We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Near Universal Orlando”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #169 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Saddle River, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay Near Universal Orlando”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We selected the hotel as it is literally less than a fifteen minute walk or five minute ride to Universal Park. Making reservations for a family of five is typically difficult, as many facilities do not have adjoining rooms or suites. This hotel, however, was a very pleasant exception. The family suite was quite spacious and offers two bedrooms, each with a bathroom, a living room/kitchen with a full refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. There are two double and one king beds, in addition to a good quality convertible bed in the living room. Room amenities include ample storage space, strong wifi signal and three flat screen TV’s. It is similar to many of the recent good quality resorts we attended in the Dominican Republic. The furnishings are clean and in good condition. Adequate parking is available as well as an outdoor pool, game room and adjoining TGI Friday’s restaurant.

The hotel staff was generally helpful and accommodating, they were able to recommend area restaurants in reasonable distance or delivery service. However corkscrews and bottle openers are nowhere to be found, so be prepared.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordSaddleRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    863
    395
    143
    127
See reviews for
980
532
49
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

It started great, the hotel staff were great!! Hamid, and Lesh made our stay great. They gave us directions to anything we wanted to do, and treated us like family. My son and I will be back!

Our room was very nice, well maintained.

Room Tip: we got a room at the top and facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coachtaylor87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Convenient hotel to Universal Studios but tired. Needs some updates. The pseudo-european bathrooms without tubs and showers just don't work. We shouldn't have to roll up towels to keep the water from flooding the room. :(
Microwave and fridge are a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanWin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
DanWin53,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights at beginning Feb. Chose this hotel purely for location (proximity to Universal Studios parks) and fact that we got it for free as reward nights.
We were upgraded to a suite as hubby is a platinum member and were delighted with the accommodation. We were originally given a room on top floor but asked to be moved after 1st night as the rooftop airconditioning unit was so noisy.
The suites are a lovely size for a family of 4.
Was within a good 10 minute walk of Universal along a very pleasant footpath.
Short walk to a McDonalds and Wallgreen store (expensive but handy for cold drinks etc).
1 Kid eats free with each paying adult at the attached TGI Fridays. We had the buffet breakfast first morning but was pretty unimpressed, however, had our evening meal there one night and were really pleased as costs a third less than TGI,s in UK.

Would definitely stay here again due to ideal location.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on top floor as air conditioning unit on roof is extremely noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Last week I stayed 8 nights at this hotel for a training course; so the decision was not mine but the organizers. Stayed in a standard room (2 Qn Beds); the room is quite spacious with a small fridge, mw oven and coffee maker (with complementary supplies). The bathroom is very small (not even enough space to put your own accessories) but functional. The overall impression was good. Clean and comfortable (choice of pillows, nice touch!). WiFi and Parking are complementary (hard thing to find in Orlando area), a 32" TV and plenty of room to work. I noticed a lack of power outlets, but enough on the desk to charge your phone and connect your laptop. No safe box, or at least I could not find it. There was an issue with the room door, it was difficult to close, so I had to be extra careful not to leave it open.
Breakfast is served in the TGI Fridays; but would not recommend it; $8 and coffee and additional $2.50; some 400 yds there is a IHOP.
The location is quite good, actually a 15 min walk to Universal's CitiWalk for a plethora of dinning options (beware of weather changes when you plan to walk). Malls, Outlet Malls and International Dr, are just a couple of minutes away by car; you could even walk (30 min) to International Dr, if you wish. A shuttle to local attractions is supposed to be available, but never used, never asked.
On the meeting room for the course: we were a small group (6 people + instructor); morning coffee+orange juice and pastries were served (better coffee than TGI Fridays'). The service was very good (we had lunch served in the meeting room). The person catering for us was very helpful in all aspects. Good soundproofing. Business center available (0.75 per page for printing plus 0.25/min for the PC), complementary printing of your boarding passes at the front desk.
I did not try the pool, was a rather cool week, with low 30's during the weekend! A fitness room with good equipment, just right for the size of the hotel. Laundry room available.
Course mates told me about some issues with the AC unit in their rooms; I had none, but really didn't used that much, as I said a rather cool week.
Overall, the hotel is OK. I would recommend it if you want to be close to Universal and you want to save the parking fee, really, you are just a little bit further away than the parking buildings. You can get really good offers for this hotel. I have to say, it would not be my first choice to stay in the Orlando area, but the hotel turned out to be very convenient. It would be a 3.5 star (Good).

Room Tip: Choose a upper floor room, the roads surrounding the hotel are very busy and noise may be an issue i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acisclo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel was okay. It's a Holiday Inn. It's located in a sea of corporate restaurants and hotels but it is close to Universal. The common areas were very nicely decorated. The staff was friendly. The pool area was nice and the water was warm. The kids pool was freezing for some reason. The room was fairly nice but the bathroom was not. It was nothing spectacular and nothing too terrible. There was a strong mildew odor but we got used to it. They upgraded us to a suite and the price we paid was very reasonable for a suite and the proximity to Universal. You can walk to Universal but you have to cross a VERY busy street and it's about a half mile. My kids liked the walk. The TGIF that it is connected to is a typical Fridays. The breakfast buffet is horrible though. Kids eat free there but we didn't go back there for breakfast. Because we didn't pay too much and because we spent most of our time at the theme parks, we don't regret staying here. It was fine for our purposes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoxieMoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here in a standard room as we planned to go to Universal studios Orlando. The hotel was the closest one to universal outside of the two theme park resorts, it was a nice 10-15 minute stroll to universal with nice gardens along the way. There is a TGI's attached to the hotel which you can order room service from or eat in at, the breakfast buffet is pretty good. We could tell that the hotel had recently been renovated but the oldeness and musty smell still lingered about. The hotel is situated amongest alot of carparks with neighboring hotels, we would probably try one of them next time we go as they were only a half a block away and looked a bit nicer. All in all no complaints, beds were a little small but comfy, appliances all worked, if your jsut going for the theme parks it's ideal.

Room Tip: Maybe stay in a suite, as the standard rooms were a little shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebonyb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#125 of 339 in Orlando
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Across From Universal Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing