We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary South Beach
Ranked #143 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Service, Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This newly-renovated property in South Beach is absolutely gorgeous. The guest rooms are comfortable and the staff is great. A quick walk from Lincoln Road and Washington Avenue; it was perfect for a quick weekend getaway. The only complaint I had was a very strong sulfuric smell in the shower. Other than that it was fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    271
    152
    98
    126
See reviews for
106
368
63
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

When it comes to booking a hotel, I'm incredibly picky. I like something that is quaint, close to the action, clean, safe, reasonably priced and comfortable. It's a tall order, to say the least.I found it all in this hotel. The service is absolutely impeccable, and the property is gorgeous. My boyfriend and I kept asking when we were going to move in. The room was incredibly clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The rooftop courtyard was incredible. We were the only people up there, so it was like our own private oasis. The staff is very friendly, ready to assist with any questions or concerns you might have. They offered excellent restaurant and bar recommendations, and held our luggage when we checked in and checked out. The property is in a really good location, just two blocks from the beach and two blocks from Lincoln Road. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omartorell, General Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thanks for the great feedback Megan. Our location, while slightly off the beaten path allows for a peaceful night sleep yet a block away from the buzz of South Beach. Being that your a local I hope we see your sooner than later for another get a away weekend.

All the best,
Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Great Hotel for extended stay or for an overnight or weekend get away!! My wife and I consider the hotel our Sanctuary from our kids!!!! This hotel is close enough to great night clubs, SOBE nightlife, and just far enough away to avoid the loud noise and chaos of the crowds. The hotel is well managed. Augusto and Juan met all our need with class and professionalism.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omartorell, General Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Great feebback JK. Feel free to contact us anytime you need you feel the need to recharge your batteries, we would love to continue to be your Sanctuary. Juan and Augusto truly make this property, through their many years with us they have been able to turn our loyal guest into friends. We hope to see again...weather has been amazing lately, hint hint.

Warm regards,
Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Family atmosphere! GREAT SERVICE!
Augusto made us feel VERY special!
Juan at front desk was amazing, and Tatiana is very nice as well.

The Manager, Oscar, is VERY attentive and Caring!

The House Restuarant, O LA is AWESOME!!!

Room Tip: Penthouse Spa!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omartorell, General Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thanks for the kudos Todd, I couldnt be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly enjoyed all that we have to offer. We hope to see you again next year for another Bday celebration.

Warm regards,
Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Sanctuary and i have to admit that i was a little worry after reading some of the reviews.
I most say all of my worries went away at the check in desk,the guy that checked me in was very helpful and polite,he pointed me in to all of the attractions and hot spots.
My room was very spacious and clean,one thing i notice that there are no views so if you are expecting nice nice views go elsewhere;Another thing i was told when i called the hotel was the parking situation, if you are not planning of leaving south beach area DO NOT rent a car,parking is really expensive and it's hard to find.
The rooftop are was really cool and relaxing,we spent most of our mornings and even some nights there during our stay.
The restaurant was also amazing,the food was absolutely delicious and the service was excellent.
Overall, this is a very nice place for it's price, awesome rooms and great customer service.
I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omartorell, General Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Marshall F. thank you for taking the time for writing a review on your stay with us. Indeed we are off the beaten path so do lack views but as you can attest we make up for in intimacy and great customer service. Couldn’t agree with you more too about not needing to rent a car, we are in the heart of South Beach and all that it has to offer is just a short stroll or a 2 min cab ride. I see you live close by in Marco Island, so hopefully it’s not too far until your next visit. Please do not hesitate to shot me an email for a preferred rate as a repeat guest.

All the best,
Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Return visitor to the Sanctuary and I have mixed feelings. Some of the staff is truly awesome - nice front desk personnel; great SPA receptionist - but then there's this: When you step in, the OLA host appear disgusted that you're there to check in and rudely point out that they have nothing to do with the hotel and can't answer a simple question (ie., room service question), because they're OLA and not Sanctuary. My other 2 concerns are that I asked for a decent room on the 2nd floor, but was given a nice room on the 1st floor, which I declined because even though it was almost 8pm, the diners at OlA were loud (and seated all the way back near the rooms). We took a smaller room just to be on the higher floor. In there, the tile needs recaulking; the humidity kept the bathroom door from closing; the toilet kept running; and even though I asked several people, noone could tell me how to turn on the steam shower. Our room also didn't have a stereo or the additional space in other rooms. Lastly, room service is pretty much not an option. You have to go with the continental breakfast or else. In over 5 visits to SOBE, I have yet to eat at the Sanctuary. I like the Sanctuary, especially in comparison to other hotels, but when I return in April, we'll probably book elsewhere. This hotel is 3 stars, just okay.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor, ask for the larger rooms with a stereo and working steam shower. Also behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omartorell, General Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I apologize for not having your request for a 2nd floor room noted in our system as well as your room issues you experienced, I assure you that this was an isolated incident and not a true representation of our brand. As for your issues with trying to order room service I will be sure to look into this matter as we do offer room service from 6pm-close. We would love to win you back as a loyal guest, please contact me at omartorell@meninhotels.com and I will be sure to handle your reservation and any request personally to ensure a memorable stay.

All the best,
Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
praha
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed in one of theese appartment for 4 days in february. The room was very, very dirty after 14 hours of flight I was not able to sleep due to the noisy A/C behind my head. Curtains dirty , smelling bathroom , and no natural light. It wasnt my first time in sobe so i was quite dissapointed . I would never go there again. They r able to make beautiful pictures. Be careful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vnd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omartorell, General Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We take the cleanliness and guest comfort as our top priority and will look into this matter with the outmost importance.

Warm regards,
Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cadet Hotel
#74 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Gates Hotel South Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#82 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Oceanside Hotel
#104 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary South Beach

Property: Sanctuary South Beach
Address: 1745 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7508
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Hotel is in an ideal South Beach setting for those who want to be away from it all but in the middle of it all. Our four star boutique hotel is located steps away from Collins Avenue, the Fillmore at Jackie Gleason Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, New World Symphony, Washington Ave., And Ocean Drive. Whether your trip is business or leisure our knowledgeable staffs will guide your South Beach experience and make sure that exceptional service is unlike any other Miami Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Sanctuary South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing