We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,814)
Filter reviews
4,814 results
Traveller rating
3,078
1,022
429
185
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,078
1,022
429
185
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark faremain buildingmagic kingdomsugar loafgasparilla grillgingerbread houseboca chicamary poppinsclub levelsago caywedding pavilionmad hatterdormer roomcourtyard poollagoon viewdisney worldmonorail stop
Filter
Updating list...
3,403 - 3,408 of 4,814 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hotel is one of the grandest hotels that we have ever stayed at!! It is marvelous from the rooms, lobby, staff, pools, grounds... everything!! We had a small issue upon check-in (which isnt supposed to be until 3pm, but our room was ready at 11am!!)... we have three children so we were supposed to get a room with a sleeper day bed & did not have one in the room that they assigned us to. One call to the fromt desk & it was resolved within 10 minutes! The staff was so friendly & welcoming, the hotel smelled like fresh flowers & every part of it gleamed!! The grounds were perfect & the pools were so clean, so big & the hot tub was a plus too!

This is our second trip to Disney. We stayed at the Animal Kingdom Kidani Village last year. While that hotel was beautiful, it was also super inconvienant to everything! Our room was so far away from the entrance & this hotel is the furthest away from everything... all parks, other resorts & downtown disney. We will not stay there again. The Grand Floridian is right next to the Magic Kingdom & you can take the monorail there, to the Polynesian, the Contemporary & to the other monorails that take you to Epcot. So easy & convienant!! The buses were super easy to catch & always quick to the parks.

The only negative thing i have to say about the resort was the price. It was pretty expensive, but everything else that was so great about it, trumped that one thing!! I highly reccommend this resort!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 9 which was right off of the main building & super close to everything. Bus transport & it wasnt too far from catchhing the boat to the park or other resorts close by.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seriouslybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I've been going to Disney World since it's beginning, and have been there 30+ times. I have stayed at many hotels on and off Disney property. The Disney resorts are the best because of the free bus transportation, and proximity to the parks. The Grand Floridian, has always been one of the hotels I love to visit, walk around, eat at their restaurants, but I had never had a chance to stay there. It was one of the places I always wanted to, but it was too pricey for me...just a dream. Well guess what? For my 50th birthday, my daughter booked the room, and arranged the stay for two nights. Our view was on the water, we could see the castle from our window. The bed and linens were so comfy. The food was good at the Grand Floridian Cafe. The pool, the hot tub, the beautifully landscaped gardens, the white sandy beach, and even the ducks were wonderful, but as an experienced Disney traveler, stay here when you are not visiting the parks, the resort itself is too nice to leave. We stayed in the Boca Chica building, which I highly recommend over the noisy main building. Go here for luxury and relaxation. Don't waste any time leaving this resort, it is too wonderful! If your trip mostly includes visiting the parks day and night, I recommend the more affordable POP Century Resort.

Room Tip: Get a water view room, the quiet privacy and view adds to the luxury, and the feeling of really getting away.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ariel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Beautiful hotel that reminds of the Del Coronado in San Diego. Stayed in one of the outlying buildings. Our room was a bit worn but very clean. Lots of dents in the furniture. Small room with too much furniture. Had to move an ottoman/bench placed at the end of the bed as space was too tight. Finding space for it was a bit of a challenge. Beds were reasonably comfortable. Linens were good. Had to call to get feather pillows as the supplied pillows were not unlike a rock. Turn down service was nice. Unfortunately, can hear your neighbors. Used an Ipod/app (had a docking station) for white noise. Two pools-not as large as they look in the pics but were still nice. Beautiful outdoor space. Small beach outside on the lake. Light show on the lake at night but we missed it!

Easy access to theme parks. Monorail to Epcot (with a transfer at one of the stations). Monorails were down between noon and around 6 during our visit. There are buses that can take you to the parks as well/very convenient and pick you up near the front of the hotel. Also boat transportation that we did not try, sadly.

Several dining choices at the hotel. A 24 hour option/ a buffet (we didn't try) and a couple of others that were more mid to fine dining. Good food-not spectacular and spendy, of course. Nice lounge on the second floor. A band plays nearby (just outside of the lounge) which is fun to observe but when in the lounge, makes it hard to have a conversation.

Easy to park-valet is $12.00 per day and there is free parking across the street which translates to about a block or two walk to the hotel.

BTW, our GPS was not navigating the DW area very well. Others were having the same problem. Did not give you and idea which way to bear when the road forked. Kind of frustrating. Would recommend a map.

Don't ask for recommendations of restaurants off of the DW property-they will work to keep you on the property. Dinner reservations can be tough to come by. Open Table worked for us for reservations and there are decent restaurants within a 15 minute drive from the hotel that are not related to DW. In DW would recommend the California Grill at the top of the nearby DW Contemporary Resort. We were able to go outside and watch the fireworks complete with music and 3 D glasses. Spendy but worth it, I think. Food was good.

Universal Studios is about a 20-30 minute drive away. A decent upscale outlet mall is about a 15 minute drive away.

Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitelegsofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have stayed at Disney before, but this was our first stay at a Deluxe resort. We had very high expectations, all of which I'm pleased to say were exceeded.

The room was clean and comfortable with all the home comforts I would expect in a deluxe resort. The beds were comfy and always beautifully turned down for us in the evening. The domestic staff were polite and efficient.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and welcoming, addressing us by name each time we returned to the Hotel.

Concierge desk were helpful, managing to help us change our plans and make us dining reservations at short notice.

Pools were wonderful, though avoid the beach pool if you are looking for a quieter swim! The larger pool is great if you want to enjoy a cocktail in the hot tub between dips.

The location is great, close to Magic Kingdom and on the monorail route making transfers to other parks and resorts less tedious.

Choice of bars is good though more limited later in the evening. Mizners lounge is nice and the Ultimate Long Island Iced Tea is highly recommended.

The restaurants were fantastic with exceptional food and service, however the food is pricey so the dining plan is well worth the money for the budget conscious. We got a phone call from the manager of Citricos the day after we ate there thanking us for our custom.

The only negative was that the spa closed for refurbishment half way through our stay so we had to go to Saratoga Springs instead.

We are returning to Disney this year and can't wait.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Honestly, the best property to stay on if you want to be close to the Magic Kingdom .Researched a ton of WDW hotels and chose this one partly because of the location. We were on the concierge level and it was well worth it. Breakfast, afternoon tea, appies and drinks before dinner, and after dinner drinks and snacks were all included. So nice to have a healthy breakfast that we could help ourseleves to. Had a glass or two of champagne every night before dinner. The hotel is well layed out, the rooms could use a bit of a touch up but they were clean. Ours had a nice deck that had a great view of the fireworks! Kids had a great time @ the pool, spa was fantastic. I had a wonderful massage by someone who actually knew what they were doing. We were all fascintated by the wife of the piano player who sat in the lobby every time he played- with her buggy of stuffed dogs....Would have liked the background on that lol. Having said that, it is a beautiful lobby and hearing the piano just adds to the experience. Staff @ Mizner's Lounge was great and bent over backwards for our kids the first night we arrived, which was quiet late. Citrico's food was fantastic, the Grand Floridian Cafe was average.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jet0969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews