We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 nights at the Colony hotel Miami beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #170 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3 nights at the Colony hotel Miami beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Fantastic setting and location. Building is dated inside as you would expect it to be really. Our room for the three nights was a delux. It was quite basic really. Small dimensions, good space for hanging clothes and storage. Strange thing is it had a really large flat screen tv which seemed odd when the bedroom w lacking a mirror! Good air condition and a ceiling fan kept the room comfortable. Bathroom was small and needed some TLC as the ceiling was showing signs of damp patches and some of the tile grouting was starting to go black. The bathroom could also have done with some more storage as it only had a single shelf which was well stocked with hotel brand toiletries. All windows had venetian blinds which didn't full keep,the lit out. But for its limitations we really enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Go for one over looking Ocean drive if you don't mind th noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackcountryblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay but we would like to address the issues regarding the room you used, it would be of great help if you could send an email to carrie@colonymiami.com (at your earliest convenience) and advise us which you room you stayed in to make sure we correct all of the things you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    263
    247
    141
    170
See reviews for
148
383
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shinnston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our second trip to Ocean Drive. This hotel was absolutely amazing and beautiful. I loved the art deco style. This hotel is located in a great location on Ocean Drive just seconds from the beach and all the local restraunts and bars. This hotel did not disappoint. Once we arrived we walked in and were immediately greated with awesome staff who catered to us immediately. We had our car valet parked and felt very safe leaving it with the attendants. The lift elevator was amazing with the old school pull open door and cage. The rooms were super clean with dark brown hardwood floors; a tad bit small but still giving 5 stars :) Our room was very quiet and perfect for our stay here. I am definitely planning on staying again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsrichards2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for the kind words, most interestingly the elevator, most people find it "spooky" or tired!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my first trip to Miami and I just had to stay in an art deco hotel in South Beach. If your looking for a normal hotel stay this isn't the hotel for you. I am a movie buff and I wanted a bit of history and a cliche stay on how I have precieved South Beach to be and Colony didn't dissapoint me!

We arrived at night and it was all lit up. As you got out of the cab latino music was playing from the restaurant out front which instantly put a smile on my face... I have arrived!!

The lift/elevator is a small one. Old school with the swing open door and cage, which I loved BUT is annoying because if someone has not closed the door properly on one of the floors it won't work. Lucky the hotel is only 3 or 4 floors high so no big deal. The only other complaint I would have was the key to our room deactivated everyday, so we found ourselves having to go to the desk everyday to fix this.

The room was lovely. Wood floor boards. We had a ceiling fan and air con. Plenty of storage spaces to unpack (we were there for 5 days). And a really big fridge you can stock yourself. Our room window's looked over the roof of Johnny Rockets next door. This didn't bother me at all as it was very quiet. Couldn't hear any music, noise or traffic from Ocean dr. I think it was room 357.

The location was great. I attended a convention at American Airlines Arena which was only a $10 cab fare away as was the cruise terminal. Heaps of places to eat on Ocean dr and the beach was across the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
We are very pleased to hear you had a great time, and also your appreciation of all the history of not only the hotel but the area in general. We do apologize regarding the room keys, they are very sensitive and de-program easily when put next to credit cards and/or magnets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa rica
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

If you're looking for a great location, you couldn't do much better. The hotel itself is basic. Nothing too fancy, but they manage to get the job done with a clean room and comfortable bed. I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesieinhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you the comments, hope that you come back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
182 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

It was our second stay at this hotel. Chosen for the location and price. The rooms are well appointed and the overall looks of the place are satisfactory.
The hot water works (if it works) in a funny way. We were told that their pipe systems are weird and that although for the rooms on the ground floor the tap mechanism/systems are normal in our room it was indeed tricky to get the hot water flowing (three people came into the room until someone could actually operate it) They gave us a credit of $ 50.00 USD for the inconvenience which we were really grateful for.
The blinds in the room are no such thing and the light comes into the room from the very early hours of the morning. If you have issues with light and you do not like using masks to cover your eyes, do NOT stay here.
For all others, this hotel is nice, centrally located, cheaper than the rest of the area and service is very friendly. It is a normal hotel but very reasonable in all services provided.
If you book an excursion at their reception, please be aware that they are not responsible for anything. We had a MAJOR issue with an excursion to Orlando and they would only tell us to go chase the receptionist who had been working when we bought it. Part of the money you would pay would go to the person selling it and part to the organizer. VERY unfortunate structure. When we booked, we did it at the hotel because we felt reassured by the fact that it was bought at the reception. As a result we ended up stranded in a highway for 7 hours until 4 in the morning. This resulted in our being able to use the room for about 5 hours in total for which we got, of course, no compensation.
Also, if you buy food at the bar, be careful with your credit card. It is the second time this has happened to us here that they place two payments in your card, one without tip and the second one with tip. Watch out!
If this is helpful... let me know!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dacarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Mr. Carr,

Please contact me (Eddie) at sales@thekenthotel.com, I would like to speak to you about certain details regarding the booking of your excursion so that the hotel can have the opportunity to properly investigate what occurred with the tour company and see what can be done for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel in January 2012, and loved the location! The Art Deco experience was the coolest! Close to beach, bars, restaurants...the staff was super helpful and very friendly! So much history! The room was renovated, very clean and comfortable...
Canadian Traveller

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for the kind words, hope you come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at the Colony hotel for one night because the next day we were leaving for a cruise. We wanted something directly on Ocean Dr but also budget friendly. I didn't have high expectations so I was not unsatisfied. The staff was friendly. The room was very average. Other guests were very loud in the middle of the night. This hotel is good for a one night stay but if I was booking a longer vacation on South Beach I would chose a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Latricebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest, we are dissapointed to hear that in your eyes we are a "below average hotel", but we would like to hear your comments and suggestions on what we could do to improve the hotel, to a point where you would prefer to come back and stay with us again, if you have the time please send me (Eddie Nunez - Sales Manager) your comments or suggestions to sales@thekenthotel.com, the more feedback we can get from guests the more likely we can improve our product by directly incorporating your suggestions and ideas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#166 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 km away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#189 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#103 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
0.0 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#50 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach
The Colony Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing