We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fab”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garnish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Garnish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Greatexcellent place to stay, 4 star quality food and accommodation . Great value, great beds , great garden and the owners are so friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful 2 days and we will be back.

Room Tip: It had no wifi because it is in a remote location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 1998frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2015

Everything about this guest house is wonderful. Located at the very tip of the Beara Peninsula it is more than worth the trip to spend a night or two here. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean it offers magnificient views of sea and rugged coastline out to Crow Head and on the other side Dursey Island. These views are seen from all bedrooms and dining room.The evening we arrived was fairly windy and we had fantastic views of the waves crashing off the rocks and foam rising several metres. The breeze had died away overnight and we were presented with a calm sea and what appeared as a totally different view in the morning. (best of both worlds) We stayed for one night as we were doing a walking trip of Dursey Island the following morning. The guest house is only 150m from island cable car and the recommendation is to travel across to the Island in the morning to avoid return queues in the evening time. Paddy our host was very inviting and extremely helpful. The breakfast was outstanding, imaginatively prepared and presented with a vast selection ( a treat ). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay eventhough a short one but will definitely return again. Finally if you are planning a trip to Dursey Island travel down the evening before and stay the night in
Windy Point. You wont regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

The Windy Point B&B on the Beara Peninsula was amazing. Run by Agnes and Paddy, it was sparkling clean and beautifully situated with our room having an outstanding view. I have never seen anyone who takes such meticulous care and pride in cleaning and maintaining a B&B. Agnes always had a dust cloth or cleaning spray in her hand. Paddy and Agnes are friendly and welcoming and very helpful in offering suggestions. And the Irish breakfasts were outstanding - the best we had during our 3 week vacation in Ireland. Agnes fixes dinner for her guests on certain nights, and we regretted that we couldn't fit that into our travel plans. Paddy is also the operator of the cable car which carries 6 or so passengers from Windy Point to Dursey Island and back. It was such fun to take the cable car and meet a couple island residents. I would highly recommend the Windy Point B&B. I hope to return some day. It was a very special and memorable part of my trip.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank maryfrances2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

My brother recommended this to me and I must thank him. We had the "honeymoon" suite overlooking the bay. Very clean the ensuite was small but typical for B&B's and the water was warm and the shower was larger then some! The views were spectacular the binoculars provided were a bonus. The breakfast was excellent we had scrambled eggs with salmon it was so nice to see a variation from the "full Irish". The hosts were great and welcoming and a mine of knowledge can't recommend it enough!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

My mother and I stayed at Windy Point House for three nights early in May and hated to leave when it was time to move on. I could say that the lovely room with the amazing ocean view was the highlight of our stay (a twin room that had two double beds!), but really it was Agnes and Paddy and their seemingly effortless hospitality who made our visit perfect. As we travelled around the peninsula, in awe at the spectacular landscapes around every corner, we saw several of the b&bs that we had considered and were so grateful that we'd decided on Windy Point. Yes, it's a little off the beaten path, within walking distance of the Dursey Island cable car (which in itself is a great experience), but nothing is very far and every drive is a memorable one. Although we couldn't get wifi in our room, the signal was strong and reliable in the comfortable sitting room. Breakfasts were delicious, as were the two dinners we chose to have at the b&b rather than driving to the nearest village. If I am ever visiting the area again, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere but Windy Point.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lorief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Were going to walk Dursey Island on the Tuesday so stayed at Windy Point on the Monday night. The wind was howling but you couldn't hear it from inside the well soundproofed house. The house was very light and welcoming and the view across the sound to Dursey was spectacular. Room well apportioned, nice bathroom facilities, beds comfortable. No telly in the room, but frankly the isolation is part of the attraction and there's a telly in the lounge if you really need it (nobody did!) Breakfast was reminiscent of a 4 star hotel - everything from cereals to fruit to cheeses and of course the sumptuous fry. And the rates were very reasonable. Yes, would definitely recommend this place to anybody

Room Tip: All rooms apparently have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petergoulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Everything here is first rate. The decor was tastefully done. The dinner prepared on sight was beautifully presented and totally delicious. The setting was unmatched. And the owner-couple, Agnes and Paddy, warm to the tee. Paddy's deep roots in this far end corner of County Cork gave a sense of belonging and connectedness. We were touched.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hisakyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast

Address: | Beara Peninsula, Garnish, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Garnish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Garnish
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing