We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, with a great rooftop pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #22 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

So this was my first time to Miami Beach. My partner has been there a few times, and she wanted me to have an awesome experience. Therefore she took the time and booked us a room at The Hotel. It was money well-spent.
First, perfect location. Right on Collins Drive with an annex on Ocean. You are literally in the heart of everything, and right next to the News Cafe, a Miami staple. Second, it has good overall amenities. The hotel restaurant and bar were a little quiet, but the staff was super friendly and helpful. It also has a sizable gym and rooftop pool with an amazing view. The room was a good size, with a very comfortable bed and an awesome shower. It also has private beach access with complementary chairs. Would definitely consider staying here next time we visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We only stayed one night, but we were very impressed with our room. It was very large, modern, and clean. The only complaint would be that we were in the rear building (which is closest to the beach) and on the top floor (3rd). There was some kind of air conditioning equipment nearby that created a lot of noise. Ask for a room that is not on the 3rd floor.
Do not eat at the News Cafe, which is at the entrance, but not affiliated with the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to be placed in the rear building (Ocean Ave.), do not accept a room on the 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmandile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Hotel of South Beach was amazing! Great room, location, and staff. The rooftop pool was a perfect amenity!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Anglers a year ago, but decided to try The Hotel this year. Based on two nights in each place, The Hotel has a better location, bigger rooms, a better pool and the Anglers has better service. The valet system at TH needs work. It took 30 minutes one time and 25 minutes another time to get our car. If you weren't careful, it could cause you to miss your plane. The room was great, the pool was great, the beach chairs were wonderful. I would stay again, but think about finding a ramp for my car instead of using the valet service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I liked the location of this hotel, the roof top pool, and the open shower was cool. What I did not like was the loud toilet, paper thin walls, ikea type furniture, dirty carpet, frosted window (can't see out), slow elevator, and every time the person above us walked it was so loud it sounded like they were going to come through the floor. The place is not bad but I would not recommend with all the other options.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fakapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Location of this hotel is wonderful, right behind Ocean Drive where people watching doesn't get much better. The restaurant is located outdoors and we found it to be too noisy to have a conversation, quality of food (breakfast) was excellent.
The rooms are funky with a few nice touches like jelly beans and some nuts at no charge. Beds very comfortable, service was cordial even though Jim, the concierge, screwed up big time by forgetting to tell the tour company we needed a pick up for the city tour.
All in all, worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our second stay at The Hotel and was once again very pleased with the overall accomodations. The location and staff are top knotch. The pool area remains a poplar option over spending time on the beach which is less than one block away. Beach chairs and towels are included in the room rate and are set up for you by the beach staff. The chairs are super comfortable making a day atbthe beach quite inviting. The rooms are small but well equipped. This is a great spot for couples- not a large pool area for kids.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorgasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,368 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
523 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,276 reviews
La Flora
#20 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,524 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 212 in Miami Beach
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $213 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing