We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for families very good staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #75 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for families very good staff.”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here between march end of march and first two days of April as a family of five. We stayed on the third floor.

Hotel is very clean, breakfast buffet good and overall a good choice for my family. Yes swimming pool is small but we used it daily and never found it too busy.

Considering it was spring break the hotel coped as if it was quiet.

Housekeeping were particularly good especially when my daughter was unwell and her sheets needed changing.

My only negative was whilst we were there we tried to rebook for our next visit via phone number we were given and found reservations unhelpful and not really helping us so we have come back and booked a different hotel this time which is a shame.

Overall this little gem is in a great location to disney and sea world and anyone staying there should have a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on third floor at rear of hotel. Use back door to enter if you have lots of shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeuk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re glad that our hotel’s amenities and location fit the needs of your family perfectly. We are, however, very sorry to hear about your booking incident, and we are passing your comments along and looking into the matter further. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    663
    201
    90
    40
See reviews for
1,219
480
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just arrived back after 2 weeks stay (2 adults/3 kids) and friends. 1st time to Orlando so were a little apprehensive and our expectations were high. We wernt disappointed! Hired a car booked it online easy. We found hotel straight away asked couple people on route. Location was spot on 5 mins drive to disney, 15 mins to universal, 5 mins walk to loads restaurants. Would recommend Hooters, gud for a burger, Black Angus steak and Shrimps were marvelous, Olive Garden italian and v. gud and across crossroads The Ale House the cheapest but definately worth a mention. Couple times we got taxis (8 people) so we could have a beer 30 dollars to Universal City Walk or 3 buses!!! Downtown Disney and Pleasure Island was 16 dollars, kids loved Disney Quest which were included on tickets we had bought online otherwise $40ish. Winn Dixie supermarket around the corner for supplies locals really friendly everytime we went we were offered someones saver card brill!

Staff at hotel were great couple times wen we had a few busy days at parks came back to hotel had a soak in hot tub couple cold beers, Cedric on the desk had papa johns pizza ( never had a bad order always piping hot) on speed dial - great end to fabulous day. Edwardo was great with the kids at breakfast time kept them entertained - food was better than expected couple hot items fruit, cereals, toast and jams, juice, tea and coffee. Rooms i would say are bit dated but never the less gud value perhaps cud do with being bit bigger ( there was 5 of us and the sofa bed was not mega comfy) kitchen was more that adequate cud have cooked if we d have wanted. Maid service was great washed our cups etc clean towels everyday. Mon-thurs couple free beers and pop, crisps incl in price, managers special on wed wen you could have burger 1 week and hotdog other. Pool is fairly small but we always got a bed, hot tub, basket ball area, even got bbqs that you could use. Free towels. You couldnt ask for anything more other than perhaps foot massage!

Few tips: 2 toll roads from international airport $1.75 for both make sure you get in right queue if you havent change a fine if not.

We took a picnic to parks including couple frozen waters not a problem saved us loads(we ate out every evening) although food looked really nice and not a bad price. Refillable cups available which wer gud value.

We took dollars with us and credit card in case we ran out which we didnt but you do need it for car and hotel, we roughly spent around $100-$150 for 5 of us on evening meal incl drinks sometimes bottle wine. Never saw a exchange shop.

We ordered our tickets for parks online with ' i love orlando' £1600 for disney and universal and from what others said ours wer cheapest included fastpass in disney. Try to plan what rides you want to go on you can only have fastpass tickets on so many rides and every so often throughout day and queues can be long!! Wear comfy shoes!!!

Sorry like War and Peace but so much i cud say but definately would use this hotel again. Have fun......

Room Tip: We stayed 2nd floor over looking pool, very quite at nite. Bit of noise from neighbours wen they got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debrahuntington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a wonderful first visit to Orlando and we’re glad that we got to be a part of it. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again the next time you’re visiting the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is an old property that is poorly maintained with many defects in the room and not much concern on the part of the staff. The issues included missing door hardware, malfunctioning bathroom sink, tears in the furniture and burned out light that never was replaced during our stay.
Also compared to other Hotels the breakfast provided each day was well below average. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tillyseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
We’re very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Customer satisfaction is as top priority and we assure you that we are passing your comments along. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again so that we may show you better hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a lovely little hotel in a handy location. Stayed here end of March beginning of April 2012 and was our 3rd stay there. Suites are very clean, spacious and equip with everything you will need. The only disappointment is the King suites (one huge bed) are only located near the lifts or end of the corridor next to the air con units so can be slightly noisy, the beds are extra comfy! Safety deposit boxes are located behind reception; you sometimes have to put your name on a list for one if the hotel is busy.
One of the reviews on here says there is only one lift but that is not the case there is two, one is located just off reception at the top of the hall way on the left and one is located right at the bottom of the hall way on the left hand side where the ice machines are, we used this one frequently as our room was near it.
At breakfast they serve a variety of food on different day which is a bit repetitive but its great for free and to fill up before you head out for the day! The happy hour special on an evening is a nice little touch.
Staff are all friendly and helpful. Disappointed that Jason on reception has left but these things happen. The guy who serves the drink at happy hour is lovely and he recognised us which was nice.
There are plenty of restaurants within a short walking distance for example Cici's pizza restaurant/take out, steak houses, run and run Chinese take out which do delivery, McDonalds, Burger King, Steak and Shake, TGI Fridays, Buffalo Wild Wings etc and also a large food mart.

You can walk to Downtown Disney which takes about 20 minutes. The Links buses run frequently outside of the hotel, all day passes cos $4.50. The hotel offers a shuttle bus service to all parks including Universal, the Disney drop off is at Epcot then you have to use Disney transportation to get to the other parks which is so easy. The only thing we found with the shuttle bus was that its restricting as there is only one from the hotel at either 8.30am or 11am ish and the earliest one back to the hotel is 6pm! I think the hotel should look into putting a more frequent service on!

Hope this review helps people.

Room Tip: If there are two of you and you want a king room ask for the one away from the lift, you want the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dgilluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your review and loyalty! We’re happy to hear that you always find our establishment clean and our staff friendly. We also appreciate all of your feedback, and we are passing your comments along to the appropriate departments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Spent two weeks here with our family (2 adults/2 children). We wanted a suite-hotel (with a separate bedroom) as our youngest child was only 12 months old at the time and we knew she'd be going to bed long before we were! We also wanted somewhere fairly spacious and the Hawthorne Suites did not disappoint.

It's a nice complex and excellent value for money. Staff were extremely friendly and approachable. The room was a great size with a kitchen/ diner, separate lounge area and bedroom (with two queen size beds). Kitchen was well equipped (dishwasher, microwave, fridge, hob and plenty of plates, cups, glasses, utensils etc). Room was cleaned well (every day if you want or you can opt to have it done less than this is you don't want staff traipsing in your room on a regular basis).

The outside pool area and hot tub was pleasant. There are landscaped gardens and basketball courts. It's not a huge garden area (and the pool could get fairly crowded some evenings) but it was enough for my children and a good place for them to cool off in after a hot day at Disney World.

Breakfast was free (as was parking) and there was a fairly good variety of hot and cold food. The breakfast area could get crowded but they had an extra 'over flow' room they opened up on some days so there was always enough seating to be found.

Hotel was close - only a mile or so away - to Disney. There were shuttle buses that came to the hotel (as long as you were prepared to go at set times) although we had a car with us so didn't take these.

Overall a really pleasant stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollytree63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re glad that your accommodations fit your family’s needs, and that you enjoyed our staff, location, and amenities. It was great having you and we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a nice hotel, one of the best thing is the location, is near I4 highway, so is very easy to go everywhere including attractions and shopping centers, the hotel is nice, the only thing is that rooms are smaller than they look in the picture, so it can be a little bit uncomfortable. Most of the staff is attentive, specially the one´s that attend the breakfast.

Room Tip: lower floors, there is just one elevator, and if you are carrying a lot of thing with you can be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vichug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re glad that you found our location convenient and our staff helpful! It was a pleasure having you and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I thought hard about giving this hotel 4 out of 5, but it's not quite a 5. But I should point out, before I write the review I will definitely come back and definitely recommend it.

We stayed here for 10 nights in March/April 2012. The hotel is in a great location, close to Disney, sea world and 15+ restaurants. The olive garden 1/4 mile away is great. But there are plenty. There is a Walmart 7 or 8 mins away in the car also. So location is great.

Staff - all of the reception staff are top draw, very good and helpful. Breakfast and maintenance staff too. The rooms are pretty good - kitchen area with coffee machine, microwave and fridge/freezer. 2 tvs and bath/shower. A little dated but nothing major. Clean and decent beds, pillows ok.

The pool is ok, it's not massive and not dozens of beds, but we never had a problem getting one. Kids loved the pool, it was very warm. Reception and general areas are pretty good, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good - it's free, so remember that. If you are from the USA and used to good buffets, it will be of average quality. But they do 3 hot items, various fruit, breads etc. We got a bit bored by the end of day 10, but to be fair it started the day off well. Enough choice and the kids enjoyed it. Also the coffee and tea is available all day, a nice touch. Coffee was half decent. Cereal, toast, bagels etc.

They do a managers drinks and snacks evening mon to thurs. Two drinks, wine or beer, plus soft drinks. This was a nice touch and we relaxed by the pool whilst having it.

There is free wifi in the room, enough for business use. Not super fast, but not bad.

Overall, we all really enjoyed our time here and will come back. Please remember this is a 2 1/2 star hotel. It is actually more like a 3 star +. The rooms are nice, lobby nice, drinks and breakfast a nice touch. A great location, that is key. Why didn't I give it 5 stars? I grade hotels on value for money, this certainly is. Ut I would hate for someone to think this is a 4 star type hotel. There is no bar, the gym is useable but only has 5 items I. It (which by the way was perfect for us to use), the rooms are nice but a little dated, the pool is adequate but not amazing, the towels, for example, are not plush. Laundry room, which is helpful. That sums it up, more than adequate for families on holiday and out most of the day - but not plush. We will be back as great value for money. The staff should be commended for doing a great job.

Room Tip: I would avoid the laundry room (second floor near lift) area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaintmarkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and accommodations, as well as our location and amenities. We are constantly striving for excellence and we are passing your comments along for future improvements. We appreciate your recommendation and are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Address: 8303 Palm Pkwy, Orlando, FL 32836-6438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#82 Family Hotel in Orlando
#100 Business Hotel in Orlando
#105 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest Hawthorn Suites to the Walt Disney World Resort! Just one mile from the entrance to Disney. Executive guest rooms perfect for corporate travelers and One Bedroom suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, separate living and dining room. Tropically landscaped outdoor pool area & jacuzzi. Complimentary scheduled transport to Disney and free hot breakfast. Two hour manager's reception in the evenings Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Lake Buena Vista
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing