We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic first experience in Miami” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #70 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Fantastic first experience in Miami”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Wife, daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this art art deco experience, special thanks to both Greg and Gabriel at the pool who went beyond the call of duty to make us feel very welcome. Don't change the formulae, design and layout. Keep it as is and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Trip114,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your review of our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially your pool experience.

Our team here takes great pride in their service and is always trying to make sure every one of our guests leaves with an experience similar to yours.

We hope that you have found a new home away from home here at Sagamore and look forward to your next stay with us. Thanks again from all of us!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    477
    204
    94
    69
See reviews for
516
584
48
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Four of us stayed in Sagamore Hotel in March, the excellent staff and friendly service made our stay! Special kudos to the concierges Rudy and Richard. We really enjoyed the pool and the lifeguard was very helpful and pleasant to be. Thank you all from us Italians!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Sabrina M,

Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback from your stay. We are happy that our staff helped make your stay here so memorable.

Our staff is never reluctant to go the extra mile for our guests and we are thrilled that you took notice of this. We hope you will return soon to visit and I will be sure to pass along your great praise to the entire pool staff.

Thanks again for choosing Sagamore.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Well, it is a 2-3 star hotel that has a nice website that makes it look nicer. Rooms are average at best. Pool is tiny. They charge for everything! Towels, wifi PER DEVICE, umbrellas. It is a rip off

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Jake K,

We apologize for your recent experience here at Sagamore. The experience you had is certainly not a normal one and for that I apologize.

In regards to being charged for wifi and other amenities, I should note that we do offer the Sagamore Plan which for $18.00 per person per day, you will receive wireless internet which can in fact be used on multiple devices, a breakfast buffet, and one chair on the beach. We have created the Sagamore Plan to avoid charging a mandatory resort fee which many other local properties regardless of whether or not certain amenities are used. Towels are always complimentary, both at the pool and at the beach so I apologize if you were under the impression that there was a fee.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your stay as we would love for you to give our property another chance to show you the service that we have come to be known for. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
James@Sagamorehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at the Sagamore at the end of March and had a fantastic experience. The staff, room, food and location are all top notch. Thank you to everyone on the Sagamore team who helped make our getaway extra special.

Room Tip: Bungalows are great. Penthouse suite makes you feel like a rock-star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawclubGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
ShawclubGM,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great review after your recent stay here. We are thrilled to hear you speak so highly of not only our staff but the entire property as well. It is our goal for all of our guests to leave the property with an experience similar to yours.

We hope that you have found your new destination for all your trips to South Beach and hope you will remain part of the Sagmore family for the future. We look forward to seeing you again.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I travel to South Beach every year for spring break. We have stayed at the Ritz, Delano, Setai, and others. Last year we stayed at the Sagamore. While it is not as over-the-top as the others, the rooms were larger and the location just as nice. Price is comparable.

This year, we decided to go back to the Sagamore. We called and booked the same room as last year, garden view with balcony. We received confirmation and thought we were all set. That changed when we checked in and the garden view room looked out on the brick wall of the hotel next door. There was no balcony. They had given the room that we reserved to other guests.

They did move us to a room that looked out on the construction site immediately next door. The wake up call of pounding hammers at 8:00 a.m. each day was a feature we could have done without. In total, it was very disappointing. My guess is that someone had the room on the construction side of the building and was moved to our room. When i went to the front desk to try to change the room the two people in front of me in line were also complaining about the construction and trying to move.

The employees are very nice and were appropriately apologetic. I don't think we will be visiting the Sagamore again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkgillsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Pkgillsp,


We appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback after your stay here with us this past March. We apologize for the issues that you had while you were here as it obviously affected your stay here negatively.

Unfortunately the construction that is happening next door to us is something that is out of our control however we are doing our best to try and manage the situation so that its effect on our overall guest experiences is minimal. I apologize if there was a confusion with the room type as it seems you did not receive the room type you had expected.

We hope that you will in fact give Sagamore another oppurtunity to prove to you that we are one of the finer hotels in the area and let us WOW you with our great service. Please feel free to contact me directly should you want to return to Sagamore.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
James@sagamorehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Sagamore is a great place! It is everything you want from a South Beach vacation: great location, beautiful beach, spacious pool with pool attendant Gregory who keeps pool area in great shape, extremely nice person. We particularly enjoyed meeting bartender Mickey from Serbia. His service was exceptional, he truly made our lunch pleasant, he is making perfect strawberry mojitos, friendly, engaging, and nice person. We will be more than happy to stay at this property again in future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Catherine S,

Thanks for sharing your terrific 5 star review of Sagamore. We are happy to be able to provide you with such a great stay. It sounds like a few of our team members stood out to you and they are just part of what makes our property so special.

I will be sure to pass along your great praise to Mickey and Gregory and we look forward to seeing you again at Sagamore!


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband & I toured Florida for three weeks & decided to spend a few days in Miami, as we usually head straight for the Keys. I always wanted to visit South Beach and get a feel for the area. We arrived at the Sagamore in the evening, without a reservation and booked for two nights. Enough time to do a little shopping along Lincoln Road & check out the restaurants along Ocean Drive - all within walking distance. The Sagamore is very artsy and the lobby is quite appealing to the eye. Our room was 511, an oceanview suite with a king bed. The suite is very large with a separate living area that has a sectional couch large enough for eight people, a wetbar, fridge, coffee maker, microwave and large flat screen TV on the mirrored wall. The balcony is a good size & has a bistro table with two chairs and a nice view of the ocean. The bedroom was very adequate & also had a large flat screen TV. We took advantage of the beach, as the Hotel has a hut on the beach directly behind their building. The staff setup an umbrella if you wish, provide a lounge chair with a cushion & towels & offer drink service. This is an extra cost & if I'm not mistaken it was $12 daily. The pool & bar area was great, very friendly bar staff and they make fantastic martinis. We never ate at the Hotel, so I can't provide any comments in the food area. The staff were all very friendly, room was cleaned adequately, valet parking guys also very helpful. We had no complaints & would stay at the Sagamore again. Just a small note: the room quote for the night doesn't include city/county tax, state tax, Parking (which is $37/daily). Our room quote was $356/night & after adding all the extra charges the room was actually was $440/daily. I wasn't bothered by this, but simply wanted you to be aware for budgeting purposes.

Room Tip: Room 511 - One Bedroom Oceanview Suite had a great view of the ocean & a nice balcony to sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropical_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Tropical_Holidays,

We greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback after your recent stay here. We are delighted that you had such a terrific stay and happy that you picked Sagamore after arriving with no immediate plans or reservations.

Sagamore truly is one of the hidden gems of South Beach and our location could not be better. It is evident that you took full advantage of our beachfront ameneites, as there is no better way to spend the day in South Beach than on one of our beach lounge chairs perhaps with a cool frozen mojito.

We hope that you will continue to choose Sagamore when traveling to Miami and will be awaiting your next stay with us.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#32 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Property: Sagamore
Address: 1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach, Florida
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing