We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, nice bartender”
Review of Clarke's - CLOSED

Clarke's
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Pointe
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not bad, nice bartender”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The food was good, a little high on the price but this is south beach. Good bartender, I think his name was Mickey from Galway.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryDecatur_ILUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I was quite excited about having dinner at this restaurant. I love "fish & chips" and order it whenever a restaurant offers it on the menu. This one was the worst. After the first bite, I realized they use tilapia as the "fish" - this was confirmed by the waitress. Traditionally, fish and chips at an English or Irish pub is made with cod fish. This one tasted "off" and tinny (tilapia is a cheap substitute for other quality fish). It was inedible. I shared a hamburger with one of the diners in my party. It was seriously undercooked - almost raw. On the plus side, the chili was very good. Another dish, thai chicken with basmati rice, was also quite tasty. I wanted to try the bread pudding, but passed, because of the other disappointments.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“COMFORT FOOD”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Clarke's is an Irish pub specializing in comfort food such as shepherd's pie and fish and chips, but they also have more sophisticated dishes. And in some seassons they have a lobster special one night a week that is a Must.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie33140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Fantastic cheeseburger and you must try the Irish Spring Rolls. Bar staff is very professional and pour generous drinks. Clean and consistent local hangout. Will be back soon.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Food. Less service. Fair value.”
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We ordered the Fish and Chips and the Chicken Pot Pie.

The atmosphere was locals combined with chain restaurant. It was sterile.

The food was good. Both meals were delicious. Just the right amount of food for the value. No Irish Soda bread though. :( The scone that came was delicious.

Staff were OK. Nothing amazing, nothing depressing.

Would we go again? Sure. It wasn't the typical Miami Beach experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing