We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel, great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Congress Hotel South Beach
Ranked #112 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The hotel location is perfect. 1 minute walk to the beach, and their rooftop pool area was great with a fantastic view of the beach. The hotel had a dedicated area on the beach with sunbeds and beach towels.

The aparment was nice and spacy with a big comfortable bed. It was clean on the inside, but the balcony was littered with crisps and a sigarette butts. Also the windows were dirty.

We had two negative experinces with the front desk. Upon arrival we got a smaller and lower standard room than we paid for, but after some arguing we actually got our 1 bedroom apartment. On checkout it turned out that the depositum we paid to the agent was not received by hotel. Its not clear who's fault that was, but I would expect the hotel to do something to help us resolve the issue. But they where totally uninterressted and almost turned hostile. Not the best way to leave a good impression. Other than that the staff was very service minded and friendly during our stay.

The parking options were limited. The hotel offered valet parking at $35 pr day. There are local car rental outlets at south beach, so its probably a better option to rent a car on demand if you don't need a car every day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your recent experience at The Congress Hotel South Beach. I am sorry to hear your Travel agent did not make the proper arrangements on your behalf regarding payment and it created a less then perfect departure from the Hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next stay. I can be reached at : cbono@congresshotelsouthbeach.com

Warm Regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Congress Hotel South Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    374
    187
    142
    110
See reviews for
161
486
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Great place with great location. Friendly staff. Had 2 suites for 6 of us with great views of the ocean. Very accommodating thanks to GM, Claudio. Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short and not take advantage of the rooftop pool/bar and ocean since Sobe had torrential downpours in forecast. So we decided to stay last 2 nights in Key West. Only negative would be that carpet needs replacing. Put down tile and never worry about it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for the 4 Star ratings accross the board!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the cleanliness, the service and the location at The Congress Hotel South Beach, we pride ourselves to provide the best customer experience!

We are sorry to hear the weather was not cooperating and we hope to see you soon!
Warm Regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Congress Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here for 4 days 3 nights, I arrived at the hotel around 11 AM, They stored my luggage for me, They call me around 1pm letting me know that my room is ready, I'm amaze how wonderful that they let us checked in 3 hrs early, the hotel staff is very professional, the building is newly renovated, location you cant get any better than being in ocean drive, the room is clean and comfortable. nice modern bathroom, kitchenette, comfortable mattress, nice roof top pool and lounge, complimentary breakfast and free wifi. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanrfrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review ! I am so pleased to learn that during your visit the entire staff was nothing but helpful, friendly, and accommodating, which is of the utmost importance to us here on property. I am honored that a senior contributor took the time to write a review about the hotel and specifically highlighted how fantastic the customer service and cleanliness is in our Hotel.

Thank you for the 4 and 5 Star ratings ! We hope to see you real soon on your next trip to The Congress Hotel South Beach!.

Warm Regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte nc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

we received an upgrade upon checking in and got a huge balcony facing the ocean. Nice and clean hotel and loved our stay in South Beach. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for the 5 Star ratings accross the board!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the cleanliness, the service and the location at The Congress Hotel South Beach, we pride ourselves to provide the best customer experience!

We hope to see you soon!
Warm Regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

My fiancee and I stayed at the Congress April 10th-13th. The week leading up to our stay I was a ball breaker, first i asked for a certain room (room 502) then I wanted an early check-in. Whomever I spoke to was extremely nice and assured me they would do there best to accommodate us. We arrived at the hotel around 10am on the 10th knowing that check-in wasn't until 4. To our surprise we were told then only needed a little while for our room, so we went upstairs, used the bathroom to change, left our bags with Adrian (he's the man), and went to the beach. We got chairs, an umbrella and towels. Within 2 hours the front desk called me and informed us that our room was ready. We were in our room with our bags by 12pm. Unfortunately 502 was booked so they put us in 501. The room was awesome, clean and spacious, 2 big balconies overlooking Ocean Dr. The bed was comfortable and we never had any issues with noise. The pool area was always fun and the beach is gorgeous. Talk with Adrian about the nightlife, he'll hook you up with Sean who will definitely take care of you. We had awesome nights going out with him and he's parties. Bottom line we had an amazing time, not one complaint. I guess if your happy go lucky people like us everything works out well. So don't listen to all the negativity, those people probably walk around with pusses on there face 24/7

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review and the 5 star Rating! I am so pleased to learn that during your visit the entire staff was nothing but helpful, friendly, and accommodating, which is of the utmost importance to us here on property.

I will be sure to relay your feedback to the entire team to praise them for all their hard work. Thank you for mentioning cleanliness & service. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you real soon on your next trip to The Congress Hotel South Beach!.

Warm Regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Took a group of 9 for a 3 day business trip. Arrangements were made ahead of time with hotel GM, who stayed in touch before, during, and after the trip. Minor hassles were encountered but were always resolved promptly and overall for the price paid the property was a value. Noise level was loud but to be expected in this general area. Housekeeping was not bad but could be improved. Meeting space and pool were also great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your review and for being a returning guest.
We thank you for your feedback as it helps us improving our custumer service.

We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for staying at The Congress Hotel South Beach.

Warm Regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

we had partial ocean view reservation & were upgraded to ocean view (5th floor in building with the rooftop pool -- which was awesome) & it was AMAZING! Large King sized bedroom with balcony & main room had wrap around balcony with two futon-like couches that worked perfectly for 2 teen boys. Room was ready on arrival & we were able to stay at pool after checkout before leaving for our flight later in the evening. Yes, there is a $12.50pp resort fee, but you get cushioned beach chairs & towels set up for you on the beach & breakfast at the restaurant below. lemonade & cookies in lobby nice touch ;). Felt $35 valet parking was worth it (lots of traffic) -- quick "front door" service & everything is within walking distance from here anyway. would stay here again. Only negatives were: not a lot of lighting in the bathroom, and modern shower with curtain surround was gorgeous but not the most functional, and some inappropriate behavior near the pool involving 2 men & saw some men sleeping up there in the am -- just thinking they may want to "patrol" the area a bit more ;) (but since this was SoBe... ;))

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwhenIcan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congressmanagement, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review accross the board!!! We are honoured a Senior contributor provides constructive feedback. Regarding the pool area, please note that this was a very unusual event. The Congress Hotel have a 24-hour security presence on property.

We look forward to your return at The Congress Hotel South Beach!
Warm regards,

Claudio Bono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#48 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#92 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Property: Congress Hotel South Beach
Address: 1052 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5014 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing