We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ambience and food”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve with OpenTable
A Fish Called Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,136 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: Overlooking Ocean Drive from the veranda of the Avalon Hotel is the 25 year old, acclaimed restaurant, A fish Called Avalon. Cuisine features local seafood prepared with a sensuous, tropical flair. An extensive wine reserve and full service bar naturally compliment our great food.
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Great location and ambience. Sat on patio in wonderful weather with live music 1 relaxing and chill. Octopus appetizer was very tender and delicious. Also seafood risotto dish was fabulous.

Thank Gabrielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Dear Gabrielle D,
Your kind letter has made our entire team very proud, and I thank you for taking time to write. It is rewarding to know that your evening was a memorable one. We appreciate your praise of so many aspects of your experience -- the only thing we can’t take credit for is the nice weather. Please come again, rain or shine.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 255 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016

Great restaurant with fresh fish prepared in great sauces.the special that night was a whole Bronzino deboned served with basmati rice and spinach. So wonderful !

1  Thank Kew324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for writing about your enjoyable dinner with us. Your observations emphasize that a well-prepared meal can be both healthful and delicious. Our accomplished Chef Kal is a master at bringing out the best flavors in everything, so I’ll take this opportunity to mention that our steaks are as delectable as our seafood offerings. Food for thought!
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This restaurant is written up quite a bit, and the rave reviews are all true. The service was excellent. Great wine selection. Everything on the menu sounded so good was hard to make our choices. We started with the octopus appetizer. Was excellent, you must try! They always have dinner specials, so be sure to listen, as those are usually the better options. However, everything we had from appetizer to dessert was excellent Highly recommend!

1  Thank indymacthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Guest,
Heartfelt thanks for your tremendously positive recommendation. Our whole team is beaming with pride at your generous praise, and you can be sure we’ll always uphold the high standards you’ve described so well. We’ll take care to keep our specials always superb, so that you will be equally pleased on your return visit.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Worth every cent .. nestled right on the strip it neigbors all the action and energy around you and def one of the better restaurants to choose from. Food's a little spotty on Ocean drive but A Fish Called Avalon was spot on

1  Thank Shayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Shayne,
Thanks for describing A Fish Called Avalon as “The Spot” on Ocean Drive. So glad you enjoyed our legendary paella, and that our professional service and fun atmosphere added to your enjoyable experience. We very much appreciate your generous letter, and look forward to seeing you again.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Our first dinner in South Beach. Upscale food with great service. We chose to dine in the outdoor patio which was the perfect choice. The atmosphere was the electric and the people watching was entertaining.
As for the food we order the char grilled octopus for and appetizer which was grilled to perfect tender and flavorful. We also order the pair of lobster tails and the seafood risotto. The lobster was cooked well and tasty, but the standout was the seafood risotto which was packed with fresh seafood and some of the best I have ever had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Robert,
We are thrilled that you chose to dine with us for your first dinner in South Beach. Thank you for writing about everything you enjoyed, because your satisfaction means the world to us. We are delighted that our fresh seafood and great atmosphere met and exceeded your expectations, and hope to welcome you back often.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing