We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #63 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would definitely return!”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

People often comment on the how expensive the hotel is, but I learned by talking with other travelers that their accommodations along Ocean and Collins were not much less expensive and they didn't have nearly the amenities on their property. To some people, $100 more per night is a deal breaker, but the amenities and services were worth it. They bill themselves as the only family hotel in South Beach, and the number of kids in the pool area showed it. Many families with kids of all ages but there were couples as well. We stayed in the tower, not the main building. At first blush, I didn't like it but then quickly grew to appreciate how much quieter the building was and there were no swarms of people in the lobby. It felt like the lobby of an apartment building, not a hotel. At night, we never heard street noise but did hear the occasional slamming of a door. The room was spacious enough with a nice HD tv but the closet was tiny for all of our hanging clothes. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the linens were great. The service poolside, and everywhere for that matter, was great. I didn't mind the 20% gratuity because they work hard for their money and were genuinely sincere in their effort to provide good service. We also rented chairs and an umbrella on the beach, which I would recommend as the breeze was heavenly. Expect to pay $43 for this, which includes the tip to the guy who sets up your chair and umbrella. There is a Walgreens at the end of the block to procure snacks and wine and beer to take out to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ScoobyDoo421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,272
    1,838
    715
    273
    302
See reviews for
1,952
1,741
142
1,084
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The halls were always filled with leftovers from room service or or maid carts
(maid don't mingle with room service clean up).

Room Tip: The balcony was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
We would like to discuss your experiences during your recent stay with you directly. Would you please email us at miamicustomerservice@loewshotels.com so we can address concerns and questions you may have? Thank you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles City, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

After reading reviews on trip advisor, we booked our trip to Miami at Loews. We were very grateful for the reviews, because we feel that this was the best choice in South Beach. The architecture was beautiful, the food and drinks at the beach bar were great, the pool was really nice, the service was over the top, and nothing was lacking, in our experience. We watched the sun rise directly from our balcony each morning. In the evenings, we would walk down the beach, and almost all of the restaurants had sidewalk dining - some with live music and the smell of salsa in the air. Fantastic experience. By contrast, we had originally wanted to stay at the Fountainbleu, but they were booked, apparently for the Miami boat show, which is why we were there. We toured that property while at the boat show, and had breakfast there. We had read that the service wasn't that great, and that is accurate. The architecture is very contemporary (read stark and cold). Also, it wasn't in the Art Deco district, so we would have missed out on the full South Beach experience. Would stay at Loews again, without reservation. Well, maybe you should make a reservation :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_CharlesCity_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
We enjoyed reading your comments about your recent stay. We pride ourselves on having excellent customer service in all areas of the hotel and are thrilled you were able to experience this firsthand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here at Loews. Everything was top shelf, clean, neat and fresh. The rooms were so nice, the service was fabulous and the pool area was picture perfect. I found the staff to be very accomodating given that we just "showed up". I have learned that you do get what you pay for! Highly reccomend this hotel based on what is most important...a clean, safe, beautiful place to relax!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoshAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

When we spent 3 days in this hotel, we loved the place ,the room and the pool. But the breakfast was too expensive and, with too high rates, we didn't have free wifi inside the room,only in the lobby. With kids, we had to go down all the time to be connected. it was amazing in a Wifi city like Miami. Finally, we asked for some minutes more to check out,but they said that we had only 10 minutes to go or they will charge a half daily rate. So rude, so inflexible and we had to run like robbers. Traveling with kids,we must have more flexibility in the hotel. I won't go back, for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelamachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed for the second time at the Loews, both times for the SoBe Food and Wine Festival. It's about as convenient as you can get if you are attending these events or want to enjoy the beach and South Beach activities.

The beach is just a short walk past the pool; you can rent chaises or a cabana right outside the hotel and they will charge it to the room. They also serve food and drinks. When you are done with the beach, Ocean Blvd or Lincoln Rd are close by.

I am not a big fan of the pool scene -- it seems pleasant enough but too many people for me and not at all relaxing.

The Spa is very nice -- I had a hair cut there, too, I cannot remember the stylist's name - a young, red head who did an amazing job of giving me a classic Vidal Sassoon bob. She did a thoroughly meticulous job and took 10 years off my appearance. The price was reasonable for a resort spa/salon. Well worth it.

As for the room, we were in the tower across from the main building on the 10th floor with ocean views. The room was clean, tidy and serviceable but small -- eg. no where to sit but the beds - but we had a lovely ocean view.

This is big hotel, popular with tours and functions -- the lobby is one of the busiest I have ever seen (and I travel a lot) but nonetheless, the staff did a very good job of moving the check in line quickly, of being pleasant despite the crowds and demands of the guests.

The lounge actually had a very decent band playing on Saturday pm - we didn't stay long but sat at a table to listen and people watch.

Overall, I think the Loews does a good job -- grace under pressure -- during a very very busy weekend. The housekeeping staff were thorough, efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We are lucky to have been the host hotel for the South Beach Wine and Food Festival since the very start, it's one of our favorite weekends of the year. Our location is in the center of South Beach and we love being in the heart of the best restaurants, nightlife, shopping, etc that the destination has to offer. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The Lowes Hotel in South Beach is gorgeous, in our opinion the best hotel in South Beach. When you walk into the lobby it smells so beautiful, it's so elegant, yet bright and cheerful. To the right of the doors when you enter is a huge stunning fish tank with tropical fish. Check- in is great, the employees are terrific, they want to make you happy. The Concierge helped us find 5 great restaurants during our stay. The rooms are lovely. If you go have breakfast your room will be cleaned before you return. The Breakfast Buffet is delicous! The Sushi Bar is also. This was not our first trip to The Lowes in South Beach. We went with our grand kids in December. They loved the pool and all the activities they have for the kids. My husband and I loved sitting on the beach in the chaise lounges. You can order anything you want to eat right from your chaise lounge and the food was truly fabulous. Everyone at The Lowes South Beach was terrific. We're looking forward to going back again, and we just got back last night. We also love the location of this hotel. For those that think this hotel is expensive, all the hotels in South Beach are expensive some a lot more than this one and not half as nice. It's bright and cheerful at The Lowes. Some of the other hotels haven't been updated, some are too dark and dreary. You can't help but be happy with choosing the Lowes.

Room Tip: Well, the first trip there in Dec. we opted for a suite because we had our grand kids with us. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeydew56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
We loved reading your post and thank you for taking the time to do so. We hope you are already planning to return to Loews Miami Beach Hotel and South Beach very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,986 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,487 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,752 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach’s vibrant Art Deco District, the renowned Loews Miami Beach Hotel recently completed a spectacular $50 million renovation, resulting in a vibrant new lobby experience; 790 transformed luxury guestrooms; an enhanced, oceanfront pool deck with direct beach access; SOAK Cabanas & Daybeds with new adult-only cabanas; enhancements to exhale South Beach spa and more. Four new restaurants and lounges include Preston’s Market, Miami Joe Coffee Co., Bar Collins and Nautilus, in addition to the award-wining Lure Fishbar - all offering an authentic taste of the destination via Flavor Miami. A curated food and beverage journey, Flavor Miami brings together Miami’s culinary greats, integrating their offerings throughout the on-property experience. Whether in-room, poolside or dining al fresco, guests can sip and bite their way through the city’s unique neighborhoods and culture. An inspired canvas for meetings and events, Loews Miami Beach Hotel has 65,000 square feet of beautifully redesigned function space, accommodating groups of 10 to 2,700 guests. Additional amenities include a fitness center; premium shopping at Splash and Splish retail boutiques; and a new state-of-the-art Kids Club offering areas for crafts, video games and outdoor adventures, to ensure a memorable family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing