We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel is nice - area is so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East
Ranked #235 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“hotel is nice - area is so-so”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 days based on the reviews I read.
Good: it is very convenient to the Disney Theme Parks, the hotel is fairly new (built in 2009), rooms are OK, nice furniture, large dining ears for free breakfast buffet, ample parking. Lots of stores heading WEST on SR-50. Large Flat screen TV, nice office chair if you need to work at the desk. Modern furniture. MIcrowave, refigerator, etc. Comfortable bed.

Not so good: The location borders an area known for some of Orlando's highest crime rates. (weast on SR-50 to Kirkman Rd and you will discover this. Avoid the the Metrowest area (Pine Hills, etc). The carpeting in my room looked very worn considering the hotel was just built in 2009 and being 3 years old. The shower head was old and the water flow was weak - again just OK, but it will take longer for showers, so plan accordingly. Wireless internet was weak (on the 3rd floor 20 ft from an elevator). Entrance to hotel is hard to see at first.

Conclusion. I've always had decent experiences with the Holiday Inn brand, but this was not one of the better places I've stayed in for 2 reasons: I was nervous about the location, and the rugs were loaded with allergens I got very stuffed-up in the room after only being inside it for a few minutes. However, the hotel is new and very nice on the outside. Parking seems to be plentiful, and Logan's Steakhouse is next door to the hotel. I still got a good value staying here and it was evident that they're trying to improve the hotel and customer service.

Tip: don't wear your shoes in hotel rooms - you bring all the allergens and dirt in from outside and it permanently stays in the rug). Walmart and other stores are located if you drive WEST on SR-50 towards Clermont (Panera, Walmart, Target, Starbucks, tons of restaurants).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostechboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    47
    19
    6
    10
See reviews for
56
33
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
232 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Spacious rooms with nice padded desk chair. Bathroom has shelves to hold your stuff. Closet is very tiny and not deep enough to hold your clothes hanging straight. The room has that noisy wall a/c unit that naturally runs constantly. The bathroom light comes on with the fan, and that is also noisy. My room had a microwave and fridge, which was nice.
The bed had a choice of firm and soft pillows and was comfortable. However, there was only a sheet and light comforter, no blanket in the room at all. Free wireless and free parking.
The breakfast was much better than other hotels with eggs, gravy, biscuits. The front desk staff was very pleasant. There are several restaurants nearby. The business center is in the lobby so no privacy. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendmehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City, fl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I haven't stayed at a “Holiday Inn” in many years based on previous bad experiences; however I must say that I was pleasantly surprised.
First, the hotel is centrally located, the staff was very helpful and nice, the beds were comfortable, room was clean and nicely prepared, you can tell that the management cares.
The hotel also offered FREE hot breakfast, the standard scrambled eggs, toast, waffles, cereals, etc.. however we didn't eat there, we just had other plans.
There were a few negatives issues, there were only two bath towels in the room instead of four, the Wall Paper in hall way leading to the elevator had crumbled up and was coming off, in the same hallway there were lots of "MM's" on the floor, however these issues are not enough to influence my review of the hotel,.
Overall it was very good; I would stay there again...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamaway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed 2 nights in October and enjoyed the stay. Staff was super friendly. Loved the jaccuzi.

Convienient to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Medic2430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I enjoyed a 5 night stay with a friend at the Holiday Inn Express in Ocoee Florida. I was there to visit with relatives and go to Halloween Horror at Universal. I picked this Hotel for the location mainly. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful & we enjoyed the free breakfast every morning. The Hotel is located behind Logan's Roadhouse. I would recommend stopping at Logan's. It is a peanut bar & restaurant. Yes the shells are thrown on the floor! My next visit to Ocoee I would stay at this Hotel again. The pool is nice and they also provide computers in lobby for your convenience. When having breakfast check out the pancake maker! The price is right too!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Great Time at this hotel. The Free Breakfast was sooo good! Loved the pancake machine and the scrambled eggs. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable! Logan's Roadhouse was just across the street. Would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lots2See4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I travelled to Orlando to have spine surgery, this hotel was close to hospital and convenient. I reserved 2 weeks of time at this hotel to allow for pre and post surgery recovery. During my stay the staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and service was pretty good. One look at the breakfast buffet and I grabbed an OJ and headed off site to eat. The morning Of surgery I requested a 5:30 am wake up call which was never received. Luckily I had a back up alarm.
Recovery was quicker then expected, and I informed the front desk that I would be leaving earlier then expected. Keilee stated that that it would be no problem since i was on a day to day bases. I did leave the hotel 1 week earlier then originally intended. This is when the problems started. Keilee now informed me that since I reserved this hotel "online"that I was not entitled to a refund or credit for the remained of my stay saying there are "restrictions". The manager supposedly confirmed this via phone conversation with Keilee and other staff. The manager never spoke to me. Reviewing my confirmation found no language indicating that changes were not allowed. Upon returning home I tried to contact the manager, instead of the staff taking a message and my number the instructed me to try and call back.
My next step will be to contact the corporate office and VISA.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Dalea_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Best Western Orlando West
#228 of 336 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgewater Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winter Garden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Comfort Suites Downtown
#152 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Florida Center
Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East
Address: 7474 W Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32818-6747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Orlando/Ocoee, Florida, just 15 minutes from beautiful downtown Orlando. Conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers, our beautiful 104-room property is centrally located to some of the world's most famous family attractions such as: Walt Disney World, Universal Studios, SeaWorld, Aquatica, Discovery Cove, and Wet 'n Wild. Start your day with our Express Start breakfast or work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center. We provide a complimentary business center and meeting space for your social/business events. For our valued guests with allergies, our hotel is a non-smoking and pet-free hotel. Also, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Orlando/Ocoee is within short drives to several state-of-the-art medical institutions and Florida's largest public college, theUniversity of Central Florida. Central Florida Fairgrounds is also located close by.We are within walking distance to several area restaurants, including: Logan's Road House, Chuck E Cheese's, Ale House, Red Lobster, Chili's and Olive Garden Beautiful Starke Lake, located in Ocoee is close by for boating activities, such as fishing, tubing, water skiing, and jet skiing riding. On the shore of the lake are picnic areas and a dock for fishing. Let the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Orlando/Ocoee be 'your home away from home.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Orlando-Ocoee East
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Ocoee East Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing