We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Relaxing Days”
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #83 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Four Relaxing Days”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I decided to take four days and nights to unwind in South Beach. The Sagamore treated us very well. The art deco room was clean, upscale and comfortable.

While this hotel is a smaller then most of the other Collins Avenue hotels and quite a boutique style, the staff was upbeat and attentive 24/7. The General Manager Brian V. was kind enough to call me back within the hour prior to our stay after a parcel or two was going to be delivered during our stay. Nice pool but even better access to the beach...make sure to check out their easy access website for the type of room you want. A great stay and location!

Room Tip: We had a ocean view suite on the 4th floor saw more trees then beach...go for the highest floor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Marc W,

We thank you for your review after your recent trip to Sagamore with your wife. We are delighted that you took notice of our terrific staff members as they are the backbone of our property and help make the Sagamore such a special place.

Our oceanfront location is one of our best features especially for those travelers who do not like to venture far off the property. Between our restaurant, pool bar and grill, or beachfront food service, our guests can truly feel pampered and never even need to leave the property.

We hope to see you again soon here at Sagamore and thanks again for the terrific feedback!


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    514
    234
    102
    78
See reviews for
564
617
53
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I sitting here in my room at the Sagamore with my sliding door open because it is the only way to pick up the wifi signal. And that's how it goes at the Sagamore. This is not a top tier hotel. It is an older historic hotel that even in it's best categories is average. The fitness center has two treadmills and an eliptical machine. Only one treadmill works and the eliptical is broken.The hotel is completely deserted at night, and it's Presidents week. Strange. Valet parking is $37 bucks a day.Need a business center? Not one here. They do have a laptop you can borrow.The staff is nice enough
There are lots of choices in SB and I don't think I'll make this one again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmhigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Tmhigg,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay here with us during Presidents Day weekend. Let me apologize as it seems as your stay certainly did not meet your expectations and it is obvious you did not leave with the great impression that Sagamore is normally known for.

I apologize about the condition of the exercise machine as I can assure you that our engineering department has been notified and will be making sure all of our machines are running properly.

Unfortunately as most properties in our area, we do not have an in house garage and therefore we do need to work with an outside valet company to provide the valet service to all of our guests. Parking is certainly at a premium here on south beach, however $37.00 is the average for overnight parking at many local hotels.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly in regards to your stay. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience. I have included my contact information below. I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you.

Best Regards,
James D'agostino

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sagamore for four nights in February '12. We had the oceanview king. Upon check-in we were provided with a suite on the lower floors, which was barely ocean view. Upon asking the reception were moved to an upper floor without hesitation, a big plus in my experience. I would recommend upper level floors for those who prefer a quiet atmosphere on top of a better view. As everywhere there were some faults surely already noted in prior reviews: At times poor internet connection, the Sagamore plan not proposed upon check-in, certain areas of the suite up for a re-paint/ makeover, housekeeping choosing erratic times for their duties... Yes, someone picky could go on for a while. In the end one has to see that accomodations on South Beach will have a price attached and these are steep, but fair. The location is superb and one can walk up and down Lincoln road and literally a few minutes later be back in the comfort of the suite (or on the beach). The art is modern and not particularly my personal taste, but I nevertheless found it amusing. In any case, the decoration/photography should not factor into someone's stay. The hotel is catered towards a younger clientele and being in our forties we were at the upper end of the spectrum, but it had the advantage of making us feel young again! The staff was superb and extremely helpful, but never insistent. If we do manage to make our way over the pond again we would have no problem staying at the Sagamore and would also recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Request upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSM1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
MSM1966,

We appreciate your feedback from your stay here with us. We are happy that we were able to correct any issues with your room type and get you into the oceanfront room that you had reserved.

Our staff here is certainly one of our greatest assets and it is nice to hear your high praise of them. We do have a wide variety of clientele and that is another aspect of Sagamore which is unique. Whatever the age of our client one thing for sure is that our staff is prepared to meet their needs and provide all with a great overall stay.

Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and we are pleased to hear you will be returning as well as reccomending our property to others.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was just at the Sagamore for V-Day and we loved it! Edgar and Richard did an amazing job setting up and planning my romantic Valentine's day!!! Awesome location, awesome condo like rooms, great staff, very clean.... overall great experience!! We will be back, and we live in Fort Lauderdale, FL!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mario81784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Mario81784,


Thank you for your recent 5 star review of Sagamore. We are happy that we were able to play our part in providing such a memorable Valentines day for you and your significant other.

Being a smaller property can help set the romantic vibe and the stunning views from many of our rooms only help to solidify this. We are pleased to hear that Richard and Edgar left such a great impression with you and will be sure to pass along your great praise to them.

We are happy to hear that you will be returning to Sagamore and will make sure to be ready again with our great service!


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed in the Sagamore this January 2012 accompanied by my mother who is in a wheelchair!!! it came highly recommended by Trailfinders UK,i was hesitant at first as it's only 4 star, but not only does it have 5 star Staff,our suite was definitely on the perimeter of 5 star!!!
The location is great,you have everything you need close at hand,the pool area is smallish but stylish as befitting a Boutique hotel,a little chilly at night!!!but the front terrace of the hotel is nice to have drinks,early evening!!! warmer and for those who need it you can smoke there!!
It is a relaxed, professionally run hotel,with extremely favourable rates, that can cater to everyone,my only constructive criticism would be that it would be beneficial to have a ramp at the front of the hotel.
We stayed 10 days and would return at the drop of a hat,that's how well we were looked after.

Room Tip: I always check out a few rooms till i find one i like!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela2wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Angela2wells,


We thank you for review after your recent 10 night stay with us. We are delighted that you and your mother enjoyed your time here. Our staff here is always trying their best to provide 5 star service and it is great to hear that their efforts do not go unnoticed.

The front terrace is just one of several public outdoor areas which one can enjoy a drink or cup of cofee in the morning.

We hope that you will return to Sagamore soon and we thank you again for your terrific feedback.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

great hotel. great service. very comfortable rooms, art everywhere. excellent location. what else can you ask for a hotel in miami? looking forward to go back next art bassel miami!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Alberto B,


THanks for sharing your feedback after your stay with us for Art Basel. Art Basel is certainly one of the best times to stay at Sagamore as there is no better place to begin during Art Basel than the Art Hotel itself.

Our yearly brunch during Art Basel attracts upwards of 1500 guests and truly bring the who's who in the art world. The location is also a great starting point to visit many of the local galleries and exhibits as the hotel itself boasts a collection on par with any top gallery.

We thank you again for your feedback and will be awaiting your arrival next December.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at the hotel just before christmas time. The place is great, with magnificent piece of art, nice swimming pool and garden. Very calm. We had a bungalow close to the swimming pool, with a nice view to the beach and trhough hotels gardens. The personel is helpful, although not always very fast. Just on advice, maybe the corridor where you can have diner and breakfast could be change so that it could be a bit more cosy. really not tempting to stay there!

All in one, very nice place. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill92310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Bill92310,


Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here with us in December. The Bungalows are a great choice for both the space and the views of the garden and ocean.

We hope to see you again here at Sagamore and thank you again for choosing to stay with us!



Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,298 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,456 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,867 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,908 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#66 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Property: Sagamore
Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach, Florida
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing