We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nicer places” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grande Villas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nicer places”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We booked our time share late so we didn't have much to chose from. Front desk check-in staff were ok but not as friendly and pleasant as they could be. After check-in we were directed, practically escorted to another desk area to pick up our guest complimentary passes which was just a way to get you to sign-up for their sales pitch to buy more timeshare points.
They advertise a fitness center which I wouldn't call it that. One treadmill, and 3 eliptical machines which 2 were in the corner broken. What I was really disappointed with was the one bedroom. First we stayed in a puke green building. The front door to the rooms are all dinged. You walk-in and there is a sleep sofa in this very dark kitchen with a TV on the wall. It was very depressing walking into this unit. The bedroom was OK with the balcony. However the balcony is soooo small and because of the design of the building you can only see straight out and nothing to the sides as it is just walls. The weather was perfect to keep the slider open a night however being next to the mini golf people gathered there at all hours and talked. Had to call the front office 3 nights as this area was suppose to close at 11pm. Security did come each time and ask the people to leave. Bring ear plugs if you want a good night sleep. The bathroom area is a good size, nice shower and little window in the bathroom for light. The TV in the bedroom had very poor quality, very snowy. Go for a 2 bedroom as I was told they are incredibly nicer. Pool area was OK. The grounds for walking were not good. It was not kept up. Dead brown leaves everywhere - on the grass, around the shrubs, no flowers. The location to Disney is great - however if I go again I will stay at one of the Marriots. The Grande Vista which I have stayed before was our first choice but not available. Check that out before you stay hear. The extra fee with interval is worth it.

Room Tip: For quite nights stay away from the pools with the mimi golf. Get a 2 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77nikki77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    459
    105
    41
    27
See reviews for
813
309
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The first thing I must comment on is the fact that they do not offer free Wi-Fi, I couldn't believe it. The biggest downside according to my wife is there was no dishwasher or washer and dryer for clothes. I believe in the two and three bedroom units they have these amenities but not in the one bedroom. The resort itself was fine and they did have several activities throughout our stay that my kids enjoyed participating in. We stayed in a one bedroom because we got such a good deal on the unit. We knew the unit wasn't very large but were still surprised by how small it was when we arrived. The pull out sofa is in the kitchen and when you convert it to a bed you have almost no room left between the table and the bed. The location of the resort worked very well for us and was convenient to the vaurious parks as well as many restaraunts, etc. I would stay there again in a larger unit if I received a good enough deal. I think that if each person who stays there complains about the wi-fi they will eventually offer it for free, right now it's $20.00 or $25.00 for the week. They don't even offer free use of the two computers they have near the lobby. Our unit overlooked the "Turtle Pool" which worked great because it seemed like a lot of the activities where held there. Also, there was a store beside the pool that sold pizza, sandwhiches, drinks, pool toys, etc. which was very convenient and the food was pretty good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Do not get a one bedroom unit as it is tiny and there is no dishwasher or washer/dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acl401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom for a weekend while attending a function with our daughter. Check in was quick and efficient. The resort is in a nice location with easy access to parks.

I am giving this an average rating because there are so many options in the area and it just does not jump out as being anything more.

One bedroom condo is cramped in living/kitchen area. Furnishings were worn but not terrible. Bedroom and bath are larger and were clean. Several things in kitchen were broken or missing. Patio was very cramped. I would not recommend this for more than 3 people as it really was not as large as an average hotel room. Washer and dryer were located on upper floor. Faucets in bathroom were all backwards for hot and cold water

We did like the way the condos all surrounded the pool area and we liked that the snack bar/convenience store was open late and delivered food to the door. My husband bought milk there that was spoiled. He did not look at the date and we realized only when our daughter poured it on cereal. Pool was clean but way too crowded, we were visiting during a prime spring break week. Resort offered typical activities throughout the week for kids...tie dye tshirts, movie night, etc.

I can't say that we would not stay again, however, it would not be on the top of my list if given a choice with so many other options. This was available last minute and we needed to be in the area.

Room Tip: Pool facing units would be my choice, otherwise it's the parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Pros: Great location (right across the street from Downtown Disney), within walking distance to grocery stores/restaurants, nice pools, great playground for kids, 2 bedroom unit was big with plenty of room for 4 adults and 1 child, beds were decent, putt-putt course was nice.

Cons: Walls are paper thin and you will hear EVERYTHING going on in the units around you, parking gets tight late in the evening, furnishings were not very comfortable (couch, chairs, etc), food at the snack bars was mediocre, wireless internet was expensive and VERY slow.

My family stayed here for a week in March 2012 and the overall consensus is that it was just "Okay". We used a Groupon deal and only paid about $650 for 5 nights. For that price, we don't have many complaints but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the Cypress Villas for 7 nights. The place was clean, well stocked and the pool was great. The villa was spacious and the people who worked at the resort were very nice.

PRESSURE, PRESSURE, PRESSURE, The people who are trying to sell the time shares are your best friends until you tell them you are not interested in going to the "UPDATE". I realize that they are working on commission, but when you are going on vacation you do not want to spend a 1/2 day with them trying to pressure you into buying more points. When you check in you have to go to another desk for a welcoming package. That is when it all begins. They offer you money and discounts on tickets. When you turn them down, they start pressuring you to please consider it. THey always tell you 45 - 55 minutes and it turns out to be 1/2 day of being pressured into buying more points. We said we would go just to get them off our backs and then we did not go. They questioned us as to why and then the one person litterly stormed away from the desk. Very unprofessional . The place is nice but unless you want to buy more points stay away from the welcoming package, because all it is, is a sell pitch and pressure to attend the so called UPDATE"

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed in a 2 bed in Cypress Pointe Grande Villas in early Dec 2011 for 2 weeks. This was not a refurbished apartment but it was still in very good condition, clean and so convenient. We did not get to use the washer/dryer (laziness) but it was great to have them just in case. There were only 2 of us but it was great to have a bedroom each and not be tripping over each other as in a regular hotel room, a bathroom each was a nice bonus too. There was a TV in each bedroom as well as in the living room. I thought there was supposed to be a clean after a week but this didn't happen. We did not enquire about this as to be honest it suited us just as well - there were lots of towels and linens so we didn't need those and we are not untidy people, we clean as we go so it didn't need it anyway.

We were on the 2nd floor so didn't need to use the lift (elevator) other than at arrival and departure for suitcases. On check in we were asked if we interested in timeshare (we aren't) and there was a little push which I wasn't really in the humour for after a 9 hour flight but I know they have a job to do and they were very polite about it so not a problem. There was a light on our phone to indicate a voicemail during our stay but I did not check this, I am guessing it was about the timeshare spiel also but I could be wrong. It was great having the onsite shop to get in a few essentials on arrival and avoid having to drive to a store. I was quite surprised at how big the shop was and the choice available, I expected something much smaller.

All in all we were extremely happy with our stay and will happily return to Cypress Pointe GV again if we get the right price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank amg373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great Location, Great price. The resort and the location was very clean, the suites were more than we bargained for. Did not find one fault with this resort. Not to mention the staff were VERY VERY helpful and courteous. We are eagerly looking forward to going back to this location in the summer for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RecarroJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.9 km away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#18 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,530 reviews
3.0 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 334 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
3.5 km away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#25 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,361 reviews
3.1 km away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
3.6 km away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Villas Resort

Property: Grande Villas Resort
Address: 12118 Turtle Cay Circle, Orlando, FL 32836-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Villas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to deluxe accommodations for the whole family to enjoy, what area could possibly be better than Orlando, Florida? Avoid the hustle and bustle of traffic and overcrowded streets by refusing to settle for anything other than Grande Villas Resort. Here you will find relaxation and tranquility, all while giving yourself the pampering you and your family deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Villas Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing