We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)
US$275
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$250
US$217
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$388
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$335
US$324
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
US$273
US$246
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$198
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,950)
Filter reviews
4,950 results
Traveller rating
1,829
1,435
730
379
577
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,829
1,435
730
379
577
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolhappy hourmaxine buildingkung fusouth beachfree drinkssushi restaurantfree shuttlefree beach chairsbachelorette partylincoln roadocean driveart decodorsetmaxinesbartendermiami
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,898 - 2,903 of 4,950 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and were very happy with the overall experience. Food at both restaurants was good, two very different types of pools, beach access very close and within walking distance or a short cab ride to main strip. Staff were very friendly and shuttle from and to airport is an added bonus if traveling that way as a car seems to be more of an issue than a benefit with the parking situation all around the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Good Afternoon Glenn,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read. I am glad to read that you were happy with your stay! All of our guests that travel by plane love our R/T shuttle from Miami International Airport. You save $35, and who doesn't love to save money?? :) We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

First let me say that the room was ok, could do with a refurb but was clean. The shower was awful, hardly any pressure so it would take double the amount of time to have a normal shower!!! Also be aware that the hotel has three separate buildings, the main catalina hotel in the middle and another one to the right above a grill type restaurant and another called the Dorset to the left above a Sushi restaurant. This i find confusing to find our room!! The valet service was horrendous!!! we arrived and there was a guy there called James who had the personality of a doormat! totally unhelpful and did not care about looking after the hotels guests at all. When we was due to check out of the hotel we asked for a car and it took them over 45 minutes to get our car back! We was waiting outside the whole time thinking it would be fast btu instead took which felt like forever for the car to return! Please bare in mind that we got this horrendous service at the cost of $32 per night for valet! My advice is steer clear!! Also please be aware that this hotel makes it sound like they have a great position on the beach, which is ok but you only get 2 beds BUT not an umbrella! If you want this then it will cost you $15 on top of what you have already paid to stay in this shambles of a place!!

My advice would be don't bother and stay somewhere else! It ended up costing us nearly $500 for 2 nights including valet which if we never basically went mental at the reception we would of not got the valet charge refunded.

A valuable lesson learned here.......Pay the extra and stay somewhere with a much better star rating!

Good luck if you dare!!!

Room Tip: Rooms to the East look over Collins ave! As far as i could make out rooms everywhere else look into a courtyard onto each other, beware of open curtains as everyone opposite can see into your room!!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patch1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking your time to respond to us with your honest feedback! In regards to the valet service- I am going to personally speak with the company that we are using. Customer service is key and if he cannot provide that to our guests we need someone else there. I will make sure that this never happens again! About the beach chairs and umbrellas- that is included in the price of your $15 resort fee- which also includes, complimentary beach cruisers, complimentary wi-fi, complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM, R/T shuttle from Miami International Airport. and many other great amenities!!!! Each room gets 2 beach chairs and towels. If you wanted to rent the chairs from the beach it would cost you $30 for 2 beach chairs. Thank you so much again for your feedback!
Have a wonderful day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This very funky, upbeat hotel was perfect for our South Beach experience. The prices are great, the room was fantastic, the location was excellent and the restaurant was yummy. We stayed on the fourth floor with our own balcony over Collins Ave. Room was clean and the staff could not have been any nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amalfime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely glad to hear that you had a blast while staying with us!! We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed at the hotel 2 nights. Hotel is composed of 3 adjacent building and all looked hip and boutique style. The building's front were all restaurants and was a bit confusing how to approach the "lobby" in the beginning. wifi was included and was quick! The bamboo pool was cool and employees attentive. Our room was clean and modern looking. My favorites from staying at the hotel? cool bed frame, ultra-modern furnitures at lobby/room, bamboo pool, plastic surgery haven hanging at the hotel/pool/lobby areas! The bad....tiles on bathroom are very slippery when wet, very cute but small elevator, parking was only available to valet (no temporary parking for people to check in!

Room Tip: park at 16th and collins for overnight parking.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgreenthumb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback for all of our future guests to read! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Glad to hear that you were able to hang out by the pool and catch some rays with eye candy around you to look at! :) The valet service should allow you to park while checking- in! I have personally spoken with them to make sure that they are aware of that. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I travelled to Miami for the Cardinals/Marlins game. We used Priceline to get a room at Catalina for $120 a night. That doesn't factor in the ~$50/day that you'll pay for parking and "resort fee."

We tried to check-in early but our room wasn't ready. Was told that they'd call when ready. No call, so I called them and was told it was ready.

The hotel is 3 buildings. Our room was in the Maxibe building. We had to walk through a restaurant every time we wanted to enter/exit the hotel.

The wifi, part of the $15/day fee, was slower than 3G on my iPhone 4S.

The room was very strangely decorated. The bathroom was one big room - no separation on the shower. It reminded me of a locker room.

For breakfast, we got 2 muffins and a coffee from the bar in the lobby. We were charged a mandatory 18% gratuity for the bartender to do nothing more than take the muffins out of the case. Paid $10.

Later, during checkout, my wife went to the aforementioned bar to get us each a cup of water. She was told that she could only have one water, and I'd have to get my own when I was done checking out. Why? I already tipped her $2 that morning for nothing.

The bed and pools were the only redeeming qualities.

Overall, our trip to Miami was a let-down, largely in part to Catalina.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinareviews, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Good Afternoon Scott,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! In regards to parking, there are several different places to park- besides the hotel. Our valet service is $32 per night with as many in's and out's as you'd like. There is street parking for $1.00 per hour. There are also parking lots and garages all around the hotel and their prices vary between $10-$40 without any in's and out's. The front desk attendant should have called you on the number that you provided them when the room was ready. Perhaps the number that was given to them was incorrect. I have personally spoken with the front desk manager so they can make sure that all front desk attendants are doing there jobs. We were experiencing issues with the internet that was out of our control. AT&T was out to fix it and the internet is running great now. I would love to offer you a complimentary 1 night stay to use in the future so that you can come back and experience The Catalina without any issues or inconveniences. Please let me know if you would like to take that offer by contacting me directly at: catalinamarketing@southbeachgroup.com.

Have a wonderful day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews