We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better........”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #78 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could do better........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The tiny reception desk is overshadowed by the much larger bar area and not really appropriate given the amount of people there when I was trying to check in. Having said that, the young guy who checked me in was very polite and although they were having a few issues with the computer, quietly apologised for the delay.

There is nothing tremendously bad, or good, about this hotel just kind of middle of the road. It is certainly NOT a boutique hotel, as they describe it. You can't put a velvet lampshade and black curtains in a room and call it 'boutique'. Good location for the beach, as is any hotel on Collins Avenue. I did like the roof terrace though. Nice quiet place for a read, if there's no-one in the jacuzzi. Also a great 7-Eleven in the other direction (next street over) with cheap coffee and snacks! A Bank of America on that street too, which was useful for the ATM.

Given that there are so many hotels to choose from I would find somewhere else to stay next time, not because there was anything really awful about this one, but nothing that would make me definitely want to return.

Room Tip: As far away from the ground floor as possible. This is where the bar and loud music are in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esoteric_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Esoteric_Mind,

I am sorry to hear that you will not stay with us in the future and fee that our service could have been better during your stay. We hope that you will reconsider and come back to enjoy these amazing amenities that many other hotels do not offer: Uniguest Airline System in Hotel Lobby
(Confirm/Book/Change flights plus Print Boarding Passes), 300 count Mascioni Linens and Robes, Mini Bars and In-Room Safe, Stereo with CD player, Voice Mail, T-1 internet connection, Cable TV with Free Movie Channels, Free Wi-Fi, VIP Nightclub passes to the hottest venues in South Beach , Free Drinks from 7-8pm at the Safari Bar, and not to mention free airport shuttle. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    778
    406
    230
    368
See reviews for
326
804
273
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Would like to say we really enjoyed out stay at the Chesterfield. We arrived 3 hours before check in and got an upgrade to the new suites by the lovely Francesca who couldn't do enough for us our entire stay. I wish all the check in staff had been like that for our Florida trip. 5 stars.
I'm not sure what the rooms that had not been renovated were like but ours even had an outside sun deck with sun loungers ooh and nearly forgot we had a jacuzzi bath. Get the suites, great upgrade

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clangerstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Clangerstyle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do everything we can to give all of our guest an amazing experience. We will let Franchesca know how amazing your stay and how great your service experience was during your stay in April. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have been to Miami quite a few times and have stayed in a number of hotels so I hope this helps to put my review in context. We had initially booked for one night only to hedge ourselves due to one or two adverse comments on here.

HOW WRONG THEY ARE!! After the first night, we extended our stay for the whole duration of our vacation to Miami. This is an excellent hotel with great ambience that compliments the South Beach Experience. Has a really cool vibe to it.

The staff are very courteous and helpful and in particular the Front Desk personnel. Mr. Tavaris Jones deserves a particular mention for his proactive assistance and attitude to excellent customer service not only to us, but also having over-heard other guests’ comments whilst we were waiting in the lobby. This positivity continued even after the night shift change by two gentlemen whose names I cannot now recall. Darko the General Manager also enquires from guests about their stay and that show of care was present throughout the duration of our stay.

The rooms are very modern, chic and very clean. The hotel’s location is great and only a block away from the beach and great shops. Good WiFi connectivity in the lobby. Drinks are free during the Happy Hour and the airport shuttle makes life much easier getting to/from MIA.

Our overall experience was awesome, we highly recommend this hotel and will stay there whenever we return to Miami. Thanks Guys!


Adams, London, UK

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YabanTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Adams,

Thank you for writing an honest and great review. We take our reviews very seriously as do many of our guests. This is why we ask all of our guest to write about their experience. It is great to hear that you expended your stay solely based on your first day experience. It shows that we work hard to welcome everyone who stays with us and do everything possible to make their stay memorable. Thank you for mentioning the employees in your review, I am sure Darko and Tavaris will be thrilled to hear about your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again and giving you the same excellent service in the future.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

booked because it offered an airport shuttle for free as I only had a quick overnight stay. later found out it had such limited hours I had to pay another $64 round trip to get there and back!!
Will not return!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUFIDANCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Sufidance,

I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. I do not understand why there was a confusion about the times our shuttle leaves and arrives. These times are clearly on our website to avoid that specific issue. We are sorry that you did not see this information before your arrival but hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We absolutely loved and enjoyed our stay at the Chesterfield! Pedro A., thank you for always going above and beyond your call of duty. You and the rest of the Chesterfield crew are the best! The room was great, the atmosphere and location are phenomenal. Thank you for always making our stay the best. See you again very soon!!

Karina, Ada and Maria
March 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KARINA_GUERRERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Karina, Ada, Maria,

So glad to hear that our employee Pedro went above and beyond your expectations. He is truly an amazing asset to our company and we are pleased to have him. Our location is amazing for any guest visiting Miam Beach, thank you for pointing that out in your review. On behalf of the entire staff, we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Very small room (king size bed) felt like a closet; questionable decor (black curtains in the small room felt creepy); very noisy hotel. Good things: airport shuttle and location. Would not return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poumnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Poumnova!

Our hotel is described as Intmate, Hip, and Boutique Style on our website. I am sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. However, South Barch Group Hotels have several hotels, each meeting the needs and expectations of different travelers. If you are looking for quiet and larger room I recommend the Riviera, where we have apartment style rooms in a quieter part of Miami Beach. Take a look at the Riviera South Beach on our website. We look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our 4th year coming down to South Beach for WMC and this was one of the best hotels we've stayed at. We arrived early morning, but were able to leave our luggage and enjoy the day. We were nervous to leave our belongings behind, but they had them chained up so we were relaxed knowing they weren't going anywhere. Our original hotel was one on Ocean Drive, but a week before leaving for vacation I had checked TripAdvisors.com for recent reviews and was horrified to see pictures of a bedbug infestation. (Cavalier Hotel) We ended up re-booking a Jr. Suite at the Chesterfield because they were the only hotel able to accommodate our dates on such a short notice and within our budget. We were upgraded to a regular Suite since our original room still wasn't ready an hour after check in. The room was great... clean and modern and NO bedbugs or bugs of any sorts! The room was on the second floor on the back side of the building and we had our own terrace to share with two other rooms. If you can afford it, look into these rooms! Very nice! The resort fee is kinda silly, but at least we didn't have to pack our own beach towels and reuse them for a week. It was nice to have a fresh towel every day. And if you fly into Miami they have a complimentary airport shuttle which pays for its self with your resort fees. My only complaint would be that the hotel is noisy so if your a light sleeper request a room in the back! We were coming home at 3-4AM the the music was still going.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.6 km away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#84 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
0.1 km away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#66 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
7.3 km away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#110 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#75 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#91 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
7.4 km away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Property: Chesterfield Hotel
Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing