We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Place to Stay in South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #20 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay in South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Hotel offers the perfect combination of comfort and hospitality. The staff is wonderful. They are friendly and helpful and remember your breakfast preferences and where you went for dinner. Rooms are on the smaller size but well thought out. Our room was quiet and comfortable with a great bed and lots of storage room. The bath products from White smell heavenly! The roof top pool is pleasant with a lovely view of the beach. The location one block off Ocean Ave. is excellent: right near the action but far enough to cut down on the noise and traffic. The best thing about the Hotel is that there are no gimmicks or extras but instead real value for your money. Two beach chairs at the pool or the beach are included in your hotel fee and there is free wifi. If you are a Gold member, continental breakfast is also thrown in. It was a pleasure to spend the week in such a welcoming well run establishment. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Collins on 3rd floor are surprising quiet. If you like to sleep in, make sure and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pacyabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    516
    116
    52
    25
See reviews for
147
937
104
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

So this was my first time to Miami Beach. My partner has been there a few times, and she wanted me to have an awesome experience. Therefore she took the time and booked us a room at The Hotel. It was money well-spent.
First, perfect location. Right on Collins Drive with an annex on Ocean. You are literally in the heart of everything, and right next to the News Cafe, a Miami staple. Second, it has good overall amenities. The hotel restaurant and bar were a little quiet, but the staff was super friendly and helpful. It also has a sizable gym and rooftop pool with an amazing view. The room was a good size, with a very comfortable bed and an awesome shower. It also has private beach access with complementary chairs. Would definitely consider staying here next time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We only stayed one night, but we were very impressed with our room. It was very large, modern, and clean. The only complaint would be that we were in the rear building (which is closest to the beach) and on the top floor (3rd). There was some kind of air conditioning equipment nearby that created a lot of noise. Ask for a room that is not on the 3rd floor.
Do not eat at the News Cafe, which is at the entrance, but not affiliated with the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to be placed in the rear building (Ocean Ave.), do not accept a room on the 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmandile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Hotel of South Beach was amazing! Great room, location, and staff. The rooftop pool was a perfect amenity!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Anglers a year ago, but decided to try The Hotel this year. Based on two nights in each place, The Hotel has a better location, bigger rooms, a better pool and the Anglers has better service. The valet system at TH needs work. It took 30 minutes one time and 25 minutes another time to get our car. If you weren't careful, it could cause you to miss your plane. The room was great, the pool was great, the beach chairs were wonderful. I would stay again, but think about finding a ramp for my car instead of using the valet service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakapuna
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I liked the location of this hotel, the roof top pool, and the open shower was cool. What I did not like was the loud toilet, paper thin walls, ikea type furniture, dirty carpet, frosted window (can't see out), slow elevator, and every time the person above us walked it was so loud it sounded like they were going to come through the floor. The place is not bad but I would not recommend with all the other options.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fakapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Location of this hotel is wonderful, right behind Ocean Drive where people watching doesn't get much better. The restaurant is located outdoors and we found it to be too noisy to have a conversation, quality of food (breakfast) was excellent.
The rooms are funky with a few nice touches like jelly beans and some nuts at no charge. Beds very comfortable, service was cordial even though Jim, the concierge, screwed up big time by forgetting to tell the tour company we needed a pick up for the city tour.
All in all, worth a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
The Hotel Of South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing