We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room at WDW during the Christmas Holiday Season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #31 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We shared a 2 bedroom, Magic Kingdom view villa with another couple in December of 2011. The room was on the 11th floor right in the middle of the building. We had front row seats to see the Magic Kingdom at night, when the castle was lit with morphing colored lights. In addition, there was no better place to view the fireworks than from our balcony. We have stayed at every DVC resort at Disney World and this room was our favorite. The resort is located on the monorail, which you can take to the Magic Kingdom or to EPCOT and also to other resorts. It is also just a short walk to the Magic Kingdom. Another good feature of the room is that it has an extra full bathroom (a total of 3 bathrooms). If you have someone sleeping on the pull out sofa or chair, they will have their own private bathroom.
The Magic Kingdom view rooms book up quickly and they are some of the most expensive rooms at Disney, but if you are lucky enough to get one, you will not be sorry. It will be an experience you will always remember. Try to stay there during the Christmas Holiday season.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view. If getting a Magic Kingdom view room, try to get a room in the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,353 - 1,359 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

This was our second stay at Disney's Bay Lake Tower. Our two bedroom villa was perfect for our party of 8 (2 families) as the bedrooms are separated by the common area. There are 3 bathrooms, so lots of room to get ready. The lake view room was perfect for watching the nightly water parade at 10 pm. We were at the end of floor 2 and could walk out of our room and straight down the stair exit and we were right at the pool gate. The weather was amazing at the end of march and the pool and activity staff had many pool activities for the kids to participate in while the adults lounged at the pool. We went during spring break in Orlando and it was quite busy. We managed the crowds by using the early morning hours or being at a park right at opening. We could get on the rides with minimal waits and sometimes the kids could even go twice. We left the shows to later on after we finished riding the rides or fast passing the more popular attractions. This way we could be back at the hotel by 2 pm and get some relaxation time before heading out for supper. The only thing we missed were some parades but then we just revisited the park on a different day srrictly to watch the parades or see characters -we had a 7 day pass. We finished each major park in 1 day and had time to visit water parks and Disney quest. The dining plan is a must! Have fun!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buller_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Because the Contemporary Resort is situated on the monorail within minutes to the Magic Kingdom, this resort is best if you plan to be at Magic Kingdom late--especially with children.

The resort looks like a spaceship trendy kind of interesting interior design. It is situated attached to the historic Contemporary Resort and connected by a landbridge. The views from the landbridge are beautiful at sunset.

But getting a reservation is difficult. It's a Disney Vacation Club resort and Disney is sharing it with larger timeshares like RCI. I've seen it on RCI's boards and it is always the first DVC resort booked up.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floridabluemacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I probably need to start by saying that we are timeshare owners at Bay Lake Tower. The location and apartment style set up is ideal for our family of young kids, but I must admit on previous visits to various Disney Vacation Club properties i'd been a bit disappointed by the finishing of the rooms. These places obviously get subjected to more than average wear and tear, but previous complaints about upkeep seem to have been taken on board. There were a couple of 'detailing' issues - a few dusty shelves etc - but against considerations of the location, room set up, pool etc, these were very minor faults.

We had a dedicated two bedroom apartment for the first 5 nights (7 guests) and this was room 8044 - 10th floor, on the outside of the building looking over the lake and towards Epcot. It made for a super view.
The second room we had for the last night (5 guests) was 8511 - 15th floor, on the inside of the building overlooking the pool but again with a good view of Epcot in the background.

The pool deck seemed unusually busy - moreso than the pool at the neighbouring Contemporary Resort - and at times it was difficult to find somewhere to sit. It;s protected by key-card although some abuse of this was evident with people openly admitting to 'inviting' friends & family in. This was a minor annoyance but the entertainment and slides that were setup for the kids offset much of this.

Bell service could be improved here too - the property won't allow guests to use bell carts but there are no bellmen based in this wing - instead they have to be requested from the main hotel. As a result, unacceptably long waits can occur at check-in and check-out.

Services are limited in the property too - the 16th floor bar for owners and the pool bar is the limit, making it a bit of a schlep over to the main hotel if you wanted to pick up provisions in the shop.

In summary, this place isn't perfect but Disney seem to have realised that there's some stiff competition just down the road and they're making good progress in upping their game - presumably to continue justifying the high price you pay to own or stay here...

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside of the building (even numbers) seem to be bigger as they 'flare' out an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisstony123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a 9th floor lake view room providing a panoramic long-distance view of EPCOT and Animal Kingdom. The natural light brightened what seemed like a dimmed room, but otherwise there were no complaints. We had a dedicated two-bedroom, meaning there were two separate beds in the second bedroom, along with the pull out couch and large pull out chair in the living room. All in all, with three bathrooms, there was more than enough room for our family to be together but still have enough space to not feel cramped.

The resort is well positioned on the property. Highly recommend walking to the Magic Kingdom, as the pathway is much more direct than three stops on the monorail. You can still experience the monorail on the way back from the park (1 stop) or on the way to EPCOT. Buses are available to all the other areas, and were always just a short wait.

There are plenty of recreation options - the pool, two slides, sprinkler play area and the hot tub. There is a ping pong table nearby, plus bocce and shuffleboard courts. For variety, guests can walk over to the Contemporary's pool area. Both pool areas have food/bar options, with soda fountains where you can refill the Disney refillable mug. Guests can attend a nightly bonfire/movie for a break from the theme parks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AOKtravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Bay Lake Tower. This was our first stay in the deluxe resorts and I was not sure what to expect. Overall, it was very nice and if you are a DVC member (we are not) I'm sure some of those private ammenities llike the top floor lounge would be more appreciated. There were some minor communication problems with housekeeping, as they did not respond to a written request for one extra towel, and the person who answered the phone at the front desk told me not to expect much with a note, and she said "its likely they don't even speak English". Wow! Also found a large long black hair on the shower wall the first day and one time they replaced towels but didn't take out the old ones......? Otherwise it looked pretty clean.

The room was fine, a studio - and large enough for the three adults in our party. We had a second floor room with a view of the tennis courts and the lake, so it was pretty and quiet with lots of wildlife to watch. We did walk to the Magic Kingdom twice, it was a very short 5-10 minute walk - one morning we left the room at 6:40 for Extra Magic Hour at 7, and were there before the opening show. We could also hear the train whistle from our room and that was pleasant.

The pool looked okay, we didn't take the time to swim but did go down and walk around it twice. The hot tub was nothing but "kiddie soup" both times, which I find strange, meaning it was FULL of children as young as 5 and only one adult who didn't stay in it long. Most services we used were over in the Contemporary, which is not a far walk. All the gift shops and resturants are there, with nothing in the Bay Lake Tower itself. The quick service resturant was fine, and has limited seating, try to avoid peak meal times. The laundry room is on the first floor and was clean and nice. We received no pressure from anyone trying to get us into the DVC, in fact we walked by them a dozen times and they never even said "hey there", which was ok.

Overall, it was good and we were looking for the experience of being close to the Magic Kingdom. My next trip will probably be back at Coronado Springs or Shades of Green because we have more elbow room and closer amenities at both, and a much larger pool at CS for a lot less money.

For anyone wanting the newest Disney Resort, ultra modern looking and close to the services in the Contemporary, Bay Lake Tower will likely fill the bill. For a large family or for one that wants to cook a lot in their rooms, I'm sure a one or two bedroom room here would be perfect.

Room Tip: Our room by the tennis courts was quiet and pretty. For fireworks, we went up and stood on the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePelicanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had great anticipation of our Theme Park View. It was obstructed. Disney agreed to make it right. by giving us a credit. They offered to move us but after unpacking I was not about to suggest to my wife we repack and move. We were worn out from hitting the park.
My advice is do not accept a park view on the 7000 side that is below the 5th floor.
The room was nice, clean and the furniture was comfortable. The decore was not detailed like other properties have done with the subtle hidden Mickies.

Room Tip: Get a room above the monorail for a good view. We were in 7326, it had a severely obstructed view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drjonman2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $691 - $1,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando
Bay Lake Tower At Disney's Contemporary Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing