We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask questions -- then ask again....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Ranked #139 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Anchorage
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ask questions -- then ask again....”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The room was fine by all standards -- and the staff tried to be helpful, but....

Question 1: Do you have an airport shuttle? Answer: Yes.
Real Answer: Crowne Plaza Airport has a shuttle, Universal doesn't. I'd called the 800 number and was assured a shuttle was available -- even booked the room at the Universal at that time. Added nearly $100 additional to my stay.

Question 2: Since airport shuttle isn't available, should you use the Crowne Plaza limo service? Answer: No. The transport captain tried to convince me that the $55 limo shuttle offered by the Crowne was a much better value than the taxi, if I was willing to wait 30-45 minutes to be picked-up. I took a pass on that suggestion, hopped immediately into a waiting cab, and was at the hotel $28 later.

Question 3: Does the Crowne have theme park shuttles? Answer: Yes.

Real answer: Kind-of. The Universal shuttle has 3 morning pick-up times only -- but they require a ticket on a first come, first serve basis; to assure your seat, you must pick-up tickets around 6:30a. 2 evening return times only. Disney "shuttle" only goes to Epcot; 3 choices of morning, 2 choices for return. In my world, a shuttle goes to-and-from on a much more convenient basis. This isn't a shuttle, it is "limited transportation."

Question 4: Is there free WiFi? Answer: Yes.

Real Answer: No. Again, 800 number confirmed the service -- "free wifi" is in the lobby only. Internet access in your room is $13 per day. (They did comp me this, since I complained -- but the "Yes, we have wi-fi," was just one more misleading item.)

Question 5: Is breakfast included? Answer: Breakfast is available.

Real Answer: When registering, we were told, "Your room qualifies you to join us for our morning buffet, please join us...." We had toast and scrambled eggs -- although our room (or perceivably ability to breath) "qualified" us to join the buffet, it was not complimentary -- it was $43 for two, as a matter of fact. Lesson learned -- one block walk bagged us a much better breakfast buffet for $4.99 each at a different hotel.

Question 6: Is there a pool? Answer: Yes. And the hours are convenient -- except that they allow children in the pool through 11:00p. Monsterous, loud and annoying. Perhaps no kids under 15 after 8:00p might be an idea???

The property is lovely, the rooms are nice, the staff is friendly -- but take your checkbook. I don't consider myself cheap, but we had booked about an $800 4-night stay that turned into half-again that much after the half-truth answers.

If you call to book your reservation, ask SPECIFIC questions and you might be happier than we were....

Room Tip: Higher the better to get away from the late-night pool noise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear David G,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    732
    278
    94
    63
See reviews for
671
637
69
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed one night with my family consisting of two adults and three kids (9,6,2). Booked a great deal (hotel stay/Sea World tickets) through Sea Worlds website. The hotel was very CLEAN. Location Location Location this hotel was close to EVERYTHING. The room was very clean and comfortable. All in all it was a great hotel and I would return, the reason we did not stay there for the duration of our trip is because being a family of 5 a condo/hotel suited our needs better. The only negative was the parking the hotel seemed at full capacity and there was no parking I had to park on the curb off the exit of the hotel. However the staff apologized and assured me it would be ok. Staff was friendly. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanie_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Great hotel and very close to all attractions and International Drive. It has a very nice pool area and the rooms are great. Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieEggery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It was as expected, slightly above average hotel but a real good location with ease to most I-Drive & Universal things. Our room wasn't ready until 3:45 upon checkin which was a pain but know that this can happen albeit rarely. We usually are able to check-in way before but not a huge problem. The rooms were fine, nothing at all outside the norm. The halls were quiet and the tiki bar by the pool was nice until we realized it was $6.50 per beer. A tad pricey for a 3.5 star hotel and smallish pool area.
Overall, it was decent and SO much better than the Wyndham across the street. Wow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxx3442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear maxx3442,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry we were not able to provide an earlier check in during your stay. Our check in time is 4:00 p.m., and we try to get rooms ready as soon as possible. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

we stayed her for 4 nights, went here after a terrible experience at Wyndham orlando resort experience. staff was very welcoming, we had a queen suite..beautiful layout. Hotel restuarant which is situated in the lobby surprisingly has really good food. Tiki bar by the pool has really good drinks (brian freeze which is like a mud slide is excellent)

Only downside is parking late night can be a bit of a problem but valet is really nice and lets you park in the valet section for free.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc7785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We decided to go to Universal last minute during spring break and this was the only place we could find to stay that was close and reasonably priced. The hotel is nice, with a nicely decorated lobby and a beautiful salt water pool, but could rooms could use a little sprucing up. It was comfortable and very clean, but the carpet and bathroom fixtures needed to be updated and our desk chair was broken. All of the employees we had contact with were very pleasant. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynameiscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I have never stayed at a Crowne Plaza. The front desk staff are professional and pleasant. The rooms are very spacious, and there are in-house and nearby dining options.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator (the walls are a little thin).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feedbacktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
13.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
1.3 km away
Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 km away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 339 in Orlando
4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#51 of 339 in Orlando
5,153 reviews
1.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Orlando International Drive
2.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#27 of 339 in Orlando
5,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Reservation Counter, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing