We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #29 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a wonderful property, very close to Disneyworld and all the Orlando parks & entertainment. Lots to do on property whithout the crazyness of a ton of people at Disney properties. Had a great view of the Magic Kingdom Fireworks each night from the widow in the hallway on the upper floors.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KymTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Although we are in Lake Buena Vista and surrounded by all the local theme parks, our guest feel miles away from all of that because we are buffered by 1500 acres of tropical grounds with lakes and trees and tropical plants. Once our guests enter though our private gate house, the serenity begins......... Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,320 - 4,326 of 5,774 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

It's a nice hotel, nice rooms, nice people, nice parrot in the lobby, and nice on-site features (like the pool) but hotel guests are primarily there for Walt Disney World (WDW) and too much time is wasted in transit to/from WDW (even worse if visiting Universal Studios). Since there is more to do in the parks than there are hours in the day, time is precious. Staying at a Disney resort minimizes the time getting to the parks (drop off at park entrance vs the transportation center) and includes Extra Magic Hours (helps avoid the crowds and having to wait in the associated long lines). At these prices, the Hyatt is every bit as expensive as any of Disney's deluxe hotels but lacks the convenience.

Other issues:
(1) Mandatory resort fees – you traveled all the way to Orlando/Lake Buena Vista and have spent hundreds of dollars for tickets to WDW theme parks. It doesn't make sense to skip the parks in order to use the Hyatt's paddle boats, canoes and other recreational stuff.
(2) Daily self parking fees are shameless when there is no shortage of space at a hotel on 1,500 acres of land and the self-parking lot is in a land far, far away.
(3) The pool gets crowded and obtaining towels stops just short of requiring a background check. I'm not sure who is sneaking onto the property to use the pool and/or to steal the towels but at least there is not towel fee (yet).
(4) Food and beverages are really expensive. For a Thomas Keller, Daniel Boulud or Eric Ripert restaurant, I'm glad to pay that high of a premium but the Hyatt's offerings are not at that level.

Again, the Hyatt's quality, service and cleanliness are five-star and would be ideal if located at a beach / non-theme park destination. Except for those staying for free (redeeming frequent guest rewards), the Hyatt is a really poor value. If you are looking to save money, Disney has value resorts and there are countless hotels for a fraction of the cost and within the same distance as the Hyatt. If you require four or five star accommodations, Disney's deluxe resorts and Starwood's Swan/Dolphin are comparable in price and offer something Hyatt can't: more time enjoying the WDW parks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the resort on a non-holiday week and had a wonderful stay. Grounds are amazing with incredible jogging, biking, and walking trials, beautiful landscaping. Nice amenities at the resort (good tennis, golf, recreational activities for the kids, pools, etc.). Rooms were recently remodeled and very stylish and comfortable. Food at hemmingway's very good, palm court good for lunch, cascade restaurant was so so at best.

A few downsides - yes, it is expensive, but I found myself less nickled and dimed with paying the resort fee (includes internet, activities for kids, etc.). Staff at pool / activities could have been more enthusiastic. Kids activities planned on the hour, and would start by a staff member yelling in a megaphone over the pool "activity starting now". They did little to round up kids or create enthusiasm, and the activities were without much fanfare and quite short. Overall staff seemed a bit "over it".

Room Tip: All rooms locations appear to be fine - some have better views of disney fireworks, and some suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugdocsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed our lush tropical grounds and also are recently renovated rooms. Thank you for also noting the sporting facilities and our excellent restaurants. We hope you return soon and please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress for spring break, and had a great time. The grounds are beautiful, three pools and three hot tubs plus kayaks, canoes and paddle boats (no sailboats) added up to lots to do! The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The Regency Club is well worth the extra money. Breakfast had plenty of varied choices each day (including pancakes, bagels, cold cereal, oatmeal, croissants, fruit, yogurt), and the "snacks" at night were incredible. Filet mignon, shrimp, crab claws, potstickers . . . we didn't buy dinner one night. Wine, beer and liquor was reasonable, and 12 th floor space with patio was great. Drinks by the pool, however, were ridiculously overpriced. Food was reasonable and good quality in all restaurants property. Shuttles to Sea World/Discovery Cove were not convenient, so be prepared to either cab it or rent a car (Discovery Cove, by the way, was incredible and well worth the money). Housekeeping was an issue, but quickly and cheerfully rectified. Spa pedicure was great.

Room Tip: Get Regency Club. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sforeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 4 nights here over spring break/Easter and our stay had several highs but also several lows. On the positive side... the grounds, pools, and facilities are gorgeous. Three pools with one designated "kiddie pool" with a "kiddie slide", another bigger slide (scary even for some grownups), caves, grotto bar, huge lobby, restaurants, lake, biking, golf.... everything you could want. We loved the Easter egg hunt provided by the staff for our two boys. The Magic Kingdom fireworks from our room were great. Short drive to Epcot (probably 10-15 minutes door to door). Clean and attractive room. Our boys loved paddle boating, riding bikes, running along the trails, and the pitch and putt golf.
Personal preference on this... the location was "too commercial" for me. I know some people love to be right in the mix so those people would love this location. Lots of restaurants and touristy shops nearby... close to the outlets and Publix (although anticipate TONS of traffic delays).
On the negative side: the pool area was TOOO crowded and extremely dirty. I know it was at capacity but I think the staff really should have done a better job with maintenance. One day there was actually feces all over the floor in the boys pool bathroom. Disgusting! My other big complaint is the price gouging. Having stayed at Hyatts on business before I've seen this done.... but this hotel is clearly for families and charging $11 for a yogurt parfait is just wrong. $11 for a small bowl of chips and salsa?
Tip: get your towels on a few chairs at 8:00am SHARP if you want a chaise by a pool.
So, I had mixed feelings. We really did enjoy our stay but I think we may go elsewhere next time we're in Orlando.

Room Tip: View of Magic Kingdom (not Epcot) Fireworks are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nolemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What a beautiful hotel...the grounds are wonderful...the people are the best...and the rooms have been redone.....this is one of the best hotels ever...and so close to Disney...you can watch the fireworks out of your window!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Thank you for staying with us and noting that our staff was the best ! We believe that, above all else, our resort is most proud of the staff here at the Hyatt. Add in the beautiful grounds and a great pool and there you have it - a great experience here at the beautiful 1500 acre resort known as The Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress !

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have stayed at this property a half dozen times in the last 18 months. The grounds and lobby are gorgeous. There are three pools (including a designated quiet area) and each is beautiful. At first glance, the resort fee seems a bit high at $22 per day. However, the gym is nice and they do have a steam room and a sauna which is also included. They have canoes and kayaks and bikes that are included in this fee (also wifi). Plus, a few nights a week there is a fire pit. My favorite was the nine hole pitch and putt (holes about 50 yards). The parking used to be free and I was not pleased to find it is now $11 per day, and trust me it is a bit of a haul from the self-parking to the lobby elevators (especially after a day at the parks). We had an extremely comfortable king bed and a great view of the pool. Bathroom and television were top notch. I will be back here in June.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.4 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,504 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
3.2 km away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 342 in Orlando
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#30 of 342 in Orlando
5,906 reviews
4 km away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#31 of 342 in Orlando
4,557 reviews
7.1 km away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#55 of 342 in Orlando
5,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#7 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $234 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing