We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Orange Park
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond,va
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could have been better...”
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Intended to stay for 4 nights. When I first check in, there were ashes on the nightstand and the sheets & this is a non-smoking hotel. I changed rooms. My stay was just okay--many little 'annoying things' like curtains that did not close and were open several inches on the side--I had to prop a chair against it to keep it closed at night. Housekeeping was horrible--towels were not replaced and one day the room was not cleaned at all. A/C did not run well at night, no matter how low the thermostat was set--yet the hallway was nice and cool. Front doors did not auto-open when moving luggages, etc. The containers holding the eggs and sausages at breakfast was not clean at all. The mattress was the worst ever. With their threadbare sheets, you can feel every lump and button and it was hard as a rock. The walls are very thin and in my room, I could constantly hear water running through pipes when someone, somewhere flushed or bathed. It was pretty loud. After 2 days, I checked out and went to another nearby hotel, as I was sleepless there due to the matteras and the A/C issue. It was a good price for this hotel but not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneRichmond_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    73
    50
    30
    17
See reviews for
130
60
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, TX
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Although basically a "cookie cutter" hotel, my wife's and my three night stay in January was quite enjoyable.
Due to certain mobility issues I had made certain requests when I booked the room. All on the requests were taken care of very well.
The hotel in conveniently located for access to the NAS and to some more than adequate restaurants in the Orange Beach area..

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler5686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I've stayed here several times. It is the nicest hotel in the area for the price. Very clean and spacious rooms. Great service. Great hot breakfast. Large dining area. Nicely decorated. The negative reviews must have the wrong hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broadcaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

There's a scene in Blazing Saddles where paint is tossed onto plywood to build a fake Rockridge. Here paint was used to disguise a hotel who has seen too many sunsets! Well pardner, don't let the discount price think you'll get a bargain here. The building and furnishings are old. The guarantee of free wireless means you need to leave your room and move to the little dining area in the lobby...but that was only after I made 7 phone calls to the service provider who knew less than I did about troubleshooting a connection. The place does offer a free morning breakfast. You can't go wrong with yogurt and oatmeal but the microwaveable pancakes and curious meat offerings left me longing for the lone prairie. The bathrooms were recently refurbished and wanted me to shout "Yehaw!" The bed was good, too, and beat sleeping under the stars. Saddle up the horse and mosey down the road further. I think there is a better option and yes, even Howard Johnson has an outpost nearby. As for service....front desk clerks are seldom there. Wait patiently until a hidden camera lets the clerk know you're waiting cause they're in the back someplace doing who knows what.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justthatgoodguyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2007

We were very happy with this hotel! We had the room with one queen bed. The room itself and the hotel in general were very clean. The decor in the room was beautiful and looked new. A bit short on drawer space, but it was fine for a 3 day trip (I always overpack!). For a longer trip, the storage might be a problem. The bathroom was really clean and very pretty - marble floors. The sink was outside the room so one person could be using the sink and mirror while the shower/toilet was being used, a great convenience. The bed was absolutely heavenly, and I wanted to steal the mattress and take it home with me. Linens, etc were all great.

They have a continental breakfast that was very nice. Eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, and yogurt, cereals, pastries, etc. Not gourmet, but probably everyone can find something that they like. Nice large sunny room with tables and chairs and a TV to eat in.

  • Liked — Clean, great beds, great decor, nice layout
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2007

I originally read the reviews for this hotel and even though there was mention of cigarette smell, we decided to stay and made reservations for 5 days.
When we checked in and got to our room, it reeked of cigarette and stale smell that was in the curtains, bedspread and furniture. The ottoman had dirt stains on it and the floors were dirty as well. We decided to stay the night but checked out the next morning cause we couldn't take the smell.
When we checked out, the manager did apologies and even mentioned that it's hard to keep smokers from smoking in the halls that eventually make it into the rooms.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SrTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

The hotel was excellent just as the comments of travelers stated. I definitely would go back when in Jacksonville and highly recommend it. Good breakfast, nice staff, and within distance of everything yet not too close.

  • Liked — The excellent care taken in the layout and cleanliness of the hotel
  • Disliked — 11:00 a.m checkout
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Park
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Orange Park
0.5 km away
Days Inn Orange Park/Jacksonville
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Orange Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Fairfield Inn Jacksonville Orange Park
1.5 km away
Stay Suites of America
Stay Suites of America
#9 of 12 in Orange Park
86 reviews
2.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites
Address: 4580 Collins Road, Orange Park, FL 32073 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Southside Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Orange Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Orange Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED!! The Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites is newly renovated inside and out! We have a new upscale dining area, new furniture, wallpaper, paint, furniture, carpet and bedding! We are conveniently located to I-295 and a large portion of Orange Park's entertainment area. Less than one mile to Orange Park Kennel Club and Poker Room, Orange Park Mall with a variety of restaurants, stores and movie theater. A huge selection of dining options are also nearby. A free HOT breakfast is available every morning! Our staff has the "can do" attitude to meet almost any request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orange Park
Orange Park Best Western
Best Western Hotel Southside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing