We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Seafood and Great Flavors”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva
Reserve with OpenTable
Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Went here with friends during our stay on Sanibel. Husband and I went to the Sanibel location years ago and wasn't all that impressed. It must have been something we ordered because this visit we found the food full of flavor and very fresh. I ordered the Panko Fried Shrimp and my husband had theTropical Salad which had the best Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing we have ever had. The shrimp was large and tasted like they just caught them. One of our friends had the Roasted Half Chicken and the portion was hugh. The combination of chicken,chorizo sausage, green beans, fresh chimichurri verde, topped with roasted corn and jicama was a big hit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MenthiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Menthia, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us a nice review! We really appreciate it! We will continue to keep our food full of flavor and very fresh. We are looking forward to seeing you all again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 414 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We had excellent service at this restaurant. The seafood was fresh and prepared deliciously. The drinks were great.

Thank liane327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time Liane to share your experience with us! We're so happy you had a great time and enjoyed everything. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We love Doc Fords for its Carribean fusion seafood and its rum drinks. At our last visit we enjoyed the shrimp and grits and a shrimp quinoa salad. Both had mild heat but great mixtures of flavored.

Thank K1790YRjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

James, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here with us at Doc Ford's! You can't go wrong with the Shrimp & Grits! Hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We love Doc Fords on Captiva. All of there entrees are delicious especially their seafood dishes. And you've got to try their famous carrot cake for dessert. Ambiance and service is excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cml42645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write us a nice review! We really appreciate it! Our Carrot Cake is definitely one of the house favorites around here. We are looking forward to seeing you all again, hopefully sooner than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We just assumed the prices would be off the charts but actually it was priced right and offered a good selection. Everyone got something different. The shrimp special was the best but they should offer it for a couple bucks more to have the shrimp peeled, most people do not like peeling hot messy shrimp.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank withvalidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Thanks so much for taking the time out to write us a nice review! Yucatan are a must and so glad that you had a chance to enjoy them! If you loved the Yucatan Shrimp you should try our Yucatan Tacos. The shrimp in the tacos are peeled. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing