We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cypress Pointe Resort
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom and it was small. We had 3 family members and we were constantly getting in each others way. We were on the first floor and heard everyone in the halls and at the pools. The buildings are tightly built around the pool area. There is very little green space. While at the pool I had 2 Putt-Putt golf balls volleyed my way not safe. I would have tyo think twice before staying here again. The other resorts in the area are much better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachsandshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    391
    139
    65
    71
See reviews for
605
147
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We arrived late at night and were given a room 3 blocks from the reception and were offered no transportation with our bags to our room. There is no free wifi, the service at reception is barely friendly, let alone professional. The gym had no working cardio machines whilst we were there. If you pay for wifi, it works only in your rooms so if you go to the pool (still in the complex) you have no wifi.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeyfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We just returned from 11 days at the Grande Villas resort in Cypress Pointe (we are Diamond owners) and had a fantastic trip. We had a 2 bed apartment for 5 of us which was huge. Lovely kitchen complete with washing machine and dryer which came in very handy. The location was central for all of the parks and you can walk to Downtown Disney in 30 mins if you want to. The pool area and gardens were clean and well maintained. Free WIFI is lacking which is mentioned in previous reviews. We would return in an instant. We refused the offer if a tour and didn't hear anything else from the reps which was a nice change. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetoskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrineville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

My wife and I just returned from a 10-day stay at the Grand Villas, and I have to say that the renovations look great (at least in our units). We booked a 2-bedroom for ourselves plus the adjoining 1-bedroom for our guests, and also a 3-bedroom for our other friends and their guests! Everyone had a great time, the updated units are a pleasant change. The pool area was deserted whenever we were there, only a half-dozen or so people at any one time. Pool areas are pretty well maintained and the water's warm. One day we were annoyed by the satellite TV information channel being broadcast throughout the pool area (who wants to listen to that poolside?) but it was fixed after an hour or so. My biggest gripe is still (as it was last year) that Wi-Fi is still not free, even for Diamond Resorts owners. Diamond markets these benefits for its members (free Wi-Fi, free daily newspaper, etc) but doesn't provide them when requested, just an excuse that it's "not yet available". And the Wi-Fi we paid for was spotty at best, dropping the signal 3-4 times every day. Support is unavailable, as our guests discovered when they tried to call front desk. They were given a number to call which ended up in the Philippines! Isn't it better to have the resort staff handle the Wi-Fi issues, rather than have their guests deal with customer service halfway around the globe on their vacation? Is this "The meaning of Yes", as Diamond likes to boast? You have to do better than this, Mr. Cloobeck, or get your Orlando staff to watch your promotional video!

Room Tip: Ground floor is convenient, but there are elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank huntyinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We just got back from vacation in Orlando and stayed at Cypress Point for a week. While the room was nice. We had a three bedroom. We stayed in the suite room with lock and outside access. We could hear everything and our sleep was disturbed constantly. The outside of the building is run down and the paint is chipping. The property nickles and dimes you to death. There wasn't maid service and we had to inventory everything in our room. This did not feel like a resort.

I don't think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2travel97140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonburg
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

You must know before you book this , the Grand Villas and the Cypress Point Resort are no longer run by the same people. The Grand Villas have been bought by Diamond Resorts and the check in is different. The resort is not even in the same location.

This review is for Grand Villas.

This property is very nice with a HUGE two bedroom unit. It was very nice with stainless appliances , granite everything, huge bathrooms, and very comfortable beds. It has very nice pools, nice putt putt area that is free, and a very nice kids area by the pools. They have updated 6/8 buildings so request an updated unit.

We very much enjoyed the resort. It gets a little ding for having to pay for internet, lack of response from housekeeping when we requested more towels, and the lack of a fitness room at the grand villas.

Overall, i would recommend this as a very nice place to stay within a few minutes of disney.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank usatraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boldon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon as part of a trip around the States.

We had an excellent stay. The apartment was lovely and spacious, with a excellent kitchen with all of the mod-cons.

The staff in the resort were pleasant and helpful, and there are plenty of facilities on site and in the surrounding area.

The resort is a short drive from Disney which makes it an excellent location for park goers.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.3 km away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
2.6 km away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
3.7 km away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 338 in Orlando
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
3.1 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
1,424 reviews
2.7 km away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Pointe Resort

Property: Cypress Pointe Resort
Address: 8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836-6437 (Formerly Sunterra)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Pointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress Pointe Resort is a timeshare resort managed by Vacation Resorts International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cypress Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Pointe Hotel Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Hotel
Cypress Point Resort
Cypress Pointe Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Resort
Cypress Pointe Grand Villas
Cypress Pointe Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing