We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For top seafood, this is the place!”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 04-21
20:00
Ranked #72 of 1,028 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: C$14 - C$41
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: A Fish Called Avalon, a time-honored seafood tradition in Miami Beach. Our live Latin-Caribbean music nightly creates an unforgettable ambiance great for people-watching on our outside terrace. Diners rave about our daily delivered seafood with favorites such as the Macadamia Snapper, Crab-Crusted Black Grouper, or the classic Sake & Tarragon Glazed Lobster Tails. Our renowned Executive Chef Kal Abdalla has created a menu bursting with flavor and a Caribbean Mediterranean influence. The superb cuisine, relaxed Ocean Drive setting, and impeccable service have been delighting diners with culinary excellence since 1989.
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

We ordered the seafood plateau and it was totally worth the price. Everything (oysters, jumbo shrimps, mussels, lobster, king crab legs) was fresh and well prepared. It came in this cool two level platter. We were sittinng outside on the sidewalk and people waling by were definitely jealous of our meal. The hummus and bread were also a nice touch.

We went on a saturday night and the place was bumping. I recommend sitting outside with the musicians to add to the ambiance.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Julie,
How kind of you to write about your outstanding experience. Nothing else can compare with a Saturday night on Ocean Drive, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us. Thanks for your enthusiastic comments about our fresh seafood and Chef Kal’s distinctive hummus. It was a great pleasure to have you with us, and we look forward to you welcoming you back.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (2,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 606 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

No fresh fish but this is a seafood restaurant? Not. Menu is extremely limited and everything is a special they may or may not have. Two starts are purely for the location...

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank jazah29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking a moment to write. We’re disappointed that your dinner with us was not as you had expected. We are proud to have fish and seafood delivered daily, and I am puzzled to hear that 24 appetizers, 15 main courses plus a daily specials were not a wide enough selection. Our goal is to provide each of our guests with an excellent dining experience, and we acknowledge your comments.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Great location and ambience. Sat on patio in wonderful weather with live music 1 relaxing and chill. Octopus appetizer was very tender and delicious. Also seafood risotto dish was fabulous.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank 121gabrielled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Gabrielle D,
Your kind letter has made our entire team very proud, and I thank you for taking time to write. It is rewarding to know that your evening was a memorable one. We appreciate your praise of so many aspects of your experience -- the only thing we can’t take credit for is the nice weather. Please come again, rain or shine.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2016

Great restaurant with fresh fish prepared in great sauces.the special that night was a whole Bronzino deboned served with basmati rice and spinach. So wonderful !

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Kew324
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for writing about your enjoyable dinner with us. Your observations emphasize that a well-prepared meal can be both healthful and delicious. Our accomplished Chef Kal is a master at bringing out the best flavors in everything, so I’ll take this opportunity to mention that our steaks are as delectable as our seafood offerings. Food for thought!
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2016

This restaurant is written up quite a bit, and the rave reviews are all true. The service was excellent. Great wine selection. Everything on the menu sounded so good was hard to make our choices. We started with the octopus appetizer. Was excellent, you must try! They always have dinner specials, so be sure to listen, as those are usually the better options. However, everything we had from appetizer to dessert was excellent Highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank indymacthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

Dear Guest,
Heartfelt thanks for your tremendously positive recommendation. Our whole team is beaming with pride at your generous praise, and you can be sure we’ll always uphold the high standards you’ve described so well. We’ll take care to keep our specials always superb, so that you will be equally pleased on your return visit.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.