We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #35 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks at the beginning of February, it was very nice & our children enjoyed seeing the animals.

We were out every day apart from 1 poolside day, so we are quite glad we didn't spend the extra on a Savannah room as we wouldn't have got any more benefit than our own animal hunts around the 2 hotel areas.
Our children really enjoyed taking the animal sheet provided in our room & going on a search, we found all sorts of places to see animals from, all over the place.

The pool is really nice, although a bit cold. The hot tubs are superb, our daughter almost fell asleep resting on her Dad's legs.

We have to say a special THANK YOU to Jeff at the concierge desk for trying very hard & finding us a Chef Mickey's breakfast cancellation.......thank you, thank you :0) it was fantastic & our children utterly loved it.

The food isn't the cheapest, and we found it a bit strange that you can buy a hotel refillable drink mug, but you can only refill it at the self service restaurant. They won't put any soft drink in it at the pool bar, so my husband had to buys us to drinks...bring them to our table, then walk to the self service restaurant to get some coke for the children!!

Also, the self service restaurant is situated in a place that you have to walk outside the hotel to go to it.....there is no entrance from inside the hotel, we found that a little strange too.

The maid service was very good, our room was always clean & towels always changed.

The hotel is really well set out & very well done with the theme of safari, my son & I had a lovely walk around at about 5am the morning after we'd landed. We were awake because of the time difference so we went on a lovely quiet walk inside & out.

Being (I think) the furthest hotel away from some of the parks it does sometimes feel like it takes a while to get to your destination, but it's not too far.
I think we would stay in one of the more central Disney hotels when we go next time, but I am glad we have stayed here.

I won't say we'll ever go back to this hotel because we never return to the same places, too many hotels in the world to try!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaroleScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,966)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,509 - 4,515 of 6,966 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Your experience with this amazing hotel starts in the lobby as you check in, breath-taking does not begin to describe it. Staff very attentive right down to the Swahili greeting ( Jambo) and nothing was too much trouble. The attention to detail raised this hotel above many other Disney hotels. The view of the Savannah from the room was the icing on the cake. The room was in excellent decorative order and the African theme was carried out throughout though in a very subdued manner.
We will definitely return, in fact we have already booked for this year and this will be our 5th stay. We love everything about it from the fantastic buffet food in Boma to the wonderful dining experience in Jiko's.
So go on spoil yourself - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Higher floors enable you to take advantage of the savannah view though the view overlooking the pool...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bibbidiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I am new to Trip Advisor, but have really relied on other's opinions recently when booking our next trip. I decided to write a review on this resort as well. We actually had booked our Disney trip at the All-Star Movie resort, which is a a lower end resort that is themed around Disney movies. We checked in online 10 days prior to our arrival date and had made all the reservations, dinig plans and our schedule for each day and which park to be at. On our way to the park (we drove to Disney), we received a call we had been upgraded. Sounding too good to be true, we verified by caling back into Disney and found out we had in fact been upgraded to a Queen, bunk bed suite at the Animal Kingdom Lodge. I can still see the hallways, lobby, pool and hear the sounds. It was a great resort with plenty to do when you got back from the parks. Pool was open until midnight every night, which was a must for my kids (ages 6 and 7 at the time). The african buffet was unusual, but the kids buffet there was very tasty (nuggest, spaghetti, fries). Never found out what our final rate would have been had we paid for the upgrade, but I am sure it would have been worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel features the first class amenities that Disney resorts are known for. The rooms are reasonably spacious and offer views of the animals in their habitats. The rooms and common areas are decorated in an African jungle theme. The restaurants' offerings are prepared with the African theme also. I did not like that our room was a really long walk from the lobby. It was difficult to find healthy food options for our toddler, but that is a problem throughout Disney, so not really a reflection on AKL. All considered the accommodations were very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodGirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We recently visited the Disney deluxe resort, Animal Kingdom Lodge. It was a wonderful experience and definitely lived up to its classification of a 'deluxe' resort in almost every way. From the moment we pulled up to the parking attendant, we were treated to some of the famed Disney special service. The attendant knew somehow that it was our anniversary and also had the pronunciation to our name correct (our name, while common sounding, has an unusual spelling). Upon arrival at the gorgeous, African inspired resort we were met by a very friendly lady who showed us to the express check-in line. We were able to get our room early and enjoyed the kids playground and viewing the pink flamingos while we waited. We also enjoyed lunch at the Mara- they have great flatbread pizzas. Our room, while pretty and colourful, was a bit small with the two queen beds. The bathroom area was nice, as was the balcony, but the actual living space was the only disappointment of the whole hotel.

Disney's Animal Kingdom lodge was a wonderful hotel. The service was excellent, the hotel is very clean and beautifully maintained and the added elements of having a safari like mini zoo surrounding it was really special. It is neat to see a giraffe as you are walking from your room to the pool through one of the many large windows. The restaurants at Animal Kingdom Lodge - Jambo house are really nice and we walked up to the other part of the resort - Kidani Village for dinner at Saana - and it was the best meal we had the whole time at Disney - dinner while looking at Zebras 20 feet from your table - a magical evening for sure. The pool and gift shop are great as well and kids can watch movies at night beside or in the pool. They have two great hot tubs too to enjoy.

Tips - subscribe to the insiders Disney newsletter a few months before you are hoping to book a Disney trip at - www.mousesavers.com - this site sends you insider tips about 1x a month and i learned through one of the newsletters that Disney had a 'free meal plan' promotion. This saved us about $800 in meals and we ate like Kings for the whole time we were there with only paying for a couple of breakfasts. Another tip is to use the disney.com Mom's panel advice - great advice when booking Disney hotels. You can also make dinner reservations for any Disney restaurant on the Disney website - much more convenient than by phone and do this as early as you can to avoid disappointment. Also i recommend taking the Disney bus transport rather than your rental car if you have one. We took our car the first day and it was more of a hassle than the Disney bus system which runs very smoothly. It is not far from this hotel to any of the Disney parks.

It was a wonderful hotel and I very highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great time, especially if you enjoy animals. Our two boys had a fantastic time!

Room Tip: Select one that is as big as you can afford as the rooms with two beds are on the small side.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OntarioSoftwareMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

For our honeymoon we decided to take my 10 year old son and go to Disney. We chose Animal Kingdom Lodge with the meal plan and we were extremely happy. Jamba House, the lobby, was beautiful. The view from our room was special - the view was of Zebra's, Elands, Pelicans and more. The staff were exceptionally nice and the restaurants were great. The restaurants had an African/Indian influence and their menus stood out and their food delicious. We had a rental car and were surprised to find out we did not have to pay for parking at the lodge or at any of the other resorts and parks. There is a day care available after 4:30 everyday which allowed for some private time. This was a very memorable trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SGJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in a savannah room at the WDW Animal Kingdom. The rooms were spacious and clean. The balcony overlooked the savannah where we enjoyed the giraffes, zebras, and other animals feeding and roaming about! It was relaxing and beautiful! The service was excellent. The food court was typical of the Deluxe resort food courts. The resort itself offers many relaxing areas to watch the animals, a nice campfire to enjoy, and a beautiful big pool! We stayed there with our family which was a total of 3 rooms, and there were absolutely no complaints the entire trip! Thank you Disney for another magical trip!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljsoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $426 - $837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing