We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #170 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed @ the Colony March 30th & 31st, 2 night pre cruise stay. Our 1st impression walking in was it was so clean. We were about 2 hours early checking in & Carlos was wonderful. He kept our luggage & suggested lunch. There were 6 of us, had 2 rooms & a lot of luggage. We took his suggestion & when we came back both rooms were ready. The rooms are small but we are cruisers so it did not bother us. We were in South Beach & new we would not be in the room much. We were there for the location & So Be experience,
The rooms were so clean. Housekeeping really keeps the hotel up well. There is so much to see in the area & we felt safe. We walked to South Point to see the ships leave, walked the beach & of course Ocean Drive!!
The hotel offers breakfast ($5.75 pp) but next to the hotel is Johnny Rockets. Johnny Rockets has a $1.99 special, they may not have the banner up but it was perfect for us. Just ask them. It even includes coffee or OJ (pancake, egg, sausauge or bacon with drink). Our 1st breakfast was $70 for 6 our second breakfast came to $14 after hearing about the special. Huge difference.
Be ready to pay for drinks. Be cautious of buy 1 get 1 free. I spent $25 for my Corona on Ocean Drive. Our $10 pp lunch became very expensive. If you forget anything there is a Walgreeens on 5th street. Less than a 5 minute walk.
We would stay here again, no doubt. Unfortunately there is no pool but you can not beat the value here. Talk to the staff @ check in get the inside scoop.

Room Tip: Johnny Rockets for breakfast next door. They open @ 9am & ask for the $1.99 special!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2peaches_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for the good review, very helpful tips on dining as well, I'm shocked to hear about your $25 Corona, please let us know in the future where it was purchased so everyone else can avoid it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
There are newer reviews for The Colony Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Art Deco District in South Beach has no shortage of boutique hotel properties that all seem to look the same from the outside as you walk-up Ocean Avenue - The Colony, which is on the south end of South Beach, was a surprising discovery. The lobby is right out of the 30's and one can just imagine a room full of beautiful people in their conservative beach clothes of the era. There's a great bar/restaurant in the lobby, the service staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful and the beach is a short walk across the park! The rooms are reasonably sized and appear to have been updated within a few years period of time. All in all it was a comfortable room with a modernized period bathroom, flat screen tv and a good closet.
Valet parking is $22/night

Room Tip: Eooms in the back of the hotel are quieter than those right on Ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joepure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for the great review, you really know how to create a scene for anyone reading your writing, bravo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Love the art deco district and this hotel is an art deco gem. Room was clean, updated and stylish. Very very affordable, the front desk manager was more than accommodating. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review, we hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Great location, not sure about going back to this hotel, the elevator was broken we had to take our luggage all the way down using tha stairs, no help at all... The room was ok.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Juan, We are so sorry the elevator was not working, it was strictly bad luck that it was down during your stay as the elevator typically works year round without any issue, we apologize for any inconvenience that it caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed one night here, post cruise. It is in a great location with easy beach access and many things within walking distance. I think the overall opinion is influenced by how much paid - we were there on a more expensive night, therefore, not as impressed. As it is an older building, some allowances are made in forming opinions, but the rooms were small (basically was the 2 beds and that was it), with poor lighting, yet huge TVs. Shower/bathroom had no useable shelves, so it was quite a juggle in there getting ready. Air conditioning unit was right next to my bed, and not particularly quiet. Staff was able to store our luggage after an early arrival. Only other tip for the strip is to catch lunch at one of the sidewalk spots - most had some type of lunch special. Simply overpriced for dinner, head a few blocks inland for other options.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Guest, we can relate to the varying prices at South Beach, simply put if you are coming in a busy weekend (High Season runs between late December until early May) you will most likely be overpaying for a hotel, regardless of the property you choose to stay in, South Beach gets much more demand than what they can supply, hence why some people feel that it is overpriced, at certain times of the year, the bottom line is that it is overpriced. At the other end of the spectrum, the summer months (June through early December) there are amazing deals to be had, sometimes rooms can be cheaper on South Beach than in mainland Miami. Your observation about Dinner prices is spot on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Nice hotel in a good location.

Rooms clean but small and front of house are very helpfull though the people outside trying to get you to eat there are not great.

close to all things that make Miami Beach, shops around the corner, bars right next door and the beach over the road

Room Tip: hire a bike for $5 for a hour and cycle along the prom
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeadforthesunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for the great review, as locals we can completely sympathize with the "persistent" host/hostesses found all over Ocean Drive trying to get you to eat at their restaurants!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Colony, and I could not have been more satisfied with my stay. The rooms were in great condition, the staff was amazing, and Harold at the front desk was very helpful. He was able to provide us with info on the area, places to eat and shop, and he certainly made our stay more enjoyable. I will be returning in May on a girls trip for my birthday, and again in June for another girls trip. I will certainly stay at the Colony for both of my upcoming trips as the hotel is located right on South Beach, across the beach and near all the entertainment one could possibly want. Look no further, this is THE place to stay when coming to Miami!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you Karim for the great review, it is always good to hear positive comments about the staff and our establishment, we hope to continue to provide you with exceptional lodging at more than reasonable rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#194 of 210 in Miami Beach
770 reviews
0.0 km away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#183 of 210 in Miami Beach
526 reviews
0.1 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#117 of 210 in Miami Beach
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#100 of 210 in Miami Beach
888 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,188 reviews
0.0 km away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#58 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $122 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach
The Colony Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing