We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail-Great mom & pop”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Redington Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sails Resort and Apartment Motel
Reviewed 25 August 2013

It's great to stay where folks are glad to meet you and truly care about your stay. The property is pristine with landscaping constantly kept up to perfection. It's an older property, but the owners are maintaining it well. Yes, the furniture is a bit dated, but the beds are comfy and the appliances work well and are clean. The property is on the beach, so no streets to cross. (Important if you have kids) This family-owned motel is a gem in the middle of modern "cookie cutter" buildings. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We just returned from a relaxing vacation at The Sails Resort and Apartment Motel. What a find!

After reading all of the other reviews before booking the vacation, I wasn't sure what to expect...

Yes, the towels are scratchy. No, the furniture is not brand new and has definitely had a few sweaty sun worshippers waller all over it. Yes, there was aluminum foil on the stove burners. Yes, the AC units are loud when you try to watch TV but work very well. These things were not a big deal to us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Our room was much larger than we expected with a separate bathroom, kitchen, bathroom, and living room. The owner and cleaning staff were very kind and helpful. We brought our own beach chairs and beach towels because you cannot take their lounge chairs out on the beach. (I called ahead and asked.) They have a very strict policy about visitors and parking, but I was happy to pay their fees for the day we had visitors. The grounds are very very well maintained.

Great location! We were able to walk to some really great restaurants! The Conch Republic (which is delicious), Frog Pond Cafe for breakfast, Shubee Shack, and Friendly Tavern.

After a wonderful week, this place will be our home away from home! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juniecruze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

After much research foe a place to stay on gulf,I came across Sails Resort!! This is our 3rd year coming and have already booked again for next year! Pool and beach footsteps right outside your door..clean,peaceful and beautiful! Ted the owner is great!! Great family place, a lot of the same families we see every year have been coming down here for 5,10 even 30 years! We have 3 girls ages 9,16 and 18 and feel very safe! Great family atmosphere!! Fun for the entire family!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heidijob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 weeks here. The grounds were perfectly maintained. Room was very clean with a beautiful view of the beach and gulf. Georgeous courtyard with crystal clear pool. Owner was a true gentleman. Plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TSBuck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I have stayed at 4 properties in the North Redington Beach, Treasure Island Area since 1964. I prefer the older one and two storey apartment motels. Too many of these have been replaced by larger multi-story buildings, that in my opinion over populate the beach area. Sails has been here for as long as I have been visiting. Very clean, very popular. Great family location, quiet and peaceful. Great restaurants nearby, Winn Dixie very close for groceries. Want to try a great restaurant, drive north on Gulf Boulevard, it turns into Mandalay when you get to Clearwater, go to Heilman's Beachcomber for lunch or dinner. Also visit the Seabird sanctury a few blocks north of the Sails. You will have a restful experience at the Sails.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

I just got back from this resort and stayed in the apartment with kitchen and 1 bedroom. First of all, location is wonderful close to groceries, resturants, and of course beach. Second, clean rooms and we really enjoyed our stay. Housekeeping was wonderful and cleaned our room daily- make sure to give those cleaning ladies a nice tip! Pleas keep in mind this is a motel so they will not have luxury amenities such As shampoo and lotions so bring your own! Not only rooms but also property along with pool are being cleaned every morning. You wake up to clean patio and clean pool. Also sun deck on the beach helped a lot during active sun hours and we did not need to leave the beach as we were always in the shade. Yes, there is a grill at the property and dinning tables so you can cook yourself and dinne outside. Green grass and nicely decorated property you really feel like you are at some kind of a nice resort. Keep in mind you can select and apartment or a hotel room there depending on your family size. We will defiantly come back as we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sugar333mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. It is clean and friendly, has a beautiful pool and cabana beach-side. Short walk to the beach. The owner and staff are very accommodating. Great location for restaurants and close to shopping

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyndy997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Redington Beach
0.8 km away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
430 reviews
5 km away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
748 reviews
3.3 km away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
6.5 km away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
146 reviews
0.2 km away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort and Apartment Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort and Apartment Motel

Address: 17004 Gulf Blvd, North Redington Beach, FL 33708-1441
Region: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in North Redington Beach
Price Range: $64 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tropically landscaped Sails Resort Apartment Motel is directly on the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, one of the safest beaches in the U.s. & in a quiet area. Located centrally to St. Petersburg, Clearwater and Tampa.Our apartments are spacious and comfortable, but yet affordable accommodations. There is daily maid service (except Sundays and Holidays), so your time will be free for fun and relaxation. All bedrooms are furnished with 2 double beds or 1 double and 1 twin. Sleeper sofas in Living Rooms.All open out to our spacious grounds with 200' beach frontage and sun deck, 20' X 40' heated pool, sun-hut, gas barbecue, guest laundry on premises, shuffleboard, phones in rooms, wall to wall carpeting, free WIFI and all this and more in a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sails Resort And Apartment Hotel North Redington Beach
Sails Hotel And Apartment
Sails Resort And Apartment Motel North Redington Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing