We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings, ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Our first visit for 10 years and having traveled widely in that time we were a bit concerned that the hotel may have lost some of it's shine. However the surroundings, location, food and welcome were as good as ever. The elegance and relaxed environment were wonderful after a busy day out.
We probably got the worst rooms in the house, in the lobby of one of the outlying buildings, right next to the lift. I guess someone has to have them but I can't help but feel that they should be offered at a lower price. Nevertheless the room itself was clean, comfortable and well cared for. We did not really notice the lift and guest noise as we were out most of the time but a family with young children needing an early bedtime should ask to avoid these.
The hotel and grounds provide a beautiful location and the proximity to the monorail and Magic Kingdom is perfect.
There is some building work going on at the moment but it does not impact on the hotel, also the spa is closed for a while. I hope some of the building will include some expansion of pool areas, these were attractive and well kept but usually the loungers were all occupied.
Staff were brilliant, friendly, welcoming and helpful.
Pleased to get a turndown service, this was most welcome when we returned late and tired.
Prices are high here and yes,you can go elsewhere in the world and get an excellent hotel for a lower price but of course it will not be right next to the Magic Kingdom! We had a wonderful time and will be back.

Room Tip: They count as standard rooms but the rooms next to the lift in the lobbies are noisy. Avoid if this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,010 - 3,016 of 4,400 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

I just came back from a 4 night stay at the Grand Floridian for a business meeting. I thought it was just perfect. Lovely property, great meeting spaces, nice location for those who brought the family, attentive staff (as is to be expected at Disney), easy bus transportation to lots of sights. The rooms are a little old fashioned - but that goes with the style of the hotel. I loved it and could have stayed another week!

Room Tip: Facing the lagoon you can possible watch the fireworks and the electrical boat parade from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We spent six nights in the Sugar Loaf building at the Grand Floridian to celebrate a birthday. This entire building is concierge. This service includes breakfast, snacks, hors-d'oeuvres, drinks, etc. served in the lobby. The concierge desk is staffed until 10:00 PM. We requested and received a lodge tower room. These rooms are the standard GF room with an additional area that includes a couch, chair and another TV. There are only 3 lodge tower rooms in the building and must be requested. Two of these rooms have a balcony. Our room, on the fourth floor, did not have a balcony. It is obvious why the Grand Floridian is considered the premier place to stay at Disney World. First of all, the Grand Floridian is on the monorail and is the closet resort on the line to Magic Kingdom. There is also a boat that travels to the Magic Kingdom from the GF. There is a stop at the Polynesian if you are heading to Magic Kingdom. This is a pleasant and very convenient way to travel to the park. This convenience alone is worth the extra cost to stay in this resort. The lobby of the Grand Floridian is almost an attraction to visit by itself. The live music in the afternoon and evening is something of a Mecca after a day in the theme parks. The resort itself is impeccably maintained. The advantages of staying in the concierge accommodations are significant. We were able to have breakfast in our building every morning of our stay. The hors-d'oeuvres and other dinner items were plentiful enough that we cancelled several (expensive) dinner reservations and ate dinner in our building. The concierge staff at the Grand Floridian was extremely helpful. They try to accommodate every request.

We have stayed at the GF since it opened in the late 80’s. We have stayed at other Disney resorts and always seem a little disappointed compared to the GF. We have seen some subtle changes over the years. Most of these changes are expense reductions items such as the morning newspaper delivered to your door. The GF used to have its own logoed napkins and toiletries. The afternoon tea used to be served in fine china and is now just generic dinnerware. I just could not bear having the Grand Floridian lose its distinct identity. There were some rumors of new management at this resort. I sincerely hope any changes made to the GF won’t impact the "grand" luxury and convenience we have become accustomed to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BeachBum52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Upon arrival at the Hotel we were really pleased and our children said "Wow". Upon checking in we were told that our room wasn't ready so we went off to Hollywood Studios. once we arrived in our room it's fair to say we were disappointed to find all 5 of us sleeping in the same room within an 8 feet area. my daughter had to sleep on a fold down bed which is not ideal.
so we booked for 5 people....3 adults and 2 children as we checked our room we found only 2 coffee cups and only enough coffee for 2. Add the fact we only had 2 bath gowns/dressing gowns clearly the room wasn't prepared as I should have been. oh and one of the bedside light bulbs had died. I'm getting bored typing now.....suffice to say we paid just under £1000 for two nights in this hotel and were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a balcony room in the main building with a view of the Magic Kingdom Castle and fireworks. They have a great pool. And the monorail stops here frequently.
The service was great. The food at Narcoossee's was also great.
The only negative was that the carpet could have fresher; possibly shampooed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelican33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is our second stay at the Grand Floridian. It is a great hotel and you really can't beat the location. We had an amazing room this time on the 4th floor of the Conch Key building with a view of the Magic Kingdom. Something to be said for watching the fireworks from your balcony then putting the young ones straight to bed without having to fight the crowds leaving the park.

We were able to get such a great room because we were using some complimentary nights we received from Disney because of some significant issues with our trip a year ago. Disney did a great job of responding to our issues last year, and instead of defending they listened and provided more then enough compensation between comped hotel rooms and park passes. They really did a great job of making me satisfied customer again.

Overall the hotel is very nice. Although we did have an amazing room, overall I think the rooms are a bit dated. As with most Disney hotel rooms, they aren't top of the line with amenities, but who is hanging out in their rooms while they're at Disney. The pools are nice, but can be crowded depending on the time of year. The food at the restaurants is OK, but nothing too spectacular.

The way that Disney properties differentiate themselves is with the experience. The hotel design and atmosphere are amazing. We've been there during several different seasons, and it's great to see how they decorate and create a holiday ambiance. This year they had a series of these incredible large candy & chocolate eggs on display in the lobby. The whole place seems to adapt with each season. All of the staff are friendly and very helpful. It's hard to describe the atmosphere a resort creates until you are there, but Disney does an incredible job at the Floridian.

The other differentiating factor for the Floridian is obviously it's location. I can't tell you how much of a difference it makes to be on the monorail and the lake. It is so quick to get to and from the Magic Kingdom or Epcot. Although the bus transportation at other properties is good, it does add a lot of time to your day getting to and from the parks. Also, all the views from the property and the amenities such as boat rentals make such a difference.

One thing to note to all the runners out there. I never was able to find a good running route around the hotel. The route the hotel provides is rather short (about 1.5 miles) and confusing as it takes you through the Polynesian Resort (which is not easy to navitgate).

I know it's expensive, but I think the Grand Floridian is worth the price for overall experience and convenience.



Where Disney si

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the Conch Key building have great Magic Kingdom view rooms. Obviously the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNtoAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This resort was great - the staff were friendly, the food was great and the location was amazing if you are planning on spending time at The Magic Kingdom. The pool area was huge, with one side offering a kiddie pool and hottub, and the other side a waterside and waterfall. Our only complaint was that there some minor plumbing issues. The cold water tap in the sink took a while to turn on, and the shower water was cold unless it was run for about 5-10 minutes first. When we asked if they could fix the hot water situation we were told to just run the water for a while before we wanted a shower. Not an ideal fix, but I don't think that should detract from the overall quality of this resort.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank AMToronto29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $672 - $1,369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing