We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a fantastic hotel and resort. The atmosphere is wonderful especially in the lobby when the six piece band or pianist plays in the late afternoon and evening. The staff can't do enough for you very polite and attentive. The whole resort is very very clean and very well tended. It's position so close to the Magic Kingdom really makes it. It was everything I had hoped for and more. I recommend it for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,157 - 3,163 of 4,544 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel is one of the grandest hotels that we have ever stayed at!! It is marvelous from the rooms, lobby, staff, pools, grounds... everything!! We had a small issue upon check-in (which isnt supposed to be until 3pm, but our room was ready at 11am!!)... we have three children so we were supposed to get a room with a sleeper day bed & did not have one in the room that they assigned us to. One call to the fromt desk & it was resolved within 10 minutes! The staff was so friendly & welcoming, the hotel smelled like fresh flowers & every part of it gleamed!! The grounds were perfect & the pools were so clean, so big & the hot tub was a plus too!

This is our second trip to Disney. We stayed at the Animal Kingdom Kidani Village last year. While that hotel was beautiful, it was also super inconvienant to everything! Our room was so far away from the entrance & this hotel is the furthest away from everything... all parks, other resorts & downtown disney. We will not stay there again. The Grand Floridian is right next to the Magic Kingdom & you can take the monorail there, to the Polynesian, the Contemporary & to the other monorails that take you to Epcot. So easy & convienant!! The buses were super easy to catch & always quick to the parks.

The only negative thing i have to say about the resort was the price. It was pretty expensive, but everything else that was so great about it, trumped that one thing!! I highly reccommend this resort!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 9 which was right off of the main building & super close to everything. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seriouslybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I've been going to Disney World since it's beginning, and have been there 30+ times. I have stayed at many hotels on and off Disney property. The Disney resorts are the best because of the free bus transportation, and proximity to the parks. The Grand Floridian, has always been one of the hotels I love to visit, walk around, eat at their restaurants, but I had never had a chance to stay there. It was one of the places I always wanted to, but it was too pricey for me...just a dream. Well guess what? For my 50th birthday, my daughter booked the room, and arranged the stay for two nights. Our view was on the water, we could see the castle from our window. The bed and linens were so comfy. The food was good at the Grand Floridian Cafe. The pool, the hot tub, the beautifully landscaped gardens, the white sandy beach, and even the ducks were wonderful, but as an experienced Disney traveler, stay here when you are not visiting the parks, the resort itself is too nice to leave. We stayed in the Boca Chica building, which I highly recommend over the noisy main building. Go here for luxury and relaxation. Don't waste any time leaving this resort, it is too wonderful! If your trip mostly includes visiting the parks day and night, I recommend the more affordable POP Century Resort.

Room Tip: Get a water view room, the quiet privacy and view adds to the luxury, and the feeling of really gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ariel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Beautiful hotel that reminds of the Del Coronado in San Diego. Stayed in one of the outlying buildings. Our room was a bit worn but very clean. Lots of dents in the furniture. Small room with too much furniture. Had to move an ottoman/bench placed at the end of the bed as space was too tight. Finding space for it was a bit of a challenge. Beds were reasonably comfortable. Linens were good. Had to call to get feather pillows as the supplied pillows were not unlike a rock. Turn down service was nice. Unfortunately, can hear your neighbors. Used an Ipod/app (had a docking station) for white noise. Two pools-not as large as they look in the pics but were still nice. Beautiful outdoor space. Small beach outside on the lake. Light show on the lake at night but we missed it!

Easy access to theme parks. Monorail to Epcot (with a transfer at one of the stations). Monorails were down between noon and around 6 during our visit. There are buses that can take you to the parks as well/very convenient and pick you up near the front of the hotel. Also boat transportation that we did not try, sadly.

Several dining choices at the hotel. A 24 hour option/ a buffet (we didn't try) and a couple of others that were more mid to fine dining. Good food-not spectacular and spendy, of course. Nice lounge on the second floor. A band plays nearby (just outside of the lounge) which is fun to observe but when in the lounge, makes it hard to have a conversation.

Easy to park-valet is $12.00 per day and there is free parking across the street which translates to about a block or two walk to the hotel.

BTW, our GPS was not navigating the DW area very well. Others were having the same problem. Did not give you and idea which way to bear when the road forked. Kind of frustrating. Would recommend a map.

Don't ask for recommendations of restaurants off of the DW property-they will work to keep you on the property. Dinner reservations can be tough to come by. Open Table worked for us for reservations and there are decent restaurants within a 15 minute drive from the hotel that are not related to DW. In DW would recommend the California Grill at the top of the nearby DW Contemporary Resort. We were able to go outside and watch the fireworks complete with music and 3 D glasses. Spendy but worth it, I think. Food was good.

Universal Studios is about a 20-30 minute drive away. A decent upscale outlet mall is about a 15 minute drive away.

Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitelegsofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have stayed at Disney before, but this was our first stay at a Deluxe resort. We had very high expectations, all of which I'm pleased to say were exceeded.

The room was clean and comfortable with all the home comforts I would expect in a deluxe resort. The beds were comfy and always beautifully turned down for us in the evening. The domestic staff were polite and efficient.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and welcoming, addressing us by name each time we returned to the Hotel.

Concierge desk were helpful, managing to help us change our plans and make us dining reservations at short notice.

Pools were wonderful, though avoid the beach pool if you are looking for a quieter swim! The larger pool is great if you want to enjoy a cocktail in the hot tub between dips.

The location is great, close to Magic Kingdom and on the monorail route making transfers to other parks and resorts less tedious.

Choice of bars is good though more limited later in the evening. Mizners lounge is nice and the Ultimate Long Island Iced Tea is highly recommended.

The restaurants were fantastic with exceptional food and service, however the food is pricey so the dining plan is well worth the money for the budget conscious. We got a phone call from the manager of Citricos the day after we ate there thanking us for our custom.

The only negative was that the spa closed for refurbishment half way through our stay so we had to go to Saratoga Springs instead.

We are returning to Disney this year and can't wait.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Honestly, the best property to stay on if you want to be close to the Magic Kingdom .Researched a ton of WDW hotels and chose this one partly because of the location. We were on the concierge level and it was well worth it. Breakfast, afternoon tea, appies and drinks before dinner, and after dinner drinks and snacks were all included. So nice to have a healthy breakfast that we could help ourseleves to. Had a glass or two of champagne every night before dinner. The hotel is well layed out, the rooms could use a bit of a touch up but they were clean. Ours had a nice deck that had a great view of the fireworks! Kids had a great time @ the pool, spa was fantastic. I had a wonderful massage by someone who actually knew what they were doing. We were all fascintated by the wife of the piano player who sat in the lobby every time he played- with her buggy of stuffed dogs....Would have liked the background on that lol. Having said that, it is a beautiful lobby and hearing the piano just adds to the experience. Staff @ Mizner's Lounge was great and bent over backwards for our kids the first night we arrived, which was quiet late. Citrico's food was fantastic, the Grand Floridian Cafe was average.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jet0969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I LOVE Disney but this was my first say at this beautiful place. We were welcomed so wonderfully and taken care of graciously at the registration desk. I was so spoiled - how am I going to stay any other place? Every Disney resort I have stayed in has been great, really! This hotel does have a certain charm to it though. Looking forward to visiting you again soon!

Room Tip: If you have the extra $ - stay with a view of the lagoon and Magic Kingdom. We were luck and got up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViennaSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#6 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $689 - $1,498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing