We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too Bad, Not Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Jazz on South Beach is a pretty basic Hostel, in the sence that it has all you need when traveling.. its cheap, has baggae storage, showers, near the beach, Wifi (even if it only works at reception) but nothing to special.

if you like to party then Jazz is perfect for you. The only consistant thing that seemed to happen every night is that it was hard to get into the front door due to all the drunk morons out the front, but if thats your plan of a good holiday then Jazz is for you

service was alright, the place was pumping busy

would reccomend to anyone who loves to party

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abaker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

Good prices and location. It's easy to get to the beach and buses around town. Lunch & dinners were available at the hostel, very nice touch! It was clean and the staff helpful. I have no complaints. I would stay here again maybe next 4th of July too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j3dnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Staying at this place wreaked havoc with our lives. We were bitten by bed bugs and ended up inadvertently taking them back to our NYC apartment. We ended up having to give up our apartment and find a new place! We had to pay the landlord for extermination and for vacating before the lease was up.

We lost hundreds of dollars in rugs, furniture, etc that we had to wrap in plastic and throw away. You may not think bed bugs are a big deal, but they are and your family and friends won't like it much when you infest them.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYRita2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The management or friends of this hostel are responsible for any positive reviews in recent times. They are FALSE. My stay at Jazz on South Beach was the worst of my three months in the U.S.
I will cover the two positives of this hostel first so I can represent fairly.
1). It is close to the very south end of the beach. ( the other hostels are all close to the beach, so not really a positive)
2). The chef Joel. He creates tasty great value food for lunch or dinner for $5 bucks or less for lunch and dinner.

They are the only two positive things. DO NOT STAY HERE.
Stay at South Beach hostel or Miami International. Both are twenty thousand times better.

I tried to book through hostel world where the hostel represents itself as a party hostel. I wasn't looking for a party but looking to stay where my friends were staying. It is NOT a party hostel that is for sure. I could not book online and I chose to call them. After a kind of wierd interaction I was informed I could only book the twelve bed dorm on their web site. I was directed to their website. I booked.
BAD MOVE.

The moment I arrived I knew it was terrible. Stood at the desk for 2 minutes while the reception creature chatted on skype/facebook. I am patient and friendly so I waited. When she felt ready, and in the most hidious tone I received a "can I help you" After this vile representive had booked me in I felt very unsure of my decision in staying. I watched this greeting repeated everytime someone was checked in and every person I spoke to agreed that the staff here were awful and created a terrible vibe and mood in the hostel.

The hostel is filled with passive aggresive signs explaining rules and threating everyone with your one chance or instant removal from the hostel.
On the second day my in dorm the ensuit toilet broke and was filled with an extremely large poo, vomit and urine for 34 hrs. The note from staff was left on the door however for over 48 hrs. (picture included) The replacement restroom was on the first floor. No shower.

The dorm beds themselves were uncomfortable and of the worst cheapest plastic underlay creating loud sticky sheets.

The only social area/patio shuts at 9:30pm and then you can move into the lounge area until 11pm. All under the watchfull eye of the most rude and hateful staff I have ever met.

Expect to be yelled at and bossed around like children. Be told to vacate the hostel at eleven and move one hundred metres from the property or the police will be called and you will be thrown out. Do not break a rule or you will be chewed out by one of the representitives of Jazz on South Beach. The pot bellied assistant manager to the hidiously uphelpful, hatefilled monsters who ran the desk this place is truely hell for any traveller use to the normally hospitable american hostel crews.

Do NOT stay here. I am a reliable honest backpacker and through talking to people found out that jazz on South beach use to be a party hostel until there was trouble with the neighbours and things had to change. The hostel should do the responsible thing and change their adverstising which is clearly false. They need to fire the entire staff and replace them." Eddie" a guy from one of their New York hostels was the only friendly staff member. He left two days into my stay.

Shame on you Jazz on South Beach. Your terrible service, poor accomodation, and inconsiderate disinterested staff coloured my view of Miami. Lucky you have an amazing beach nearby or you would have nothing.
REMEMBER DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed here for two days and will never be back. Terribly unfriendly staff. If you try to stand in front of hostel, you are chases away like a criminal. Overall terrible experience. Dirty, unfriendly, impossible to sleep. Save your money and go up the street to the south beach hostel. So much better

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akronsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This is a very clean hostel. All dorms have an ensuite and rooms are cleaned daily. Pillow, linen, towels and pancake breakfast is all included in the room rate. Add to the brilliant home cooked $4 lunches and $5 dinners and there'd be no reason to leave. Expect with Miami Beach only a block away it's hard not to. The only things I can fault about this hostel is the weak wi-fi. It is un-useable in some rooms. The other thing is it lacks a large common area so I was always standing around. But I'd recommend it and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ODoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This one is a strange one. The facilities are not by far the best, small and hot rooms, noisy A/C, old bathrooms, not that clean and other minor nuisances.

However there is something about it that makes people get together and create some real bonding during the stay. Maybe it is the beach and/or the clubbing but overall we really get happy for being there.

They provide cheap access to some great parties and provide cheap meals that are good enough,

There was people from teenagers to 60s but it is clearly a hot-spot for younger people. So expect some crazy spontaneou behavior now and then.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuno_m_faria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Rock Hostel
#4 of 87 in Miami Beach
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 87 in Miami Beach
581 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#17 of 87 in Miami Beach
235 reviews
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#27 of 87 in Miami Beach
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jazz on South Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz on South Beach Hostel

Address: 321 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6902 (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range: $18 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Jazz on South Beach Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jazz on South Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jazz On South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Jazz On South Beach Hostel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing