We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“too loud,stay away!we will never stay there again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Congress Hotel South Beach
Ranked #113 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“too loud,stay away!we will never stay there again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Unless you love ultra loud latin techno music pounding in your room until at least 2 AM, stay away!!! (we were on the third floor). We didn't sleep for three nights and we like to party. I requested a quieter room when I made the reservation and was assured to get one. Upon check in I was told there are no other rooms to move to and SOBE was booked. No customer service whatsoever except for the bell hop. What a nightmare.

Room Tip: stay away from the ocean front side of the buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear BrianH, my apologies we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. I do apologize the suite you were assigned had noise issues due to the vibrant lifestyle South Beach is known for. If you are planning on returning to the area in the future, please feel free to contact me so I can assign a quieter suite that is ideal for light sleepers.

Warm regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    374
    187
    142
    110
See reviews for
161
486
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I don't know where to start. Okay...first of all, it was the busiest weekend of the year on South Beach...the annual food and wine festival. When we had issues with our room (didn't get the one we reserved and paid for) we discovered that the young lady working alone at the front desk was a trainee, and that there was no manager on site. After we registered our complaint (in very strong terms) the manager (who was at home) called my wife on her cell phone and was unbelievably abusive to her, threatening to have us removed from the hotel.

We are experienced travelers and we've never encountered a situation like this, and have never, in any country in the world, been threatened in that way.

To continue, as painful as this is for me to write...everything about the hotel was inconvenient and uncomfortable. Our friends, who were supposed to have a room near us, were in another building, and, because of the way the security is set up, we couldn't go to their room...or them to ours. "Breakfast," which we were required to pay for as part of a "resort fee," was some disappointing dry cereal, yogurt, coffee, and toast served in the dreariest room imaginable. I could go on.

There are so many hotels on South Beach. Don't even consider staying at this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerryftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We regret to learn of the challenges during your 1 night stay. We are truly sorry we were not able accommodate you to another suite since we were fully committed. Our records indicate & confirm that you received the room type you requested.

Our staff & trainees are fully trained & dedicated to high end customer service. Regretfully, there were multiple instances where serious pressures were made against hotel staff , which caused safety concerns.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

was a bit skeptical based on some unfavourable reviews i have read in here, we checked on quite late on the 6th of Feb, check in was smooth, we got a partial sea view room which was quite big and because we were traveling with a baby, we needed a small kitchen, one or 2 hitches with the WIFI connection but it got sorted out quickly, first night, major fight in the next room, lots of screaming and yelling! not the hotel fault must point out! you don't know what types of guests you have, roof top pool was fantastic with a lovely view of South beach and Ocean drive, the staff at the hotel were really pleasant and always willing to help, people complain about the noise, if you want a more quiet location, then i guess one should stay in the hotels up 17th street like Loews, W or Ritz Carlton if you can afford it, rally enjoyed my stay and was very sad to leave back to London! will definitely consider the hotel again if i am traveling with my kid!! Hidden gem in Ocean drive must say, the roof top pool is worth the price and its quiet!

Room Tip: Partial sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djmarko1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We love the Congress Hotel!! My husband and I checked in late on a Saturday night during the Miami International Boat Show. Our room was fantastic!! Very modern with all the amenities you can think of!! We could hear the party from the Clevelander but who sleeps in Miami anyway! Just watch out at the parking garage!!! $26.00 per vehicle per 12 hours!! We will definitely make the Congress Hotel our regular stay when we are in South Beach!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building to avoid a little of the noise from the Clevelander.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryankay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

What a suprise in the middle of everything you really can't get any closer to the action. The price for the size of the room is amazing.
The beds are not that great they so need a matress pad but other than that it really is a good place. The staff are super friendly.
I got the best rate booking it online thru bookit.com as when I called they would not give me a discount. So book the room that way.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolfngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Many thanks for the fantastic across the board 5-star review of your stay with us!
Thanks again for the visit and we look forward to your return at the Congress Hotel South Beach!

Warm regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

What a gem of a hotel!

Yes - the layout is a little strane (it's 3 buildings acting as one hotel) and the name change from Strand to Congress confused both cab drivers we used (Hint: Ignore 1052 Ocean Drive - unless you drive on the pavement you'll never find it ... tell the cab driver it's near 1060, just south of 11th on Ocean)

We found all the reception staff (especially Daniel the Bell Boy) to be very helpful and checking in was a breeze ... we were even more pleased to be given an upgrade to an Ocean front suite in the Tropical building ...

Wow ... a great suite (301) with fantastic views over Ocean Drive and Lummus Park to the famous Miami Beach (where the hotel has an arrangment to provide you with sun loungers etc) ... a well equipped kitchen and a nicely stocked fridge (even the cost of the mini bar is reasonable considering the location) ... a huge bathroom with a great bath/shower combo ... seating & TV area with a nice leather sofa and a huge and seperate bedroom with a TV and a very comfortable bed (another hint ... the duvet hides the fact that the mattress is "sunk" into the frame - leaving about a 2 inch wooden frame hidden under the duvet ... it can give your shin a knock when you walk close to the bed) ... security safe and ample clothes storage ... and of course free wifi!

The lift (elevator) is slow and makes some very strange noises... but it does the job (although if you're in a hurry you may want to use the stairs!)

We spent a good few hours on the sun deck and pool area on top of the main 1052 building ... towels are provided and again the views over Ocean Drive and the beach are fantastic!

Some people have commented negatively over the breakfast arrangement with "The Kitchen" next door ... is it the best breakfast on Ocean? I don't know - we didn't feel the need to try anywhere else ... we found a reasonable choice within the $5.35 allowance and we could always pay a bit extra if we wanted more ...

We were almost disappointed to head off to the port for our cruise - but enjoyed the stay so much we enquired to see if we could get the same room for an extra night on our return. Sadly - the room wasn't available - but we were offered another in the main building on our return ... and this one turned out to be even better!

502 is a corner Ocean Suite ... and again has a super kitchen and bathroom, another lovely large comfortable bed in a seperate bedroom, a large lounge area with TV in both the lounge & bedroom and a "wrap around" balcony - again with fantastic views!

You do need to remember that you are right on one of Miami's most popular "party" streets .. it can get noisy and there was only single glazing in the windows facing the street ... there is some road and party go-er noise ... but you really are at the heart of everything that's good in the beach area ... so just live with it ... we got sone really good night's sleep despite the noise ...

Having looked at the layout of the buildings - it is pretty obvious that many rooms will look out over other buildings, car parks etc ... so do yourself a favour and spend a little more and try to get one of the ocean facing rooms

We looked extensively at different hotels on Ocean Drive and found the Congress to be responsive to our (extensive!) email questions ... we dealt with the hotel directly and I think we found exceptional value for money in this quirky but beautiful hotel

Thank you to everybody at The Congress for making our stay in Miami both comfortable and welcoming

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LloydyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thanks for the fantastic across the board 5-star review of your stay at the Congress Hotel South Beach!. Thanks also for the travel tips. It was great you were able to enjoy our many location attractions. Thanks again for the visit and we look forward to your return. Take care and warm regards

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel is located right on the beach, within walking distance of Lincoln Road, South Point Park, bike rental options, clubs, and restaurants. I would suggest exploring restaurant options other than on Ocean Drive though, as they tend to overcharge.

The rooms are amazing. The junior deluxe comes with a full kitchen - I'm not sure about others.

The hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful. They suggested activities, and they provide towels, chairs, and umbrellas on the beach.

The rooms facing Ocean Drive can get a little noisy, especially on Friday/Saturday nights, but it was not excessive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
A Big thank you for the fantastic 5-star review of your stay!
Thanks again for the visit and we look forward to your return!.

Warm regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#85 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#49 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#92 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Property: Congress Hotel South Beach
Address: 1052 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5014 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing