We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #19 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“First Class Comfort”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

First you have to get past the $4.00 for a can of soda from the room, $18 to self-park per day, and $24 for a 1/2 hour 4-wheel bike rental, and spotty, expensive wi-fi. If you can do all that, and I did, this place is great. The rooms were large, luxurious and impecabbly clean. The service by the pool was excellent. You are close enough to Disney and Universal to enjoy the parks if you want, but far enough away from the madness of the crowds to enjoy some down time. I've stayed at a number of hotel properties over the years through a combination of business and leisure travel, and the rates for this hotel relative to the first-class accomodations were a decent value. Very relaxing and very enjoyable. I look forward to my next stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATravelerBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,812
    475
    178
    82
    35
See reviews for
850
587
62
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have stayed at the Ritz in Orlando many times in the past and seem to constantly encounter problems with service, which tends to be erratic and slow. Calling the front desk or housekeeping is a task since it takes quite a while for the phone to be picked up. When you do reach someone, you are told it will be taken care of right away. That usually means an hour if you are lucky. The rooms and suites were recently renovated, but are out of character with the rest of the property. Albeit a bit worn in places, the suites pre-renovation, were more plush and better decorated. The renovated rooms are a touch too modern and spartan in the suites. The carpet is too light and already shows stains. AC units work sporadically and are too loud. The Ritz is one of the best places to stay in Orlando for couples, but we are beginning to doubt we can continue to put up with the problems we experience there.

Room Tip: Lakeview/golf course rooms have better views. Join the Ritz Carlton rewards program for points that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxFirstTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed here on a business trip in a suite; great room, beautiful locations. I would give this hotel between 4 and 5 if it weren't for the annoying service at the spa. Specifically, they have a nasty habit of saying, "would 20% service charge be ok?" This well-known aggressive sales tactic (anchoring you at a high rate) belongs at a car dealership and not at a luxury hotel. The people paying before me were visibly uncomfortable with having this imposed on them; I lowered mine to 15%, which I think is a very good tip for good service, yet the look I received did not relate that, and I left feeling I had been a poor tipper. No way to treat guests at a luxury resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTHSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Excellent service, nice rooms & bathrooms. Balconies on the rooms were a great add to enjoy the location, especially when stuck in meeting rooms all day. Only ate the conference food, but it was excellent quality.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanseekerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Attending a conference at the JW Marriott next door, I did some research online and found that the Ritz rooms were bigger and had balconies. The conference price was the same for both properties, so I treated myself to the Ritz. I have stayed at the JW before and it was very nice, but the Ritz is better. Front desk service is superb, rooms are very comfortable, very clean and spacious. The bathroom was huge, with bath and shower, and two sinks. Rooms were serviced twice daily so you never run out of fresh towels. I also ate at Norman's which was totally wonderful again. Weather was great too. They serve hot chocolate with marshmallows during the day in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here for several nights for a conference that was taking place at the Marriott next door and thought it was fabulous--the service and accommodations were both terrific. Unfortunately can't speak to the recreational facilities since I didn't have time to explore them, but it's a beautiful property.

As others have mentioned, any 'extras' are unusually expensive compared with many other properties. Internet, delivery charges on room service, and taxi/car service were all high (I was especially surprised that I was charged >$20 each way to go to the pharmacy less than 1 mile from the property to get medicine I needed, but had little choice but to pay).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate3671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Everything about this hotel was just perfect. Great food and service. Close enough to Disney without being on top of it.I would happily return here each time we visit Orlando

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#24 of 337 in Orlando
4,213 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 337 in Orlando
7,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#9 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#11 Green Hotel in Orlando
#15 Business Hotel in Orlando
#18 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 500-acre nature inspired luxury resort is located 10 miles from Walt Disney World; 10 miles from Airport and 7 miles from Universal Orlando. Guests can enjoy on-site eco-tours, kayaking, fishing, tennis courts, championship golf course, award-winning spa with adult-only pool and dining by James Beard award-winning chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Ritz Orlando
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing