We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovery Cove magic”
Review of Discovery Cove

Discovery Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.98*
and up
Orlando Attractions Roundtrip Transfer
Ranked #3 of 428 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Discovery Cove is a one-of-a kind experience where you can interact with bottlenose dolphins, feed tropical birds, play inches from a family of otters and even walk on the Grand Reef floor-all in one day. Between adventures, recharge with unlimited island fare and refreshments. With this all-inclusive experience your family can unwind, explore, learn, and create memories that will last a lifetime.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Discovery Cove magic”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This was a highlight of our trip and a must do. Our dolphin Katalina was four years old and the experience of swimming with a dolphin and interacting with her was absolutely fantastic. Book early and arrive early on your day for the full Discovery Cove experience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,660
    1,479
    363
    116
    66
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great park but not so great start”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I must say that we were looking forward to this activity after visiting and waiting in all kinds of lines at the various theme parks . Unfortunately, the entrance was less than stellar. We were greeted by a long line up (20-30 minutes) that almost cost us our breakfast inside (show up early) and were told inside that we'd have to wear vests or wetsuits all day (WHAT???). Turns out that the vests were not so bad but they fail to tell you these things when you book.

Once we got through the guide after guide after guide, we finally started relaxing inside and the rest of the day was great! The reef was incredible! I was afraid of snorkelling but it is very safe for the entire family and frankly, something I will never forget!

The tropical river (lazy river) is the biggest and best I've ever experienced. Beware though that there are waterfalls that you go through (and you will get wet.. no way around this).

The aviary was incredible! Tropical birds landing on you and you could feed them a snack (supplied free of charge by the park). So friendly and sweet! We ALL loved it.

Lunch was very good and the free snacks and drinks readily available all day without much wait were great!

This is a definite must see in Orlando.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank elizabeth_pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raritan, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great way to start our vacation”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Make sure to book months in advance as the attraction fills up quickly. The all inclusive setting is great for families, especially if parents want to split up and do different things with their children. The neverending food and drinks were readily available. The landscaping and design of the pools and attractions flows well and access to each is simple. We would have liked our dolphin encounter to be a little longer for the price but were still thrilled with the experience.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Shanaof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best deal for the money IMHO”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Family loved this and it was the best time we had on our trip to Orlando the first week of March. The food is cafeteria style but our eight year old was in heaven as he could eat all morning and throughout the afternoon. If you buy the package with all the parks and go to them it is by far your best deal. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Snorkeling with the sea rays was really cool. Do not expect same experience as open water reef snorkeling as this is all enclosed and cannot replicate a reef. Then again where can you swim with rays without the danger of being stung. This is something we all will never forget.

Helpful?
5 Thank codespewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Like a date with a Hollywood Star”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Well what can you say, almost the perfect day out.

I'm retired and thought it was great, my children aged 35'ish thought it was excellent and the gradchildren 5 - 11 years thought it was the best day of our Florida vacation, btw there are 12 of us in the group.

When I paid for this day some moths ago I thought it was expensive, the photos on the day were also very expensive, but that's the only down side. So like dreaming of a date with your favorite Hollywood star, the anticipation was high however it came up to all expectations especially for the younger elements of our group, but boy it did rip a hole in my wallet.

Go for it if you can afford it because it's worth it

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discovery Cove also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Discovery Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing