We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly less than perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #79 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Slightly less than perfect”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have stayed at many of the Disney properties and I absolutely LOVE the Wilderness Lodge - The ONLY reason I did not give this property a perfect 5 is because the beds were SO uncomfortable! I did not mention my discomfort to my family but after a couple of days, they also commented on it and we compared notes.... The problem is the bedding. The beds have the most uncomfortable bedspreads on the beds. STIFF polyester, and scratchy.... I would fold down the bedspread and it would practically stand on its own! If it happened to brush against my skin while I was sleeping it woke me up! My kids had the same problem and said that was their only complaint. It is my only complaint as well. Everything else about the Wilderness Lodge and the Villas is wonderful! Breathtaking lobby, cozy, warm and beautiful! The staff is outstanding! I would stay here again, but I would bring our own blankets! It would be a great place to stay in the colder months because of the warmth, the fireplaces, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmom71717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    145
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
371
84
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here in December and loved everything about our visit.
We stayed in the DVC 1 bedroom for 2 nights and the studio for 1 night.
We prefer the 1 bedroom with a kitchen because we can cook our food and save money.
The lobby in the hotel is decorated so beautifully and we were able to take a lot of great family photos. The restaraunts also have great food and atmosphere.
The only con I can stay about the DVC area is that the units are very far removed from the main lobby hotel and it is a hike ith a 2 & 4 year old every day.
There is a great little boat that docks at the hotel and will take you to the Magic Kingdom too.

Room Tip: There is a WInn Dixie and Publix near by to buy groceries if you are staying in a unit with a kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAXTRAVELLINGMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
311 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was our first time staying at the villas. it was rustic and very beautiful. We took the magical express from the airport and loved not having to rent a vehicle or do any driving. We had a two bedroom, two bath, living room and kitchen. Everything was clean and very comfortable. We all slept like logs every night. It was so quiet and it was amazing to know that this place was booked solid yet didn't feel jammed packed. There were two pools, three hot tubs/jacuzzis, and a one foot pool for the little ones. There were two restaurants, a bar, and a cafe. The staff was just wonderful and always had a big smile and good wishes for the day. Transportation was right outside the hotel whether by bus or boat. Absolutlely a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckles2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This was our first time staying at the Villas at Wilderness Lodge. I love the decor; if you like staying in a national park, this is perfect atmosphere. The staff was great and friendly. I had done online check in before arrival and after we went through the guard gate, we were actually greeted by someone who had our keys and welcome packet in hand. Pretty convenient! We drove most places but did use the Disney bus to get to Fort Wilderness for the Hoop de Doo show. It's the first stop so it was quick and easy. My only complaint is the lighting; things are pretty dim over the mirrors so a bit challenging to put make up on. I'd definitely stay there again though.

Room Tip: We were in 1516 - the closest room to the entrance of the Villas - which was great. We had asked f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QTandToots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was our 4th time staying here, obviously one of our favorite Disney resorts. We had a great stay, the service was typical Disney quality..Awesome! The resort is in a great location, just a boat ride away from the Magic Kingdom. The themeing is excellent! The Whispering Canyon Cafe is a fun place to eat, the food is very good. It is themed so well, you wouldn't think you're in Florida. It feels just what it was themed for..like you're staying at a lodge in one of our national parks out west!
Only drawback with this resort is the main pool. It just isn't on par with other Deluxe resort pools. A better water slide would definitly change my opinion. If the waterslide dosen't bother you then the pool is fine.
I'd advise against accepting the handicaped room...unless you need it. We were given this room becuse it was the only one ready when we checked in, I was tired from driving , I just wanted to sleep, so I accepted it. You lose a lot of counter space, plus no eating counter and you need to put a towel in front of shower or your bathroom floor gets wet.
These items will not prevent me from staying here again, this resort is a favorite! If it weren't for the handicap room I would've rated this excellent!

Room Tip: Don't accept handicap room unless you need it! You lose valuable counter space. Request no serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife, two daughters (ages 7 & 9), and I recently made our annual winter school vacation trip to Walt Disney World. Since we are Disney Vacation Club owners, we generally stay on property at DVC resorts. For this trip, we decided to stay at the Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge due to it's proximity to the Magic Kingdom. We were very happy with our choice! When we arrived at 11:30 AM our room was already ready. Normal check-in for Disney resorts is 3:00 PM, so we were extremely happy to be able to check-in early.
We stayed in a studio room which comes equipped with a queen bed, double sleeper sofa, flat screen TV, dvd player, coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave. We typically have a light breakfast in the room each morning, so the kitchen area made things easy.
The resort has a great lobby and the grounds are beautifully maintained. Overall, you really get the feeling of being in the Northwest wilderness. In addition to the pools, the resort offers an arcade, a children's activity center, bike rentals, boat rentals, nightly marshmellow roasting and movies on the beach. We enjoyed a great dinner at the resort's signature restaurant, Artist Point, and the counter service restaurant, Roaring Forks, had lots of quick and tasty options as well.
The location of the resort was terrific! The boat ride to the Magic Kingdom took less than 10 minutes. There is also a boat that will take you to the Contemporary Resort, which is convenient if you have reservations at the California Grill or Chef Mickey's. Buses are available to take you to the other parks and Downtown Disney.
Overall, we were extremely happy with our decision to stay at the Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights following a Disney Cruise (March 1st and 2nd).
I have stayed here before and love the atmosphere. The lobby is beautiful and I can sit in there for hours just relaxing. The pool is great but can get noisy at times with all of the kids.

The room were very rustic looking but is what you would expect of "a lodge". The closet smelled a little musty and I hated the location of the safe, at the back of the closet. You literally had to go in the closet and walk a few feet to use it. We had a first floor room, try and get a higher floor. Management couldn't accomodate the room change request so I was disappointed.

The room had a fridge but it seemed to be off or not working. Also a microwave and coffee pot, both of which we didnt use.

We ate our first night at the whispering canyon cafe right in the hotel. I have been to disney 40 times and had never eaten there so we were excited! Instant mood killer: HAIR in our food!!! It still grosses me out thinking about it and we will never eat there again!

Otherwise a fun place and end to our week on the Disney Dream! <3

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and choose pool view if budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#63 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426 (Formerly Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#28 Family Hotel in Orlando
#30 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recalling the 1860's railroad hotels of the American West, The Villas offer the comforts of home amid the rustic beauty of Disney's Wilderness Lodge. Relax on the white-sand beach, explore trails through lush meadows and delight in the enchanting Silver Creek Springs Pool. Just a breezy boat ride to Magic Kingdom park, The Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrate American craftsmanship and the majesty of the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel Orlando
Hotel At Disneys Wilderness
Hotel At Disney Wilderness
The Villas At Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Boulder Ridge Villas At Disney's Wilderness Lodge Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing