We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a long weekend getaway to this magnificent hotel. From the first breathtaking moment we walked into the dark wood lobby with its flowing white ceiling to floor curtains, I knew a this was going to be an unforgettable visit. With the exception of a green apple mounted on its perch at the entrance, our room was white ( floor included) with only a hint of random gray. The bar, the very tall padded headboard, the walls were white. The bathroom was marble ceiling to floor. Whimsical, eclectic furnishings abound in the hotel lobby and bars. The pool was quite a happening spot, complete with a DJ. Mother's Day brunch was delicious. The staff makes every effort to accommodate and please. We are already planning our next trip to this iconic hotel. Jimmy, bartender in the Rose Bar, was the best by far. He is so energetic and has a truly magnetic personality.
x

Room Tip: Ocean front is great but if you need a quieter ambiance, the music from the pool may disturb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback!

Your description of our property is spot on. Ambiance combined with world class service make for a perfect getaway and I'm glad you experienced the best of what we have to offer.
I will certainly pass along your appreciation to Jimmy, we love to hear when specific members of our team have an impact.

Always feel free to reach out to me personally the next time your travels bring you to Miami, I'm happy to handle your arrangements.

See you soon!
Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    548
    223
    144
    117
See reviews for
248
970
129
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

After much research and consideration, we chose the Delano for the initial 3 nights in Miami of a 10 day milestone birthday celebration my husband arranged for me. From the incredibly warm welcome to the amazing room, pool area, food and dining recommendation/booking, this experience turned out to be the highlight of my birthday adventure. We cannot thank Lee Greenspan (guest experience mgr) enough for the thoughtful attention to detail he organized for our stay and his kind hospitality and genuine interest in ensuring our needs were met throughout our stay. Good friends surprised me staying at the Delano too, and we all just loved the whole experience. This hotel has a very cool and hip vibe which was such fun! In fact, we are flying back early to enjoy one more day a half at the Delano to close off this special occasion before returning home. Thanks for the memories Delano... We (and our friends) have definitly added Delano to our fun destinations list (we all travel a great deal... In fact met living abroad). Always great to find wonderful places like this!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Hello John and Judy,

It was a pleasure to have helped plan and execute this milestone vacation... Now that you've acquanted yourselves with Delano and all of the additional offerings on Miami Beach, I hope this is a new and long term getaway location for you. It was a pleasure having you and I'll look forward to many returns!

Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maimi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Once again i've returned from my Miami visit, once again i write that the Delano hotel is like an old trusted friend. last time i visited the property they were just starting to upgrade blue door, which is now "Bianca" the pool area. I was really considered at the property is so Iconic that trying to upgrade it could back fire and leave the property unrecognizable to those of us that have enjoyed it as it was for all these years. Well, take it from me a harsh critic of change, "they got it right" the property has a freshness about it now, that was missing the new staff has blinded in perfectly with the ones that have been there for years, like a smooth mojito it just seemed to have worked out. Give the property a try, and if you can book yourself into a pool side cabana...well worth the extra cost! Oh FDR has replaced the old Florida room, Awesome place to see high profile people enjoying themselves!

Room Tip: try to avoid the city view, ask for a ocean / pool view and if you can spend the extra for a pool si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lscott5191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have been in the hotel lobby and bar in years past, but never stayed here until this visit. I knew what to exspect, as far as the price of everything including drinks, and food. I have to say that it was very delightful, and all the help couldn't have been any nicer to my wife and I. The gym was nice and clean and had all the latest machines. We where upgraded to a larger room which was totaly unexpected, and was much larger and clean with a fantasic large overhead shower.... Maid service was fantasic and came each morning around 10:00...like clock work !...It is expensive but worth the money if you are looking for all the glamour. There is no better pool area in South Beach , and I have stayed at them all.....Sal

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sal911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Public Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Sal,

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear that you finally had the chance to stay with us. I will certainly pass along your kind words to all of the team members mentioned. Delano prides itself on service first, and it's great to see that you were able to experience first hand what our incredible staff has to offer.

Many Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I am a frequent return guest at Delano, South Beach ever since seeing the raving reviews on the Travel Channel 3 years ago. I used to travel to the Caribbean regularly each year, but now that I have found my sanctuary at Delano, this is the place for me. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Miami. The hotel is absolutely breathtakingly fabulous, from the extraordinary front lobby, with its towering flowing white draperies, and fine decor. (and also multiple various types of social areas and eateries including Umi Sushi to the Rose Bar and of course, the infamous FDR and the Delano Beach Club. ) The new Bianca restraunt, which boasts a lovely menu of fine authentic Italian cuisine is amazing. One must try the Trufflle Tagliatelle, the Salmon Carpaccio, the Petite Filet Mignon, the Heirloom tomatoe salad with goat cheese, and the Burrata with prosciutto
The Delano's accommodations are luxurious, chic and gloriously comfortable with pure white decor accented with Carrera marble and beveled glass. A feeling of decadent, opulent and profoundly appealing aura's exist in every area of this iconic landmark. Consistently, the staff demonstrates the utmost in world class customer care and In maintainance of this exceptional property. They deliver individualized customer service that is most certainly second to none ! The hotel is situated perfectly on South Beach , contains an enormous beautiful infinity pool, and is within easy walking distances to Lincoln road and multiple varieties shops and restraunts. But honestly, you really don't even need to leave the property. It is an entirely self-contained haven of delicious experiences, whether you wish to relax, or socialize and have some real fun. Most importantly, the staff is what makes this place tick.....Lee Greenspan (Guest Experience Manager) and Steven Hiblum (General Manager) along with Nicolas Black are the profoundly talented energies behind this very well managed property. Professional, thorough and yet friendly and interesting, they are amazingly knowledgable in 'all things Delano' and in any South Beach visitors' possible information/needs. The outstanding customer service that these distinguished guys consistently deliver, continues to amaze this well travelled gal. They remember details and preferences that make the guest feel like they are royalty. All this while being naturally personable and fun when appropriate. Other worthy notable staff members are Carlos, Stacy, Jose and Sam up front- efficient , helpful , with good forethought regarding anticipating guests needs. Soledad, Diego and Lorena at poolside and security have an impressive work ethic, and are fun to be around. Alvina in housekeeping goes the extra mile for her guests. Lastly, the fabulous Agua Spa at the penthouse level: Laura, Steven and Aida are the most amazingly talented people I have had the pleasure of working with, in an Impressively upscale spa setting, THE BEST EVER - Wonderful customized care. Come to Delano- learn what I have come to know and love. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Public Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Well DJA...

What can I say? It is always a pleasure having you with us and it is always a treat when the team here gets such positive and detailed recognition. During the busiest times at Delano, we will often overlook the actual impact that we have on our guests every day. Thank you for putting into perspective just how important great service and a smile truly is. Feedback such as yours as well as your positive, friendly attitude make us proud to maintain a world class hotel. In addition to your observations, I must say that I couldn't be more pleased and proud to work with this wonderful group of people.. Truly something every traveler deserves to experience.

Many Thanks... See you soon!

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

The minute you walk into the hotel, you feel you have entered somewhere special. A friend resembled it to stepping into an Alice in Wonderland movie set. Beautiful dark wood flooring, with huge white pillars lining the hotel's corrior from the entrance to the Garden, with oversized mirrors, funky chairs, a bar, and a Japanese restaurant, and a billiard table along the way.

The main restaurant overlooks the garden and pool area, and had consistenly good Italian themed food, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The service howvever was somewhat patchy and awkward, especially at dinner. The entire staff need to be re-trained and stiffened up. A word of praise here is due for Monica from Napoli for her excellent service and courtesy during breakfast.

The highlight is the Pool bar, that is buzzing around the clock, chill out music, and serviced by a very friendly and professional staff. Special Thanks to Bernie for his tips on Gin, and Jeremy for lending us his insecticide before we set off to the Everlglades.

We visited The FDR club twice. The first time on a Saturday was great. Good music, packed with beautiful people, and very friendly staff. Monday night was supposed to be THE time to visit with a Live DJ, and it was awful, owing in large part to the thumping Hip Hop that burst our ears and deadened our senses. Pffffff..

We did have a problem upon checking in. We had booked a beach view room, and upon check in we were told that our room was reserved and will only be available 2 days later. We were downgraded to a city view room and were credited for $150. A bit unprofessional as I have never had that experience anywhere else.

Lastly if you need any help at all with bookings in Miami Beach, you need only check with Willie, who is at the Conceirge desk. He is extremely helpful and knowledgable, always with a ready smile on his face. Avoid the other guy (!).

Overall, if you are going to Miami Beach for a bot of pazzazz and fun, I would definitely recommend Delano.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianThunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

i stayed here with a few friends for a girls weekend. I would never come back! room is small and dirty. everything is white, but they don't clean very well so it just looks dirty. there was hair all over our floor, the bathroom is tiny and don't get me started on the pool. it's a tiny little pool and unless you go down at 6am you won't get a chair. I've stayed at the lowe's, fontain blue and mandarin oriental and would never come back here. the only upside to this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYCtravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
SLS South Beach
#34 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#43 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami
Delano South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing