We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If money is no object.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is nice but is too pricy. The rooms are "old floridian" style when in fact they just seem outdated. They seem to get away with not updating as dictating theme. The pools were ok . The actual beach part for my older kids was really a joke. The restaurants here are none of my favorites but at least Chef Mickey's and Ohanas are on the monorail. Need a really good price to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dansee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,364)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,005 - 3,011 of 4,364 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed at the Grand Floridian before our Disney cruise. Magic express was great. The hotel staff greeted us by name at the bus. Checked-in online and the room was ready for us before noon.
Transportation to and from the hotel is very easy. I enjoyed going to MK on the monorail and returning on the boat.
The service and facilities were great. Food just OK.
Our luggage was picked up from our room and delivered to the ship without any problems.
Would recommend staying at a Disney property if you are planning a Disney cruise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watrbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

we visit Disney often and have stayed at several of the other Disney hotel's. ( beach Club, Board Walk, S&D, etc) This has ben the best yet. we stayed here for 7 days at the end of January. we stayed in the Sugar Loaf Bldg and the Staff wasa excellent and the rooms were very clean. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It is worht the $$$$

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tapow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is the 5th time we have been to the GF. Not our choice but for a conference. Last year we had a disastrous time whereas they assigned us a room that was occupied when we walked into it and it took 1.5 hrs before we were assigned a new room. However I am writing this review based on our experience this past week Feb 23 -26.
First of all check in was a breeze. I think they had our name flagged as we were greeted at the valet center by a staff member who already had us checked in and took us directly to our room. What a difference from last year. However we were not happy when we went through the gates with our rental car where they demanded to see our photo ID. I asked "Are we in prison" We were not given a satisfactory answer to this other than the usual "It's for your protection". The problem I have with this is that anyone can take the monorail to GF and gain access to the grounds--no questions asked, but a legitimate guest is given an inquisition.
The room is the same as it always has been--it has not been updated in 5 yrs. The furniture is good quality but is somewhat dog eared. I agree with other reviewers regarding the dated bedspreads. We were initially assigned a double queen rm. but they did move us as soon as possible to a king. The computers were down when we arrived and they could not access them right away to reassign. As a couple the king room is better as there is more overall room. I loved the fact that they gave us plenty of towels without having to ask for more. The towels were a good size and nice and fluffy. I did not care for the shampoo as it obviously has an astringent in it and was rough when it spattered in my eye by accident. As some have mentioned, there were not the usual amenities that you would expect in the room but I think if you asked for a shower cap you could probably get one. The tv is nice but their channels are very limited. They had at least 5 kids Disney channels, 3 stations advertising the hotel or Disney, 2 hispanic stations, 2 Japanese stations and 2 tv evangelist stations, 2 news stations (they did not include Fox news). All the rooms have a private balcony which is good if you have a view room (we did not). No issue with the cleanliness of the rooms. Size was adequate for us but probably awful with kids. But then they don't expect you to do much in the room but sleep! Rooms have fridges which is a real plus if you have a car and do some light grocery shopping outside of DW.
Dining--see my review of Victoria and Alberts. Their cafe restaurant has a very limited menu as all the DW restaurants do. I told the server I could not find anything to fit my diet and they happily made me a grilled chicken salad plate.They get a plus for that. Their 24 hr. cafeteria serve yourself restaurant does not give prices for anything except the stuff you order from their grill. They have a refrigerated area with prepackaged things, beverages and some serve yourself pastries---none of them have prices. I complained to the cashier about this. Most people want to know what prices are. I knew in advance that you needed reservations for most of the dining but came to realize that there is something really wrong with their reservation system. We tried to get a reservation for 8:00 for one restaurant but were told that the earliest was 9:15. When we arrived , we were the 2nd table seated and there were at least half of the tables empty while we were there. We had a similar case at another restaurant at the Contemporary.
Staff--In all instances, they were courteous and helpful. They were almost too happy at times.
We had a problem on our last day with no hot water in our building (5). I asked to be given another room to shower and they drove me over to it in a golf cart and picked me up when I was finished. They also gave me late checkout without a problem. They seemed very accommodating--what you would expect from this class of hotel.
Other--The lobby decor is wonderful. The nightly band playing is enticing. The pianist is great but I do get sick of Disney songs--no matter how they are played.
Also we had the experience where we were bussed from the conference to a gathering at Epcot--something they have done every year at the conference. The bus takes roads into the back of Epcot to gain access. This year we were stopped and a security guard came on board, waved his hands in the air, and asked everyone to get out photo ID. I could not believe that was happening and I asked him "Why" and go no reply. Then he went to the front of the bus while everyone was searching for ID, paused and then got off the bus without checking ID. Disney is getting far too powerful!!

I gave them 4 star mainly because I thought the service was outstanding. However here are some recommendations for future guests and for the hotel itself.
1. If money is not a big issue, do not use the Magical Bus to and from the airport. It is too crowded, takes too long and has wait times in line. After a long plane ride with kids this could be torture.
2. Request a king room when you make the reservation unless you need the extra beds.
3. Hotel should put prices on items in their fast food restaurant area.
4. Hotel and DW in general should stop asking for ID at gate entrance.
5. Hotel should expand TV stations that are more adult friendly.
6. Make use of the room fridge if you have a car to get breakfst items from a grocery store. You can then eat more nutritionally and save money too.
7. Hotel should think about redecorating rooms.
8. Hotel should allow use of business center to print out boarding passes. The concierge is far too busy to do this. This way you can assure that everything is right with your return ticket.

Room Tip: Request king rooms for more space. If possible upgrade to view room to view fireworks.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pammcgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Beautiful setting, beautiful experience. Loved being a child again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had an extended family trip to Disney.
The hotel, grounds, pools and especially location were awesome. We even saw Disney fireworks from our porch. A quick bus, monorail or boat ride to the park.
Personally this hotel was a tad "stuffy" for the kids and, in my opinion, didn't give the full Disney feel.
Pools were opened and occupied till late at night. The holiday decorations were nice especially the huge Christmas tree and life size gingerbread house were cool. Definitely a great job creatin the holiday feel.
I would return if only with adults. With kids I would chose a different resort.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRM1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I just dislike the entire theme and layout of this resort. The service was minimal, the rooms were mediocre. To be honest, this hotel is one of my least favorites in all of the ones I've been to. And it's on the expensive side! I don't think it's worth the price you pay ...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirtisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#4 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#5 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $661 - $1,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing