We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clevelander South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I will definitely stay in Clevelander again. The location on SoBe is perfect; the beache is right in front of the hotel and numerous restaurants and bars within a walking distance. In fact, Clevelander itself is has a nightclub and music is played in the outdoors bar until early morning hours. If you don't want to party until the morning, book a room on the other side of the building. Be sure to check the sun deck on the top of the building, you'll have a great view over the Ocean Boulevard and the beach. Last but by no means least; the hotel staff was very friendly and they took really good care of us from the beginning until the last minutes of our stay. I do recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank US_explorer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    344
    114
    43
    62
See reviews for
63
368
64
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My friend and I chose this hotel for location. When we 1st arrived we were greeted with a pina colada *thumbs up*. Our smiles turned to frowns when we could not check into our hotel (even though the room had been fully paid for) because even though the reservation was in my name..my husband had paid for our room on his card and was not present. It was a nightmare!!! Here we are hours away from home with our bags and unable to check in our room!! To make it worst the lady at the desk seemed to not even care. We were given an option to pay an extra cash deposit in order to check in. We went to our room and was disappointed again. We booked an ocean view room and was not given that. Not only that the room looked like a college dorm! We complained and was immediately moved to a different room. The events that followed turned our trip around. After we got over the small dorm like room we took a tour around the hotel. The roof top!! AAAAAA++++! It was beautiful and so relaxing. The food was great although they need to update the menus in the room and the kitchen. We had a slight room service issue when we were charged a price different that what our room menu listed. The club outside is always jumping and playing great music. The drinks were great! The noise really wasnt that bad. Location PERFECT! Oh there is only one elevator and there is often a line :-/ .The highlight of our trip were people like the elevator guys..housekeeping..room service..I wish i could remember all of their names but they went over and beyond for us! They made our stay the most memorable. The guy at concierge hooked us up with passes to get in 3 clubs our final night. The guys who worked the front desk at check out i will forever be indebted to them. As I was checking out I asked the guy to pull my flight info. After he did it he questioned why we hadn't left yet..i looked at him puzzled because I thought my flight left in like hr and half..I was mistaken..my flight was scheduled to leave in 30 min. The staff automatically went into action..while one guy was checking me out..another was handling my flight stuff..another was calling a cab and headed to my room to help bring our stuff down. They practically threw us in a cab lol in order to help us. Thanks to them we did not miss our flight. Even though our trip started out rocky the customer service we received saved the day. We will be staying again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrice383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clevelander South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Hi Katrice,

Thank you for your review of The Clevelander! We are sorry to hear about the initial trouble with checking into your room. Please understand we have certain policies in place to protect our guests. We are glad that you were able to clear up the misunderstanding and go on to have a wonderful stay with us. We are thrilled that our front desk associates were able to turn your experience around! We are proud to have such a professional team of associates that add to the South Beach experience! We look forward to making your next stay with us as memorable as your last.

Best,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Clevelander, however if you are thinking of booking here there are some things you should know.

The Good:

We arrived at the hotel and we had booked an ocean view room, they had no more of these rooms so we were upgraded to a Rockstar Suit free of charge... The room was amazing, really great view. The staff were really friendly and the food and service were as you would expect.

The Bad:

Entering the room there were complimentary ear plugs on the bed... you will need these if you want to sleep at night, the music from the club is so loud the whole room shakes, in particular the bathroom would shudder every time the bass in a song kicked in... this goes on till 5:30am.

The music... if you like Black Eyed Peas , Usher etc you will probably like it here.. these artists were played on a constant loop for our weeks stay.

Overall I enjoyed my stay here, but if you are wanting to chill out, this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the nightclub as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wilmslow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clevelander South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
The Clevelander has long been an iconic destination for South Beach style nightlife. We are proud to present live entertainment 7 days a week, 365 days a year! We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the playlist during your stay! Our DJ’s on the Pool+Patio try and cater to the crowd on property, and I guess we had some Black Eyed Peas and Usher super fans that weekend. The Clevelander is truly a party all the time, but if you want something a little quieter, we highly recommend sister hotel Essex House. Essex House offers the same great service and comfortable rooms you enjoyed at The Clevelander, as well as access to the party, but isn’t right in the middle of the music.

Thank you for your review of The Clevelander! We hope that we can host you at Essex House on your next visit to Miami!

Thank you,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a great time at The Clevelander. They should have told us when we made the reservations that the music would come banging through our walls until 5:30 am!!! We checked at the desk for earplugs, but they were out, they told us. The food was great, the service was awesome, the drinks were cold and strong...we'll be back, just not to stay the night!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the far side, away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moorefun10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clevelander South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your review of The Clevelander! For a quieter hotel stay, we recommend booking a room around the corner at Essex House, our sister hotel. Essex House has a much more peaceful atmosphere, and guests can still access all the amenities you enjoyed at The Clevelander. Hope you can visit again for some good food and cold drinks!

Best,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander & Essex House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great Hotel in a great location, wouldnt expect anything less from Miami Beach Nightlife

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

For the 48 hours we spent in South Beach, we couldn't have been happier at any other establishment. Chad took care of us from the minute we got there until the moment we left. Great service; great location; great food; great fun. When I return next year, I won't even think about booking elsewhere.

Clevelander rocks.

Room Tip: The Rock Star Suites were very cool. Totally unusual (epoxy floors throughout), but very cool. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have been to South Beach several times of the last couple of months, staying in different hotels on every trip. After staying at the Clevelander I will not stay anywhere in South Beach going forward. I came to party and it lived up as described and they straight up delivered above and beyond my expectations. The Saturday afternoon pool party followed by a roof top bar was brilliant move. I was a hater of King James, after staying at the Clevelander I why Bron Bron took his talents to South Beach!

Room Tip: 5th floor....I had a perfect view of the party and a little beach action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClevelanderMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clevelander South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for your review of The Clevelander! We truly are the center of it all on South Beach, and we are happy to hear that our non-stop entertainment lived up to expectations. We hope you can make it out to visit us again this year. We will keep the beer cold until then!

Best,

Kelsey Jones
Clevelander Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Essex House
Essex House
#49 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.2 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.3 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#50 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.1 km away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#124 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clevelander South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelander South Beach Hotel

Property: Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Address: 1020 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clevelander South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clevelander brings an adult playground experience to Miami Beach being the only legendary party hotel. A 70-year tradition of fun is enhanced more than ever thanks to a complete renovation of its boutique hotel featuring 60 cozy rooms, Rock Star Suites, ground floor poolside bars, Game On Sports Bar, C-Level Rooftop Terrace and SPF4 Sundeck. Clevelander is known for being at the center of it all on South Beach in the middle of the famous Ocean Drive. Clevelander is a full service nightlife venue featuring live entertainment 7 days a week. Clevelander is famous for epic bachelor, bachelorette, holiday, and birthday parties.Clevelander is a large and versatile venue hosting groups for corporate meetings up to 1000 guests. Clevelander Hotel accepts Bitcoin currency for all products and services on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clevelander South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelander Miami Beach
Clevelander South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing