounds of it from your room. The only major complaint is the constant construction noise from the hotel next door. We were not told about this upon check-in. Eventhough the property itself was relaxing, the noise made it VERY difficult to relax and it was impossible to take a nap poolside, or beachside. It was very loud. The spa was nice, but not overwhelmingly luxurious, it was quite simple. The bathroom in our King oceanfront room was small. It is eco-friendly, but could have had a little more space to put my things.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunta1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Me and my wife stayed here in September of 2011, with the intention of getting married out by the rocks on the beach. Things didn't workout so great at first. We arrived from the airport to The Palms around Midnight to check in, only to find that the Air Conditioning had stopped working, and it was a humid 85 degrees in our room. Around 1:30am I decide that we needed to find another hotel until the situation was fixed so we went across the street for the night. The night clerk was VERY understanding and refunded our money for that night. We came back the next morning around 8am to discover that the A/C had been fixed. And, not only were we able to check back in to the hotel, they upgraded our room to an Ocean View at no extra cost. The Customer Service was excellent!

The restaurant, Essensia, was very good, and very high profile. A little expensive for my taste, but we were treated like royalty. The patio out back was VERY nice and we ended up lounging around out there all Friday night.

We got married Saturday morning out on the beach, right in front of the rocks as we we're planning. Everything went very smooth (we only had a party of 5, so it wasn't a big wedding.) and we checked out of The Palms and went out front to catch a cab to the Port.

Overall, the Palms Hotel and Spa won me over. They will absolutely get our business from now on in Miami! The only reason I didn't give a 5 star rating, is because of the debacle over the A/C unit, and I don't believe on giving out 5 stars unless everything goes EXACTLY perfect.

Thank you, PH&S, for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Go ahead and splurge for the Beach view. Other wise, you'll be looking straight at a hotel acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,371 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#66 of 212 in Miami Beach
5,422 reviews
The Confidante Miami Beach
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,522 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#25 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $281 - $796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront sanctuary in the heart of Miami Beach, just minutes from the South Beach entertainment district, The Palms Hotel & Spa combines refined service, laid-back sophistication and beachside serenity into a destination where wellness and environmental awareness are at the center of each guest experience. Enjoy freshly renovated lobby areas with an elegant colonial flair, a lush tropical garden oasis with secluded relaxation areas, a large swimming pool and comfortable lounges, cabanas and umbrellas at the pool and beach. Rooms offer either views of the ocean, tropical gardens or the cityscape, and feature flat-screen TVs, AVEDA toiletries, coffee makers, iPod docks and luxurious bedding. The hotel’s signature restaurant, ESSENSIA, offers local farm-to-table cuisine with unique Miami flavors on breezy covered terraces. The Lounge specializes on craft cocktails while the TIKI BAR offers casual fare and classic pool cocktails. The Palms AVEDA Spa offers a full-service salon, retail area and holistic spa treatments, delivering a highly personalized experience with rituals to awaken the senses. Inspired by the pristine environment surrounding the resort, tropical nature inspires all facets of the hotel, from the decor, to the products & services offered and its commitment to green practices. It is an independently owned and operated AAA 4-diamond rated hotel, a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection and Florida Green Lodging certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami
The Palms Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing