We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's WDW so expect motel standards” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“It's WDW so expect motel standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have stayed at WDW hotels 8 times in 10 years and we are from Australia. Love Disney- love the parks and the feeling of being there at Xmas. We have always found the Disneyworld accommodation to be incongruously expensive, but after many trips have come to expect this and appreciate the fact that we are in Disney and the room doesn't matter that much. You have to stay in the hotels to get extra time in Parks and getting in and out of the resort if you stay off site is so hard as to be impossible.

We have stayed at several hotels in WDW and the Grand Floridian is probably the best so far, but every one has been basically a motel standard room. These are not five star properties by world standards and so you should not enter into them expecting them to be. When we go to Disneyland we often stay at the Disneyland hotel and it is only marginally better than the GF even with its recent refurb. We used to stay at the Carousel Inn across the road from Disneyland because it had basically the same standards as either of these Disney hotels, but for far less money.

In WDW you are paying for the convenience, not a plush room! (When I saw the room we had at the Contemporary four years ago I was speechlessly upset because we had paid so much money and it was a brown motel room- but we had a great view of the fireworks on New Year's Eve- incidentally they have a practice New Year Fireworks the day before to film it, so a great view!)

In WDW you are going to be in a huge Vegas sized resort where there is a huge hike to facilities and your room or the transportation. The workers are going to be harried and you will probably be lucky to get a Bell Hop to help you with anything. But you will be in WDW and there is Disney magic to be had.

So, if you go with clear expectations that you will pay for a first class hotel, but probably get a motel style room but with the convenience of being in the resort and having access to WDW then you won't be disappointed and you will have a magical trip. As for me, this year I am thinking Yacht Club so that I can walk to Epcot or Studios.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of MK. It has its own rate. We have done this twice and had two rooms looking directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tania_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,567
    880
    379
    164
    85
See reviews for
2,504
592
34
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had two connecting rooms which were very nice and spacious but they didn't have any special features to distinguish them from a very nice room at any other very nice hotel in the world. So, while we enjoyed staying there and having great transportation which was important with small children, I much preferred my stay with adult friends at the log cabin in the Fort Wilderness area some years ago. The Grand Floridian is elegant and the service is wonderful and as another reviewer says, it is not too branded. I've also read that the GF has the feel of 'Old Florida' but I didn't get that at all.

Room Tip: Lagoon view does not guarantee you a view of fireworks or boat parade - our lagoon view faced the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererfromAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Really nice hotel, not too branded, in centre of Disneyworld. Rooms good (especially Concierge rooms), on site restaurants good too, but so well connected to rest of Disney by monorail its easy to get out to other sites.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

View of the Magic Kingdom from the lagoon view room gives you a private show of the fireworks right from your balcony. Also, you get to see the light parade on the lagoon. The rooms are very nice, clean and spacious. The Monorail stop that is just one station away from the Magic Kingdom is priceless. Food at the Grand Floridian is excellent. Narcooses is really a treat. The breakfast/snack bar/cafe is open just when you need it, especially if you are the meal plan. Get up early and send someone to retrieve a few breakfast items before you leave the room. It will pay off in your long day. The water taxi ride is great from the Magic Kingdom to the Grand Floridian. From the Grand Floridian to the Magic Kingdom it takes too long and makes too many stops. The monorail is the only way to go the Magic Kingdom. On the way back, choose the water taxi.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked a two bedroom suite and the description stated that we would have a lagoon view however although we could see a bit of the lagoon, we couldn't see any of the light parade which is why you would want a lagoon view. Also, we couldn't see the Magic Kingdom at all from any of the rooms. What we could see was the other building across from us. Of course they don't tell you that when you are booking your room. Also, for a two bedroom suite I was expecting to have a nice balcony to sit out on however we were on the top floor and although we had a balcony it wasn't one you could sit out on (mind you there wasn't a view to enjoy it anyway). When they offer you an outer building and sell it to you that it looks out onto the lagoon and the magic kingdom think again as it is far away from the other main areas and unless you get a decent balcony and can see the magic kingdom and the light parade at night then you will be disappointed. Also unless you are in the Sugar Loaf building, there isn't a concierge (complimentary snacks and drinks) within your building. You have to get to the Sugar Loaf building. I have stayed at the Polynesian Hotel and it is much nicer (less expensive) and we have always had concierge rooms with a great view and easy access to the complimentary offers. Bottom line is the Grand Floridian is a nice hotel however make sure you get a room in a building closer to the main area or if you are on the outer building then make sure you get a room with a proper view and balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the buildings located closer to the main areas and if you have booked a con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aquamarina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Unimpressed. My credit card was also fraudently charged as was a previous review I just read. We returned from the park at 12am one night and discovered our "clean sheets" had yellow stains on them. I called downstairs and was not even offered and apology and our sheets didn't get replaced until the next day. Not worth it!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kjw108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trophy Club, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is nice but is too pricy. The rooms are "old floridian" style when in fact they just seem outdated. They seem to get away with not updating as dictating theme. The pools were ok . The actual beach part for my older kids was really a joke. The restaurants here are none of my favorites but at least Chef Mickey's and Ohanas are on the monorail. Need a really good price to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#55 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#4 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#5 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing