We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience. Will go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #23 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Experience. Will go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We just stayed at the Hyatt for 2 nights. Upon arrival, service was excellent, from guys at the front door to getting help with our bags.

The rooms were very clean/nicely decorated. We ended up getting a pool view room, when we paid for a cheaper room...and at no extra charge.

The grounds were just beautiful/well maintained. The 3 pools were just crazy fun. At least one of the pools was open 24 hours, which was a nice bonus (for those that like a late night swim). I loved the caves theme surrounding the pools. There was also a bar within those caves, which was quite cool.

There are lots of activities (biking, golf, kayaks, rock wall, etc), but we ended up just staying poolside and lounging. The only negative about all this is the $22/fee for those activities...but after seeing what they offer, and even just the pool experience and such, I don't mind it so much.

Self Parking was $11/day. Some would complain, but I don't mind as this resort is very private/gated, and the lot is very close to the hotel (even though it seems far away as you pull up to it).Valet parking I think was $20+ day.

They had several restaurants, but we only went to the so called "sports bar". That was kind of an interesting experience. It's more or less a sushi/tapas placed dressed as an old pub. Talk about mixing it up. Food was actually excellent, but very pricey for what you get (again, it was tapas, so really didn't expect a full meal). The rest of our stay we ended up going outside of the resort for meals, though we did eat lunch poolside one day, and it was excellent. There are many restaurants within a mile of the resort. The hotel does have a nice lounge in the lobby, which is open late, with lots of comfortable seating to relax. Really like liked that.

Overall, we had an excellent experience...will go back for sure. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a nice family spot that's close to everything Orlando offers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Van H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We are glad that you had a great experience her at the hotel and you really enjoyed the pools and restaurants. Both our pools are actually open 24 hours as well as our hot tubs and fitness center. Just a note: any of our guest can watch the fireworks each night as we have large windows on each floor. Just head up to any higher floor and watch these fireworks any night you wish. Your overall experience was excellent so we hope you will return soon and recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,122
    1,170
    350
    163
    114
See reviews for
2,113
1,005
86
1,087
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (937)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Mass
Level Contributor
218 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I don't think I've ever been in a noisier "upscale" hotel. There was a plastics convention in town, which meant that hordes of middle-aged guys in polo shirts that didn't qutie cover their bellies were roaming the hallways at all hours, this probably being the only time they get to spend away from their wives. Impromptu parties would form in the hallways after midnight and -- no joke -- you could hear every word. The doors to the rooms were simply not soundproof. Nor were the doors to the adjoining rooms, as I could hear the guy next to me snoring.

Otherwise, the place is fine. It's delightful to look at, if a bit over the top. The food is adequate. my buffalo-mozarella bruschetta tasted like a cheap pizza but the crabcakes were good. The pool is aesthetically interesting but completely impractical to swim in. The water slide is fine for kids but adults might find the unpadded slides a bit unforgiving -- the newer Lake Buena Vista hotels have padded slides..

Room Tip: as far out of harm's way as possible even if it increases the distances you need to walk to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a great stay here. The pool area and outside activities are exactly as billed. The pool bar has great servers and my Margarita was spectacular. Rooms are nice. We had an upgrade to a poolside and disney fireworks view and the family was able to enjoy that. Service at each level was excellent and I would say this is now my favorite Florida note.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shekhar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
With excellent customer service and clean comfortable rooms, our guests, like yourself get to enjoy a luxurious resort setting that seems far removed from the surrounding area but in fact we are right in the middle of it all. We sit on 1500 acres which buffers us from all the camaraderie of the Lake Buena Vista area. A great staff serving our guests poolside adds to the luxury feel here at the resort. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort hotel and we hope that you will return soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for a business conference. Nice grounds, 2-3 pools - one heated, one unheated. Pool food/drink service was very pricey and an extra convenience charge was added to the bill. However, it was decent tasting. Within walking distance of several chain restaurants. 5 minutes from Disney entrance/Downtown Disney. Quiet rooms except for outside construction on exterior of building during the day (lake view). If staying 2012, would ask for pool view due to construction. Very friendly gift shop and housekeeping staff. Balconies are for looking out only, not sitting! Beds were very comfortable. A/C was a little noisy when turning on/off.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teach227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Attended a conference so we received a discount on room.We stayed 5 nights and just loved walking around the grounds. The pools are awesome. There is a lake with canoes & paddle boats that were included. Self parking was $ 11 a night but we enjoyed the walk, Great view of the Disney fireworks from the upper floors of the atrium windows.It's also a easy walk or drive to some of the chain restaurants if you don't want to eat on site all the time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teawench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have stayed at this property several times, and have always thoroughly enjoyed our stays. However, our stays are usually for business and we have been unable to use the amazing pool. This time we were staying for leisure, to celebrate our son’s best friend’s sixth birthday. We booked two deluxe rooms in advance with a request for them to be connected. Upon arrival, the front desk could not get our rooms connected or even close together. This was the moment when we knew that this hotel is really committed to customer service. Instead of giving the usual speech about how “there is no guarantee” the front desk person knew that this was a special occasion with three young kids who really wanted to be in connected rooms. So, for nearly the same price, she put us in a one bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with a kitchen and amazing living room. The kids were so excited about by how big the room was, and had so much fun spreading out on the three sofas and eating at the large table.

The next day we were all able to enjoy the pool. It was absolutely beautiful. The grottos, waterfalls, waterslides, hidden hot tubs and rope bridge made us feel like we were on an exotic, tropical island. There were a few things about the pool to be aware of though. It is a bit far from the room, so be prepared to walk a ways. The water is not heated (or wasn’t when we were there) and was slightly too cold for the kids, especially in the grotto areas. Also, be sure to get to the pool early, as it fills up and finding chairs that are together may be a challenge. Last, the pool bar and grill stop serving drinks and food at 7pm. Other than these few small items, the entire stay was truly special and we want to thank the staff and management of the hotel for taking such good care of us. We will definitely be back and are happy to recommend you to others.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the pool. It is well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
As a local with so many hotel choices, we thank you so much for choosing our resort hotel again and again. Our customer service shined through once again to make your experience here a most enjoyable one. You stayed here this time during the spring break period which can be quite busy. Our pool staff tries their very best to accommodate all our guests by the pool and will do what it takes to ensure everyone is happy. Thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We arrived at the hotel on Saturday- and are still here. We have a three year old and we are really enjoying our stay.
Recommend:
1. Stay on high floor POOL view ( we are on the 10th fl)
2. Get a Regency Club room- its well worth it- great breakfast, coffee (they have an awesome latte/expreso machine and also fantastic early evening snacks with optional wine & beer at a reasonable price- you can get beverages all day including coffee.
3. Rooms are clean and elevators are plentyful and run quick.
4. Pools are great, quiet section and heated kids pool section with slide and waterfall! VERY kid friendly here.
5. Very convenient location to parks and lots of affordable restaurants

Cons:
1. I ordered me and my hubby frozen drinks- it cost me 30.00 ! won't do that again.

Thumbs up on this hotel- for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nfoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your positive review of our resort hotel. First and foremost is that we strive to provide each and every guest the service and attention he or she deserves. Once that is established, our beautiful grounds and our 800,000 gallon free form swimming pool just add to the relaxed atmosphere here. For that added touch I see that you noted that you used our Regency Club. The club lounge offers a great continental breakfast, afternoon snacks as well as a soda machine and a coffee/latte/expresso machine that is always available during the club's operating hours. We are glad that you had a great overall experience and we hope that you will return soon and recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.9 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
3.9 km away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#30 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#26 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,087 reviews
8.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
8.3 km away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#6 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing