We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Found”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our family was really impressed with Tween Waters Inn! It was family oriented & our suite was clean, lush, and homey ! The staff caters to your every want or need, and they are on top of everything. It has beautiful tropical grounds and something for everyone to do from the olympic size pool, to the day spa,to tennis, boating,fishing, eating etc. also a private beach! We will definetly stay there again and highly recommend it for others!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mspriss920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    692
    252
    102
    69
See reviews for
973
1,145
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Spent this last week at Tween Waters with our two kids (5 and 10) and had a marvelous time. I could go on all day about the great time we had but here is the short list. Beautiful property, lots to do for adults and kids alike. Great pool and pool bar, decent restaurants on property, very good daily breakfast, stunning beach on one side, bay on the other. Captiva and Sanibel offer plenty of activities our kids were never bored and that's saying something.

The best thing about Tween Waters however, is the staff. You get the impression when you are there that the staff really cares whether or not you have a good time and enjoy the hotel. As a very experienced traveler, that always rates highest on my list. All staff were friendly, helpful, informative and did what you asked of them, no complaints or nasty attitudes.

I highly recommend Tween Waters.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Mike S.

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am very glad that we “Exceeded Expectations” as the title of you review states. I certainly agree with you that the best thing about our resort is our staff. About a year ago our executive team met with our board or directors to develop our short and long term strategies. One of the results of those meetings was the redevelopment of our mission statement. We felt it was vitally important to present our employees with a powerful and easy to understand tool that highlighted our expectations of them and promoted consistent results. Our new mission statement which is; “to deliver a warm, friendly, and memorable island resort experience that provides value for all of our guests resulting in a desire to return,” has been embraced by our staff and the results have exceed our expectations. Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your kind words. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

love it, just completed by 13th annual trip to Captiva. Always stay at Tween Waters, greeted at front desk upon arrival. Makes me feel like a VIP. Relax at the pool, swim and read. That's all. Love the new Tween Beans for iced expressos. Tasha does a great job of keeping everyone happy with fresh towels. The ladies at the Oasis Bar led by Lisa all do a super job with food and drinks. ML, Lisa and Stacy are the "stars" who go over and above" in terms of service. Rooms, meh. Can't wait for April 2013.

Room Tip: I like the Areca, my friends take the 3 bedroom cottage. WOW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippo930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Had such a great time here, must admit weather was really hot, we shared a two room apartment with our friends , loved that they were opposite the sitting room and not together, pool area was a bit crowed, but did manage to get beds.
Hired boat at the marina , just so easy and quick, had a really good day watching the dolphins and manatees , really would highly recommend it,

Beach across the road very clean and easy to get sun beds, another good chilling place, not so may people on the beach wich was quite a shock.

Breakfast in the restaurant very good value and lovely food.

Evening went to bubbles restaurant , such a good atmosphere , and good food well worth a visit

Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HARLEY05Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The beautiful, long pristine beach is just a few steps away and the pace is mellow and relaxing. We've just had a lovely, restorative long week-end and will return...Our studio room was in the Seagrape building an we had a kitchenette, a nice screened balcony with Gulf view and a recently renovated bathroom with both bathtub and shower, very fuctional and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager23, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dani66, thank you so much for taking the time to review our little slice of paradise at ‘Tween Waters Inn. I would humbly agree that we have one of the nicest stretches of beach you will find, especially given our location within a residential area that allows for a peaceful beach experience without all of the clutter of the “average” public beach. Thank you also for complimenting the amenities of your Gulf View Studio overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. We take great pride in providing our guests with quality accommodations, while still holding on to our connection to Old Florida, represented by our recent designation on the National Historic Registry. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at ‘Tween Waters soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Beautiful view of the Gulf. Our server, Jarrett, was awesome. Ask for him. Food was great. I highly recommend stopping for lunch or dinner. Live music on the weekends -- great classic rock to dance to. And what could be more beautiful than Sanibel/Captiva, Florida?!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager23, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your great review! We are very proud of Jarrett – he’s one of the hardest working persons on staff. His schedule often places him in one or the other of the resort’s restaurants, the pool bar or the poolside coffee shop. He’s a busy guy! He really cares about his guests and that is demonstrated by his attentiveness to their dining experience. Tween Waters Inn's two restaurants are a casual dining pub, the Crow’s Nest, and a fine dining restaurant, the Old Captiva House. Both are excellent for dinner. And, as pointed out by this reviewer, there is a band every Friday and Saturday night in the Crow’s Nest – just right to dance the night away! We are looking forward to your return visit…soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Great place within steps to the Gulf. Only complaints were the strong sewer smell in the area near the office, wifi did not work in our room and the shower water pressure was pitiful.

Room Tip: Might be a good idea to request a room where the wifi works and the water pressure is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harborlife1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Harborlife1880,

We are very glad that you enjoyed our “tween” gulf and bay location and that you took the time to share your experience with others. I am sure that you can imagine that fresh water on our islands is very expensive. Using well water to water our landscaping is much more cost effective and environmentally friendly. Unfortunately, our well water has sulfur which if you remember from 7th grade science class has a very distinguished odor. For that reason we try to water as little as possible and in off hours. I have asked our grounds crew to change our irrigation timers to run between 2am and 6am to avoid further disruption. Thank you for bring the matter to our attention. As for our wifi, I agree that some of our rooms do not get a very strong signal. Our buildings are built with concrete blocks and metal roofs which make them very structurally sound to withstand hurricane winds but also very difficult for wifi signal to penetrate. We are experimenting with stronger signal boosters and directional antenna recommended by installation experts. We hope to have improved signal to all rooms by the end of this summer. Finally, I have not heard of any complaints about our water pressure. It may be possible that it is an isolated incident related to the shower head or valve in the room you stayed in. If you will contact me with the room you were in I will gladly have the problem addressed. My email address is dougbabcock22@gmail.com. Thank you for staying with us and bring to our attention these issues. I assure you we are working on the issues and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
16.3 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
17.7 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
4.6 km away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
13.4 km away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
17.1 km away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing