We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for price”
Review of Hotel Shelley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Shelley
Ranked #77 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I was in miami for my 26th bday and stayed at the Shelley Hotel. It was a great stay for the price. The hotel offers free shuttle to and from the miami international airport, free happy hour from 7-8pm every night, and other perks suck as VIP (front of line) passes to Miami's hottest clubs in south beach. THe hotel is in the perfect location on Collins avenue, one block away from Ocean's drive (Mangos), and 2 blocks from the beach (oceanfront.) Two blocks to the right of the hotel is the shopping..as far as service is concerned..management was wonderful and very helpful. All employees I came across were very friendly and helpful. THe only downside is the rooms are kind of small, yet nice. If you are going as a couple, its perfect. But if you go with a group of 3 or more, it can be cramped. But the ambiance is really nice. I would give this hotel a 4.5 ouf of 5. Tip...the hotel does charge $15 per day resort fees, but if you book (prepay) with expedia its all included in the price ;)

Room Tip: First floor is loud due to constant music playing in lobby and bar area being near by but if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

First let me start by saying "a resort fee" ? Are u kidding me?!? The room is tiny! Too say the least. Lighting is terrible. They only have lamps. Bathroom seat was broken. Tv had static. With all that being said. The price was good. BUT I rather pay more and not see roaches crawling around!!! Made my skin crawl ! Hopefully - I will not take any of these critters home with me!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StormyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Good Afternoon StormyL,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. Rest assure this is an isolated incident. We have addressed all necessary repairs. We look forward to your return.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I want to warn all visitors to South Beach to be careful and avoid making a reservation at
the Shelly Hotel until you make sure in writing that your quoted price is final.

After you arrived at this hotel, the clerk will slap you with a $16.95 hidden toll of resort reservation fee".

This hotel is not a resort, and it is foolish to classify this matchbox even as a 5th class sardine box. The hallways are as dark as the deepest pacific rift. This is an old barn in need of a shape up. I was very scared because if a fire broke out in that place, it is the perfect stage for
hell on earth very dark and spooky.

No parking is available $25 per 24hours.

When you add everything up :

Hotel Daily Cost + Resort Fee + Parking = OVER PRICED for this dump.

Room Tip: Find some pace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Good Afternoon Derby,

Thank You for taking the time to post your review. It seems as you were mislead from whomever you booked your room with. All of or partners are aware of the resort fee. We appreciate your response and hope for your return soon.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel one night because it was a sister hotel of the hotel we or ally wanted but was over booked for ne night. It was very similar with its accommodations, furnishings, and services like happy hour for free early each night. It was a little more busy than hotel Chelsea so happy hour was harder to get your drink but if you want to be surrounded by more people to meet new people it's good! The hotel staff was friendly and let us check in early and got is the room we wanted even though we booked through hotels.com which only allows requests. I prefer hotel Chelsea but I would book this place again if hotel Chelsea is booked up next time. I know a lot of people who stayed their entire trip here and had good comments. We on,y stayed one night but it was cheap and had everything we needed and it all worked out great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Good afternoon Brittany,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Shelley. We also have many other sister hotel which you may enjoy just as much. We hope to see you at anyone of our hotel in the near future.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

When we finally were settled in the room we were displeased to find out that the air conditioner did not work properly, the refridgerator did not work, the telephone did not work, and on top of that the toilet would back up after EVERY flush.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cattiv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Good Afternoon CattivO,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Rest assure this was an isolated incident. We have addressed these issues. We look forward to your return to enjoy the true Shelley experience.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hallway smelled liked pissed and the rooms are not for kids.There was all kind of brochures and stuff that should not have been out for kids to see.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toolittle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Good Day Toolittle,

We thank you for taking the time to post a review. It seems as there is some confusion as to promotional advertising left in our rooms. We do not allow any brochures, magazines or any advertising in our rooms as this has been a policy for many years now. Our hotels are family friendly and we would love to assist you in realizing this statement.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel is perfect for younger people. I travelled by my own but it was very easy to get in contact with other people. Especially the people working in the lobby, at the frontdesk and at the bar - you´re great at all! The service was excellent, the location of the hotel couldn´t be better and the value for money is justified.
I´m already looking forward to my next vacation in the Shelley hotel, hopefully in october:)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelarndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Hotel Shelley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Hi Isabelarndt,

It is always great to hear when a traveler is alone they can still feel at home. We are pleased to hear the staff was easy to connect with and helpful during your stay. We hope you can make it back in Oct.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#82 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,214 reviews
0.1 km away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#65 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,561 reviews
0.1 km away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#91 of 212 in Miami Beach
114 reviews
0.1 km away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#142 of 212 in Miami Beach
615 reviews
1.6 km away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#89 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelley

Address: 844 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $107 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shelley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shelley is product of a flawless marriage between comfort and affordability. Located just steps from the ocean, the Shelley is a favorite to travelers who enjoy an unpretentious atmosphere and prime location at a good price. Our vibe is chill. We're talking bathing suits and flip flops...all day long. The laid-back ambiance and gracious staff of the Shelley prove ideal to the casual traveler who's looking for a place where anything goes. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shelley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Hotel Miami Beach
Shelley Miami Beach
Hotel Shellys
Hotel Shelley Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing