We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My friend and I always plan our yearly girls weekend (10 yrs and counting), this year our destination was Mt. Dora. Grandview was definitely our all time favorite B & B. Patti and Gordy treat you like family, the good kind! We enjoyed their very delicious breakfasts, evening wine and cheese, the other guests, and our delightful chats with both Patti and Gordy. The location is perfect to walk to downtown. We walked to dinner (highly recommend the Goblin Restaurant) every evening enjoying the charming neighborhood and views of the lake. Mt. Dora is an amazing charming town - another recommendation is the Segaway tours...what a blast. My friend and I decided to break tradition for next year's trip - we booked our trip with Patti to return again next year...was just a perfect get away. Thank you to Patti and Gordy for treating us like friends!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darftl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was our first trip to Mount Dora, and we were thrilled with our decision to stay at Grandview. The property is lovely, inside and out. We stayed in #5 which is away from the main house, has it's own entrance and small patio area. The bath has a very large shower. Others guests were returnees who had enjoyed the Grandview on earlier visits, which is always a good sign! The breakfasts were hearty and homemade. Guests were served wine and cheese trays on the grand front porch in the afternoons. Patti and Gordy are excellent hosts, offering helpful information about local restaurants, etc. It is no wonder so many guests return to Grandview - it is truly an exceptional treat!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have been visiting Mt. Dora for antique festivals as well as just for get aways and have stayed at a variety of places, i.e. hotels and b&b's. the Grandview is by far the best! We have already booked to return next year...I need look no further. Patti & Gordy were the perfect hosts. The room was clean, comfy and inviting just as was the house and the other guests. We were 4 girls traveling and we stayed in the Windmill cottage....excellent choice for us. Big breakfasts, warm and friendly greetings and fond farewells. You will not be sorry if you choose the Grandview.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherieshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Patti & Gordy, the owners, run the place and their presence is a large part of why this is such a great place. They welcome you upon arrival, serve you wine and snacks at happy hour and make a truly delicious breakfast in the morning. They instantly make you feel comfortably at home and at this point we feel like we're visiting family without the pressure! :) The other thing we love about the place is the charming but uncluttered decor ~ VERY nice and always pristine! Visit their website for photos and go expecting a delightful experience. You can walk downtown to many great restaurants ~ Goblin Market is the best but Patti & Gordy will help you with other choices.

Room Tip: There are rooms inside and outside the main house ~ choose according to your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCraig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This was our first visit to Mt Dora and my selection of the Grandview B&B was made after checking the reviews on Tripadvisor... and a very good move it proved too.

The Grandview is just about the best B&B we've ever stayed at. From the moment we arrived the hosts, Patti and Gordie, made us feel at home and most welcome. The house itself is over 100 years old but it's lost none of it's character and the warmth of the place just adds to the relaxed atmosphere.

The public rooms are well furnished and comfortable and available at all times... nowhere is off limits. Our bedroom (queen bed) was once again well furnished and comfortable and fully in keeping with the rest of the house. The bed was comfortable (always a pleasure) and the bathroom more than suitable. The whole place was spotlessly clean too which, in our view, is a must. It seems a little obvious to state this but we feel it's important.

Around 5:00 p.m. Patti and Gordie offer a glass of wine and a cheese platter to their guests and breakfast is a real treat and seeing is believing... I can't say enough in praise of the Grandview and I truly hope it stays this way. Well done and thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Grandview for almost ten years. I am happy to report that Gordie and Patti not only carrry on the outstanding hospitality of Mel and Andy, they have surpassed it. The grounds have been improved, breakfast is to dream about, and there are lots of new stories to share even the local history.

We usually stay in the Windmill Cottage with friends as it is a great place to catch up with each other. The porch, however, is the place to be before breakfast and at 5 PM for the wine and cheese platter. The relaxation is wonderful - you can feel andy left over stress leaving as the sun sets over Lake Dora while you converse with your hosts, friends and guests.

The charm and magic of this place is unbelievable. Try it and you will be coming back - often!

John and Sharon

Room Tip: We have stayed in all of the rooms. They are all excellent - choose the one that fits your needs: p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

What can I add that hasn't already been said in the previous reviews. The location is a few blocks from the village on a quiet street, the rooms are clean and comfortable & the grounds are well maintained. The hosts Patti & Gordi are welcoming and helpful and you can tell they enjoy sharing their home and running this excellent B & B. The breakfast is good and the afternoon wine and cheese by the pool is a nice touch & you get to meet your fellow travelers. Our first time in Mt. Dora we stayed at the Lakeside Inn. Big mistake. It was run down bug infested and old. So upon returning I went on Tripadvisor to find somewhere near the village to stay and based on the reviews we chose the Grandview. Without question if you are going to Mt. Dora you will not regret your choice to stay here. We already plan on returning sometime over the summer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KK370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.5 km away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
975 reviews
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
576 reviews
8.6 km away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Magnolia Inn B&B
Magnolia Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Mount Dora
130 reviews
0.6 km away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
238 reviews
0.9 km away
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 442 E 3rd Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range: $233 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the historic William Watt House, circa 1906, complete with a saltwater pool and original windmill on site. The owner of many acres of citrus, Watt invented corrugated cardboard as a packaging medium for his oranges. Watt's residence was surrounded by the orange groves.The house sits on over an acre-plus of land within two blocks of downtown Mount Dora, on the corner of Third and Grandview. Quaint shops, fantastic restaurants and antique shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grandview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview b&b
Grandview Hotel Mount Dora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing