We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Do not stay at the Loews for the rest of the year!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Ranked #63 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay at the Loews for the rest of the year!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Sitting here listening to jackhammers which i was told by management will last until the end of the year. If you want to relax on the beach, pool or even in your room with the door closed, do not stay here! Was not made aware of construction prior to arrival.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank villaluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,945
    1,690
    632
    241
    262
See reviews for
1,750
1,583
123
951
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Let me preface this review by stating that we always stay in 4-5 star hotels when we travel. These are the things that are important to us when we travel- a high degree of comfort, beauty, cleanliness, amenities, and service. Sadly, this hotel was lacking in all of these areas. To begin with management's customer satisfaction skills were completely lacking. We checked in to our room to find that it had a terrible view (over looking AC vents and a cement platform)- this was upsetting as this was a 6 day vacation, not a quick getaway-, there was one full-length mirror in the room that was inexplicably put up behind the bed so that your view was blocked, and finally the room was so small that the three of us felt completely crowded. The bathroom had no lock on the door (the hotels contemporary touch) and had no towel racks- towels were loaded up onto toilet tank, this was very inconvenient- with things constantly falling on the floor. We asked management if we could see another room and were told that there was not one other room in the hotel for us to move to. Never in my 40+ years of travel, and living abroad, have I had the experience where not even one other room would be offered as an alternative.Throughout our 6 stay stay there was no attempt to accommodate us in any way. Do not believe any of the manager comments below that sound like the manager is apologetic, and wishes that one would communicate directly with them. This was not the case at all while we stayed at the hotel. For a hotel that charges upwards of $400-$500 night we expect much more. In addition, here are the extra charges one will incur at the Lowes; make sure to add these on to your travel budget- parking $39 day, gym use $10 day, beach chairs/umbrella rental for our family of just 3 cost us an additional $60 day (for each add. umbrella add $18 and each additional chair add $12) there is a charge for internet use in room, and note that every single charge at the hotel for food, drinks, rentals, etc. comes with an additional 20% service charge. The food by the beach/pool is beyond exorbitant and is poor in quality. Our ceviche (3 tbl. $20 (incl.tax,tip) was inedible and had to be sent back) Other food items that we tried were also below average. We made sure to eat most of our meals outside of the hotel as one gets much better quality, and value, by just walking out to Lincoln Rd. As to the experience of staying here for a week- it was a relief to get off the hotel grounds as this hotel and its facilities (lobby, pool area, beach) were not relaxing. The pool area is completely over-crowded with not enough lounge chairs for the guests staying at the hotel. You have to get up very early to reserve a chair. Much of the pool area is shaded. There is a lot of commotion around the pool area. The beach area is also extremely over-crowded with the lounge chairs packed in like sardines. I like to sit by the water, this is not possible here as the chairs are lined up and roped off and one is not allowed to move the chairs from the area that is roped in. I finally got a "first row" lounge chair when I ran down to the beach at 8am and waited on-line until the facility opened at 9am (It's worse then trying to score concert tickets!) Also, there are many travelers at this hotel that are not from the US, which brings with it lots and lots of smoking- cigarettes and cigars- the smell and smoke surrounds you in all public areas- pool, beach, front of hotel etc. I would recommend other hotels, where they do not have extra charges for sitting on an over-crowded beach, such as; The Fountainbleu (we stayed here last year, our teenage daughter loved it- very cool, gorgeous, great crowd) The Ritz,The Park Central, The Delano, One Bal Harbor (further up the beach), that all have much better service and ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank avidtrav803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit, we do value your feedback and the opportunity it gives us to address your concerns. Needless to say, we were very disappointed to learn that you were less than satisfied with your stay. I have reviewed your comments with our Front Office Management team, and unfortunately the hotel was fully committed throughout your stay. Our hotel does not charge a daily resort fee; therefore items like chairs on the beach and internet do have a modest charge associated with them. As for an automatic gratuity on food and beverage items, we do follow the same standard as most restaurants, hotels, cafes, etc in the destination do by adding a percentage to the bill. Our goal is to exceed guests’ expectations in all areas and in your situation we clearly failed to do that. We should have followed up with you to offer other options and properly communicate specifics details of your concerns. We truly do apologize for the inconvenience. Please feel free to email us at miamicustomerservice@loewshotels.com and will arrange for you to speak directly with our Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

A very stylish & Luxury hotel ,Sadly it was a short stay ,but enjoy every minit of it , nice clean rooms whit balcony and great view on the Atlantic Ocean and pool aria , good restaurants and a the Hemisphere bar and lounge enjoy live entertainment or look at your favorite sport channels on HD large led TV or take a tropical cocktail outside and enjoy .
You find a Starbucks and ice cream and candy shop on site a very friendly and helpful staff ,good location at Collins avenue en at few meters from the beach , and for shopping at Splash inside the hotel or at Lincoln Road at 1 block away ,there his a bus stop at the front of the hotel for your ride to Miami down town and enjoy the harbor view and shops at the Bay side Market Place.
Stay at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel and you have a wonderful and amazing stay at Miami South Beach.

Room Tip: get a room with view of the ocean and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
We are thrilled you had a great time and that you enjoyed the hotel and some of our amenities. We hope next time you’ll come back for an even longer amount of time. We appreciate you taking the time to post about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My family and I loved everything about this hotel. It was clean, staff was amazing, location was great. We spent most of our time at the beach during the day. The pool looked to be very crowded but it is Spring break. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorirPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for your post. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Loews is a beautiful hotel, great location and excellent service. However, it is expensive to begin with and you have to pay extra for everything. The gym is $10/day, chair at the beach $12.50/day, umbrella $20/day, etc. I called the front desk to make sure the coffee you make in the room was free (it was).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallyMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I've stayed here 3 times on business trips and every time has been nothing short of excellent. The pool is heavenly! The only negative is that there's not alot of seating so it fills up fast. The service is amazing. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the location is prime. Would recommend it to anyone, anytime!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for sharing comments on your recent experience. Our new state-of-the-art cabanas will debut next month, making room for additional chaise lounge chairs around the pool area. We hope you’ll come back and enjoy them and the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

If you are looking for a large glitzy hotel on South Beach this is probably a good choice. On the positive side the room we stayed in was very comfortable and well-appointed and service throughout the hotel was excellent.

The two negatives were 1) the pool area was extremely busy and very hard to get seat by the pool, let alone an umbrella; however, it seems that the hotel are addressing this problem as they appear to be building out the terrace. 2) there was a lot of noise on our floor during both nights of our stay and severely disrupted our sleep. I know South Beach is party town but it's a shame when you can't get a good night's sleep in an expensive hotel....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllerRetour2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#28 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity.ca and HotelsClick so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing